We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different to eat on Utila.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Indian Wok - CLOSED

Indian Wok
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Thai, Chinese
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Something different to eat on Utila.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

We eat at the Indian Wok twice during our stay on Utila. Both times were a nice break from the regular fare at other restaurants. The spices could be notched up a bit for a more authentic East Indian flavour by adding a little more cardamon and ginger without getting too hot.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
366 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

After travelling for a few months in central america I was really ready for some Asian food. The meal, green Thai curry, was tasty but nothing special. And while it did taste good it was definitely not Thai green curry. My friend ordered the sushi and was far from impressed. We should have stuck to local food

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank travla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utila, Honduras
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

We love Indian and Thai food and th Indian Wok is great. The portions are huge. The Thai is every bit as good as you get in Thailand.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“AMAZING FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

I have been to this restaurant several times, each time with different friends and they all love it as well!!!
EVERYONE should come eat here!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trotamondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Indian food and a little Thai, really good curries and priced right”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

The first night we ate here, we were sampling the menu and feeling adventurous. That being said, I wouldn't recommend the spring rolls, samosas or naan. All three were pretty disappointing.

When it comes to the curries however, it's hard to go wrong. They give you a choice of a standard plate (w/ thai slaw, curried potatoes, rice and curry, about $8), hungry diver plate (extra curry, about $11), or backpacker special (rice only anout $5.50). In the end, the backpacker special is a great value for dinner, and still an ample size. The classic indian curry was very rich and tasty, reminded me of a typical bhuna sauce. The chicken madras could have been spicier was but still nicely rounded and pleasant. And the thai beef green curry was absolutely delicious, with a nice spice and tender chunks of beef. The dishes rotate each night, and everything is made on premises that day.

We spoke with the owner, Shaun, and can confirm he is passionate about quality, consistency, ingredients, and food safety. And the server, Andrea, was very personable and attentive. The decor is charming as well, featuring sumptuous red and purple fabrics draped over the walls, with dim, intimate lighting. This charming decor is especially impressive as the restaurant is located in a smallish shanty, in between Parrot's dive shop and Tranquila bar. Indian Wok is well worth a visit. Get here early though, as they seem to close by 9.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank che4sale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Wok also viewed

 
Utila, Bay Islands
Utila, Bay Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing