We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rubi's Inn
Nearby Hotels
Sea Eye Resort(Utila)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Colibri Hill Resort(Utila)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Utila Lodge(Utila)(Great Value!)
$100
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Utopia Village(Utila)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveler rating
67
21
3
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
21
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini fridgehoneymoon suiterooms are cleaned every daywouldn't stay anywhere elsefree wifipicnic tablesprivate balconyclean roomsper nightceiling fandive centrefishhammocksdockwatersupermarketensuite
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 94 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Rubi's was such a great find. It's off the main road but somehow, you don't hear any noise. The setting is beautiful--hammocks, deck chairs, picnic tables, and a dock with deep, clean water that's perfect for cooling off. There's a shared kitchen, too, though I didn't use that. The wifi is decent--it worked for slightly fuzzy Skype video chats, so that's good enough--but not great for downloading or streaming. But that's what you can expect on Utila in general. Tony (sp?) the owner, is absolutely delightful. He's super friendly and welcoming, and concerned about all of his guests' needs. I felt right at home. Oh, and the woman who does the cleaning is hilarious--she puts all of your things in little arrangements. My only beef is that the rooms were stuffy at all times, even with the fan on and the windows open during the cooler evening hours. But that's a small price to pay for such a lovely place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9ek9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Nice place, private bathroom, big rooms, owner is very nice and just a good guy. Only problem is the A/C in the room didn't work even though they advertise A/C in all rooms. The maid is very nice and attentive. She cleans the rooms spotless and even folds and organizes all your stuff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corey Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I loved it at Rubi's. The owners are very friendly and helpful, the location is excellent, the rooms are large and comfortable. Hot water, fridge, free wi-fi (although it does go down every so often). It's right on the water and there's a dock so you can just jump off into the clear-blue sea. Laundry service was fast. The rooms are cleaned every day and your stuff tidied up to a degree I have never experienced anywhere else (who's going to re-stack my books and re-coil my cables now!?). There's a common area kitchen (basic) and there was a great community feeling among the other travellers there, sort and long term. We came for a few days and ended up staying nearly 3 weeks. Definitely one of our favourite places we've stayed on the 5 month trip so far.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay in Rubi's Inn, the place is on the spot water-front, really great view and breeze (see pictures).

Centrally located but not noisy and with laid-backed travelers (not party animals,etc..).

Great and clean rooms, great service and if you are lucky you'll get the corner room and you will be literally able to jump into the water from your room on the second floor.


Laundry service was also really good, quick and clean stuff.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: Try to get the corner room on the second floor (#12), amazing view, private balcony (a bit more expensive)
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabbycz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed for a week at Rubi's and loved it. The owner is very nice and the rooms are very comfy (hot water, AC, wifi, fridge...) and are cleaned daily. The hotel has a nice garden with its own dock, and is located just where you want to be: amongst all the dive shops. Definitely would recommend it, best value for money in Utila.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EU2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews