We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from party scene”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Colibri Hill Resort
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Utila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2010

If you are looking for something away from the party scene of Utila, this might be a good option. Rooms are clean, pretty spacious and have either a fan or A/C. Rates are perphaps a little bit high, we paid $40 for a room w/ fan. Colibri Hill is close to Bay Islands College of Diving, one of the better dive schools of the island in our opinion. Heaps of bars and restaurants are also closeby.

We did not had any problems with noise from bars around however the walls between the rooms are thin so if you're unlucky your neighbours might bother you. We had such an issue but the owner was happy to move us to another room without any problem.

There's no WIFI but there's a pool, the pool bar is closed and there's no free coffee in the morning, as stated in the Lonely Planet. There's a (pretty good) bar at the right hand side about 2 mins by foot that has free wifi.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon_Neijkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 93 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2010

We stayed here one night and moved on. Price was good at $35 and the building is quite elequent from the outside. Pool was clean and nice. New manager was very nice and helpful. Room had only one super high beam light it was like a 200 watt. The lamp had no bulb in it. The bed was clean but only had a sheet on it and it was cold that night. The towels were very old and the toilet leaked from under it. You can hear the bar Skid Row at night very loud. All in All a nice hotel but not for people over 40.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepdiverhermano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2008

I stayed two nights here recently. The famously nice Jo and Tony are gone, replaces by a Swiss guy who is rather odd (I found him drinking by the pool by himself at 5am when I left to catch my flight....)

The rooms are cute, but details weren't being taken care of. The shower curtain was covered in mold, and there was a shade missing on one of the windows. I didn't notice the missing shade when I checked in, but at night when I went back to my room. When I told the owner, he said not to worry, that no one could see in anyway since I was on the top floor, and I could change rooms the next day if I wanted. I was surprised by his lacksidaisical attitude - why couldn't he put the shade back in right then? It was only 8pm!

To his credit, the shower curtain (which I hadn't commented to him about) and the windowshade were both replaced the next day. The price was fair for the room. But it's a block off the main road, and pitch black at night - íf you're going to hit the bar scene in Utila, be sure to have someone you can walk home with, or else think twice about staying here!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank American_Overseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colibriUtila, Manager at The Colibri Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2012

I am the new Manager sins September 2010
We did change a lot here at the Hotel.
We have the hotel all around stock with lights, also we keep the lady checking the rooms every day.
The pool are i new with lights all around.
Our gool is it to have a clean and relax place for our guest.
Thanks you will notice a lot of changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2008

Jo and Tony operate the resort and are the most fantastic hosts! They picked us up at the ferry, took us straight to our room, and had cold rum punches waiting for us when we came down to the poolside bar. Which brings me to the next thing we loved - the poolside bar! After a day of snorkeling, kayaking, horseback riding, or just being a beach bum, the poolside bar and bartenders were great! They offered advice on where to eat and what to do. It was an amazingly relaxing experience all around and I wish I could stay every week.

And, all those fun activities we did - Jo and Tony organized them for us. Some we did with a group, most we did on our own. It was completely up to us - they just made the calls.

Jo and Tony are definitive hospitality leaders, and I would stay in any property they operated.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2008

I stayed here with a group of people on an organised tour. Was welcomed at the port by the owners who are expats from America. They were extremely friendly and did their best to make us feel like it was home!

The hotel is basically a three floor complex of rooms (downstairs rooms have kitchens) with shiny wooden floors, air con, fans and bathrooms with hot showers. The top floor had an amazing view of Utila and the Caribbean Sea.

The hotel also has a pool and a bar outside with a range of cocktails and drinks.

Only problem I had was with the bartender who is the owner's son. Perhaps he's bitter about working there or something but I asked him whether I could request a song on behalf of the group that was on his own ipod that he could play. He seemed tentative at first and then after a bit of coaxing allowed me to choose a song, after a few more of the songs he wanted to play. I waited a while then asked again. He reluctantly allowed me to choose one song, but after playing it for a few seconds he claimed he hated that song although it was his own ipod, and subsequently changed it to something else.

He also refrained to inform us that when a tab is set you have to pay at the end of the night (rather than the end of your stay) otherwise an extra charge would be added. I had already left and luckily my roommate paid this for me as she was there at the time.

Obviously this was simply an individual staff issue,otherwise generally we had a lovely stay and I would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Stormchild83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2008

This place was beautiful! I had been staying in some crappy hotels and was looking forward to a nice place to stay. This was it. It was small, Very clean and the pool and bar was a nice addition to the place. The bartender was super nice, Alejandro I think his name was. I missed out on the massage but they were the best price I had ever seen. The laundry was the only problem. All of my clothes came back with Bleached fingerprints all over them. So I would not suggest getting your laundry done there. It's a bit down the road so a five minute walk to all of the restaurants and action.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ricardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utila
0.2 mi away
Utila Lodge
Utila Lodge
#3 of 8 in Utila
149 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sea Eye Resort
Sea Eye Resort
#4 of 8 in Utila
45 reviews
23.2 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Coral View Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Coral Beach Village
Coral Beach Village
#1 of 14 in Utila
73 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Venue - Utila
The Venue - Utila
#1 of 9 in Utila
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colibri Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colibri Hill Resort

Address: Sandy Bay, Utila 34021, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Utila
Price Range: $86 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Colibri Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing