We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveler rating
50
32
9
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
32
9
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews el castillo i highly recommend this hotel pool side the main strip the air conditioning off the beaten path minute walk lucy honduras island rum dive dock
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 101 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Last year, we stay out of town which was very nice, but we felt a little isolated. When deciding on where to stay this year, we wanted to be in town but away from the late night noise. We found exactly that at Colibri Hill. The rooms are clean with comfortable beds, the pool is welcome on the hot days, the bar is a great place to meet fellow travelers and the 3 story deck is very spacious with a wonderful view. The grounds are large and well kept. It is a very short walk from the main road, but much of it is up hill. It would be a challenge for those with mobility concerns. We simply found it a great way to get a little exercise in during our stay. A great bang for your buck.

Room tip: Rooms with out AC are on the top floor, the two corner rooms have windows on three sides for better ventilation. One gets full morning sun, the other full afternoon sun.
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank platosgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colibriUtila, Manager at The Colibri Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Thanks you so much.
We hope you had a good time in Roatan and the way back home whose not to hard.
Maybe we can welcome you next year again for a couple of days.
Have a good time and many thanks to you.
Love and hugs from the colibri Famaliy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed here for a week in September. I opted for the AC cause it was HOT. The owner and staff, like the rest of the island, were very kind. The rooms were large and clean. The AC worked great. I spent may hours just chillin on the hammock outside my door. I think it's a great place especially for the price. Enjoy the salva vida..

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colibriUtila, Manager at The Colibri Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thanks Drew.
It whose nice to have you here and we are glad that you enjoy the relax and chill out place.
Hope we can welcome you some other time again.
We will have some salva vidas for you waiting with your hammock.
Love from the little paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

When we checked the Internet for in-town hotels with swimming pools, we clicked on the other one and now wish we had not. After one night with poor service, we moved to the Colibri Hill Resort when our other hotel drained their pool on a holiday weekend. The Colibri welcomed us to air conditioned rooms and a lovely restored pool and bar area for relaxing. Breakfast was included and was just fast enough and filling enough to get us on our way to our day on a dive boat. The hotel has a view to the ocean from the upper levels and please note that you will need to walk the last couple of blocks up the hill where taxis can't go. Lucy, the proprietor, and Diana and Jennalee at the bar/restaurant treated us very nicely, including getting us a quarter-to-six TucTuc ride to the ferry on our last morning.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACE_Thibodeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colibriUtila, Manager at The Colibri Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thanks for the nice review we are always happy when our guest enjoy there stay here at our relax and chill out place.
We are more then happy to welcome you some other time.
Have a great and relay day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Colibri Hill is an island of peace, beauty, and quality in Utila! This lovely hotel is certainly something different on the island. we loved the great peaceful garden and amazing pool!
I'm so happy we chose to stay at Colibri Hill and would strongly recommend this place to everyone.
Hope to come back soon.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnjoyTheWorldToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colibriUtila, Manager at The Colibri Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thanks that you like our little paradise in the middle of the party scene.
We are more then happy to welcome you some other time here at our relax and chill out hotel.
Enjoy your time and we see you soon.
Love the colibri team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

In my opinion the hotel was not of my preference. There was a bad client service, the administrator was really rude and was not prepared for a large group. During the breakfast buffet, there were just two ladies helping out, they even ran out of food. The price rates for a mediocre breakfast was really high. Not all rooms have air conditioning, there is no tv., the fan is really noisy, running water comes and goes as it pleases. The pool area is off limits really early in the night.

Room tip: JadeSeaHorse, Mango Inn, Trudy's.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertamem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colibriUtila, Manager at The Colibri Hill Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thanks for your commend.
Sorry we could not pleas you. We are here to give our guest a good service. On the other hand it takes always two to work together.
We are use to that our guest respect the hotel and the surrounding.
The Breakfast is a buffet and it has coffee, tee, bread, fresh fruits from the island. Normally we have only one lady working in the restaurant but for the big group we had two person working and the table where always good stock with food.
Hope you will fined for your next experience here on the island all you could not fined here by use.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews