We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful Inn and great owner”
Review of Rubi's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Utila
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rubi's Inn
Ranked #3 of 14 Utila B&B and Inns
Othello WA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“wonderful Inn and great owner”
Reviewed July 15, 2011

I went to Utila to become dive certified and being older than the younger crowd I didn't want to stay in the dive shop accommodations. The dive shop set me up at Rubi's for $20 a night. The room was spotless. It had 2 double beds and a small table, a ceiling fan and a hotwater bathroom. Also a small fridge.There is a shared kitchen, but bring your own matches, They tend to disappear...The owner named Tony Rubi was delightful and a wealth of local information.The place is very well maintained with polished wood floors and sun dried linen. The girl who cleaned even folded my clothes every day.( which slightly embarrassed me) Unfortunately there was no closet, dresser or even hooks to hang my clothes. There is wi fi in the rooms. Also a internet cafe across the street. The bakery across the road and past the internet cafe has freshly baked breads and bagels. There are hammocks to laze in and a dock you can jump into the water from. Lovely sunset views.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    20
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
38
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

The place has room service daily and is repainted yearly. While we were diving at parrots we were given 8 dollars off our 20 dollar room. We had laundry done, kept beer and rum in our fridge and had friends over to predrink for the parties of Utila. We love staying at a place where the owner will let his workers go home from rebuilding the dock because his guest would like to lounge in peace and quiet. Watch out for sea urchins on the shoreline.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

we stayed here because it was linked with the dive school we were learning to dive at. We had a room downstairs which had a shower that had proper pressure and hot and cold water. This was just amazing after 2 months of cold and terrible showers. Also the room was a large room no frills to be honest but it was comfortable. There was a fridge in the room also and use of a kitchen which made this a even better find as you could cook and there was a very nice atmosphere around the place. There is a dock that you can swim off and hammocks and chairs to relax in. This was a really nice place to hang out. They also offer laundry services.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annemariejl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

We stayed here in 2006

We ended up at Rubi's after the hotel we had originally booked was full of ants and totally unappealing. The next day we walked down the "main strip" and found Rubi's. We spent a glorious 6 days here. The dock has wonderful snorkeling right outside. In fact, we spent a lot of time just snorkeling from the dock. A ray would often visit at sunset....

At night we'd grab a bottle of rum and sit and watch the water with other guests. (Our room had a mini-fridge - awesome!) It was right off of the main "road," but nice and peaceful at night. We were never more than a 2 minute walk from any of our favorite restaurants.

The rooms were minimal, but for the price we were paying, who cares? (And we spent most of our time in the water anyway!) Often, when looking for other "no-frills" waterfront accommodation, Rubi's is what we compare it to.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarrieRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2010

After trawling through the dive-center dorms and local accommodation, we were very pleasantly surprised with Rubi's. We payed $25 for 2 people (But the rooms have 2 doubles and a single) which is a bit more expensive than the $6 dorms, but we found it to be well worth the relative 'splurge'.
The rooms are bright, spacious and airy with spotless bathrooms (cleaned daily), and it's tucked away from the road and other noises. Importantly (for us) they have a private fridge. We were lucky enough to get the room closest to the water (room 6 - do whatever you can to get it) meaning we had big windows on 3 sides and 180-degree views of the bay. The curtains didn't do a great deal to keep out the morning sun, but gave the room a nice golden glow in the evening. Watching the sunset from the private jetty is a must. (But possibly avoid swimming, as we heard many local establishments drain their bathrooms straight into the water)
The shared kitchen is simple but well maintained, and it's within 100m of Cross Creek, Underwater Vision and Utila Dive Centers. (As well as a great bakery)
I can't speak for all of the rooms, but for us it was the best budget accommodation we've found in a long while.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dune707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2009

I stayed here with my girlfriend after the Mango Inn messed up our booking. It was $40 per night per room. The people who ran the place were very friendly and helpful. They accepted dollars or lempiras but not cards. Rubi's Inn was perfectly situated in that it wasn't too far from anything (walking) but not so close to the loud places that you couldn't sleep at night. Directions: Located on the main street, walk out the ferry port and turn right, walk for about 8-10mins and it's on your right hand side.

The room was clean, it had two double beds in it and the shower was clean and had good water pressure. It also had a mini fridge which was useful to keep water cold for our trips out. There was also a small communal kitchen area with a cooker, sink and a fridge.

The room did not have a TV (depends if you need one!) and the aircon was so loud that we just left it switched off (we didn't go at the height of summer so if you need aircon, perhaps you should check somewhere else because it wasn't particularly efficient either).

For a nice relaxing bite to eat or a drink, head to Cafe Mariposa which has a nice view over the sea. I have many happy memories of Utila!!

--Neil.

Helpful?
3 Thank neileee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Utila hotels
0.5 mi away
The Colibri Hill Resort
0.3 mi away
Lazy Daze on the Bay
Lazy Daze on the Bay
#2 of 14 in Utila
76 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Venue - Utila
The Venue - Utila
#1 of 9 in Utila
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Coral View Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
Coral Beach Village
Coral Beach Village
#1 of 14 in Utila
70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coopers Inn
Coopers Inn
#13 of 14 in Utila
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rubi's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rubi's Inn

Property: Rubi's Inn
Address: Utila, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Utila
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing