We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Beach House on Treasure Beach!”
other travelers have booked this property
The Pineapple House, on the beach and only 60ft from the water.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Pineapple House, on the beach and only 60ft from the water.
the Pineapple House at Treasure Beach you can't get much closer to the caribbean sea than this
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The Pineapple House, on the beach and only 60ft from the water.
the Pineapple House at Treasure Beach
you can't get much closer to the caribbean sea than this
living room
living room
living room
bedroom
one of the three bathrooms at the Pineapple House
one of the two beach level bedrooms
view from the overwater sunbathing/star gazing deck
view from the veranda
view from the beach level bedrooms
comfy daybeds for siestas on the veranda
the Pineapple House
a shady spot
the neighborhood
living room
ariel view of Treasure Beach
vaulted living room
the overwater deck, a perfect spot for sunbathing, stargazing or sunset cocktails
view from the overwater sunbathing/stargazing deck
snorkeling the reef in front of the Pineapple House
a shady spot on the beach
Treasure Beach with Diamond Cay in the foreground
location of treasure beach
veranda
some of the neighbors
casita
dinning table for eight
Treasure Beach pier with the mountains of mainland honduras on the horizon
the pineapple house
hammock time
treasure beach
sunrise at treasure beach
right on treasure beach
the pineapple house on treasure beach
scuba diving is easily arranged through our friends at utila cays diving.pick you up from the beach.
welcome to the pineapple house
view from the pineapple house veranda
peace and privacy on treasure beach
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Utila, Bay Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AnnSchwar
East Berlin, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Beach House on Treasure Beach!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Our group goes somewhere to dive every year. Mostly Bonaire, which we love, but I must say we loved Utila too. We couldnt believe the affordability of the vacation,and the house was AMAZING!!! We flew to Utila on a small plane from Roatan, and we were met by Dave, one of the Pineapple house caretakers. He was awesome! What a nice guy. He took care of everything, luggage, getting us to the boat to Treasure Beach, and he was our captain. His wife Trish met us at the dock and the two of them made sure we were happy all week.
We were sent a provision list prior to arrival, and the house was stocked with groceries, beer, wine, fresh fruit, everything you could ask for.
The Pineapple House, was clean, comfortable, spacious. The bedrooms and bathrooms were just as they appear in the pictures. All amenities were as they said they would be. The porch and beach were beautiful. We had coffee on the porch every morning and watched the pelicans fish. We had our own pier, and our dive shop picked us up every morning.
Dave and Trish recommended the dive shop, restaurants, a trip to water cay to sit on a sand bar, and all recommendations were great and a blast. We had many beers with Dave and Peter( chef and caretaker) and it was great. Peter came to the house and cooked for us, brought fresh fish and it was delicious and very reasonable. We also cooked our own fresh fish, which Dave brought to us upon request. We ate dinner on the beach at Chez Lola, owned by a lovely young French couple, and it was truly gourmet. I cant say enough about this trip, it was relaxing, fun and everything we hoped it would be. And to top it off we saw WHALE SHARKS!!!
Thank you to Dave, Trish and Peter( our tour guide in Utila) for a great time. Say Hi to Herman for us too...we promise to see you again.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house, the beach, and the view,
Liked least: the sand fleas
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norscaner
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A treasure on Treasure Beach!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

In all the times we have been renting properties we expect that the home will be nice, the area will be interesting and the people will be friendly. That was not the case with this vacation. We stayed at the Pineapple House for a month and found that home was wonderful, the area was amazing and the people were exceptional. It took us a large plane, a medium plane, a little plane, a golf cart and a boat to get to our destination so that in itself was an adventure. When we were met by the best hosts in the entire world, Dave & Trish, we did not know at the time what we were in store for.
First of all the house has everything you need. It has a great kitchen to cook in. We shopped at Bush’s Market in Utila Town for all our grocery needs. The snorkeling in the front of the house was the best we ever had. We could even walk along on the dock and see barracuda, little rays, parrot fish, a little octopus, squid just to name a few. We spent many hours on the upper level of the deck in the most comfy lounge chairs reading and just taking in the view. Many nights ended there with watching the sun set and star gazing. Who needs tv? We visited Water Cay to swim and lay in the sand, Pigeon Cay to have a cerveza or two at Herman’s Restaurant and Fish Burgers Restaurant. We spent a day going to Cayos Cochinos, a marine biological reserve, which was absolutely amazing. There was spectacular diving there and then an amazing lunch at the Garifuna village of Chachahuate. In Utila Town we had tasty Mexican cuisine at El Picante, a great breakfast at Charlotte’s Place and wandered through the Jade Seahorse which words cannot describe. Then there was Skid Row Bar, the place we usually ended up at on our Utila Town visits. A most unique place that provided us with hours of entertainment visiting with people from all over the world and all walks of life and where pizza was the best.
We had dinner a number of times at Pine Point on the south shore at Chez Lola. Sebastian and Lola, make your time with them an experience and you should not miss the opportunity of going there. We did 28 dives with Bogdan, dive master and owner of Utila Cays Diving. He was one of the most safety conscious and informative dive masters we have had the pleasure of diving with.
All of these adventures would not have been possible without the expertise of Dave & Trish. The knowledge they provided while we were there of this beautiful little island was second to none. They were just around the corner if we needed them. They definitely took care of us. Dave would have even parted with his kettle had we needed one! These colourful people could make something happen that we never do….return to the same place!
Thank you to the owners for sharing your property and thank you for having Dave & Trish there. We left this island with more than pictures……we left with new friends…………..and something that took us a month to learn…….SOUTH SHORE RULES!!!!!!!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and property management
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiskey69
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“South Shore Rules!!!!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

"Polly put the kettle on", where do we start?! The Pineapple house has changed our entire expectations and vision of holidays. We had the most amazing adventure on Treasure Beach and Beyond. Dave and Trish, most colourful, wonderful caretakers, who assisted us in so many ways-sightseeing, hooking us up with Bogden, Utila Cays Diving owner and Dive Master, who was excellent, taking us to "Chez Lola's" for gourmet meals 4 times, Delicious, highly recommend it, a day at Water Cays-a pristine white, sandy beach, isolated island, where we snorkelled, sunned and relaxed until sunset. Trips to Utila town, a wonderful cultural experience, always ending up at Skid Row Bar, our favourite, the name says it all!!
Treasure Beach is beautiful! Some of the most amazing fish and coral life can be seen right out front! The Pineapple house is beautiful and had everything we could possible need! We will definitely be returning. We would like to thank Bogden, Katherine, Sebastian, Lola, Peter, and most especially Dave and Trish, for making our month long vacation something we will never forget!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: meeting great friends in the carribbean!
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M
Sarnia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Paradise and Relaxation at Pineapple House”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We spent a week at Pineapple House with friends. Trish and Dave took great care of us. They were always available. Trish and Dave are knowledgeable about the island and will take you in town and suggest dinner places if you would like to go out for dinner. We strongly suggest Lola's and Utopia. We did diving and kayaking, lazed in the water, relaxed, took in the plant and animal life around us. Wonderful experience. We suggest you have Dave and Trish get the groceries before hand. Very happy to have a stocked fridge after a long trip to get to Pineapple House. Nice Adventure. Well taken care of. Two of the four were bit by "no seeums/sandflees". Suggestion made that we take vitamin B12 two weeks before. Made sure we had bug spray, antihisthemine, and calamine lotion. Bugs the worst at dawn and dusk.

Beautiful views and very Relaxing - Highly Recommend this place. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The View and the Diving
Liked least: The "no seeums"
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happytrav...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing secluded tropical beach!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 for a stay in November 2012

Staying at the Pineapple House is a truly fantastic life experience! My husband and I stayed for a week in November and delighted in the beautiful home, friendly caretakers, Dave and Trish, and the feeling of living on our own private beach. From the time of our arrival by boat from the other side of the island we were completely relaxed and able to enjoy the view from the porch, snorkel in the pristine coral reef in front of the house and walk the beach looking for shells. The accommodations are elegant. Laurence and Beth have done a fabulous job of decorating this home in a style that is at once casual and grand. It was fun to cook in the huge kitchen and to share a meal with Dave and Trish. We got delicious fresh fish on our first day on the island and were able to go into town to go shopping, although Dave will do this for you if you prefer. This house is perfect for a couple, a small family or two couples. There is opportunity to explore, meet the neighbors, go to the Cays (Cayas Cochinos) or just hang out and relax. It was wonderful to have access to a washing machine. Internet access is limited but Trish will help you if you need to be connected. Please consider donating to BICA (Bay Islands Conservation Association) to help conserve this area of the world. We highly recommend this gorgeous home for your stay on Utila.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful beach and coral reef
Liked least: The sand flies
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2013
thank you for the kind words, we hope to see you back at treasure beach in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franz Z
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Amazing honeymoon!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We had a lovely honeymoon at the pineapple house. The snorkeling in front of the house was fantastic, with a beautiful array of tropical fish. The private pier was a great place to get a cool breeze or watch the stars. The house itself is right on the beach and very comfortable. Dave and Trish were lovely hosts. They know the meaning of service. They know all ins and outs of the island. The fishing trip they arranged for us with Mr. Herman was a lot of fun. Fresh caught grouper is delicious! The deserted island they took us to was also a highlight. We cant wait to return to the pineapple house! We highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StaceyNDe...
Larue, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Can't wait to get back!!!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This place is gorgeous! The house and the surrounding country, is picture perfect. Walk out of the house, into the water start snorkeling. We loved our time there and are already planning a trip back. Trish and Dave were wonderful and couldn’t have been more accommodating and fun. But you’ve read all the reviews (all true) and of course you can see the pictures; however, I’m going to tell you what I’m planning on doing differently when we come back in order to avoid some issues so that others might benefit. Use a sun block with an insect repellant such as Bull Frog Mosquito Coast, SPF 30. KEEP APPLYING!! Sunburn, sand fleas & mosquitoes were our main issue, but if you keep up a constant defense, you’ll be fine. While snorkeling, I fell into coral trying to get into my kayak covering my body in coral rash and my husband didn’t keep his sun block applied and burned his backside. This time, when stocking the house for us, I’ll be asking for vinegar to help deactivate the toxins from the coral in case this happens again. I’ll also be bringing ibuprofen, Benadryl & cortisone cream to help with the reactions to all of the above. Pack multiple sarongs. There is nothing better when either burned or covered in coral rash, to hang out in. My husband wore nothing but my sarongs all week! When getting off the catamaran to go the airport, ask the cab drivers “how much” for the ride in front of the drivers and make them haggle or you’ll be paying a lot more than you should once you get to the airport. DO NOT MISS YOUR FLIGHT. There are limited flights out of Atlanta to Honduras and you’ll end up spending a lot of money trying to get re-routed and miss valuable relaxation time. Thanks so much to the Pineapple House team for helping us when we missed our flight!! We loved our week there and can’t wait to get back!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Snorkeling & Skid Row!!
Liked least: Sand fleas & Mosquitos
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$286
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing