We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Colibri Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Colibri Hill Resort
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Utila
u.s.a
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Colibri Hill is an island of peace, beauty, and quality in Utila! This lovely hotel is certainly something different on the island. we loved the great peaceful garden and amazing pool!
I'm so happy we chose to stay at Colibri Hill and would strongly recommend this place to everyone.
Hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnjoyTheWorldToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colibriUtila, Manager at The Colibri Hill Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks that you like our little paradise in the middle of the party scene.
We are more then happy to welcome you some other time here at our relax and chill out hotel.
Enjoy your time and we see you soon.
Love the colibri team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    30
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
18
32
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

In my opinion the hotel was not of my preference. There was a bad client service, the administrator was really rude and was not prepared for a large group. During the breakfast buffet, there were just two ladies helping out, they even ran out of food. The price rates for a mediocre breakfast was really high. Not all rooms have air conditioning, there is no tv., the fan is really noisy, running water comes and goes as it pleases. The pool area is off limits really early in the night.

Room Tip: JadeSeaHorse, Mango Inn, Trudy's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robertamem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colibriUtila, Manager at The Colibri Hill Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks for your commend.
Sorry we could not pleas you. We are here to give our guest a good service. On the other hand it takes always two to work together.
We are use to that our guest respect the hotel and the surrounding.
The Breakfast is a buffet and it has coffee, tee, bread, fresh fruits from the island. Normally we have only one lady working in the restaurant but for the big group we had two person working and the table where always good stock with food.
Hope you will fined for your next experience here on the island all you could not fined here by use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

After a bad experience with another hotel we finally found Colibri Hill Resort. Luzia and all her staff were so friendly and helpful from the beginning. I fell quite ill on my first day here and Luzia and Diane were immediatly there to look after me and provide me with my own room with air con (life saving!). Luzia being a nurse went out of her way to provide me medical attention and care without me even leaving my room without her I would have remained horribly ill. With a wide case of virus and bacteria infections going around the island this was imperative but with Luzia I was better within 15mins! When being so far from home it's priceless and comforting having people care for you.

Me and my friend's thoroughly enjoyed our stay with peaceful, good sized, nice and clean rooms. We loved to sit out and watch the lizard's in the sun and enjoy the serenity. There's also plenty of restaurant's, grocery stores close and not far off nightlife.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lilaussiebattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

My husband, three kids, and I stayed at the Colibri Hill Resort for two nights. We had a relaxing, comfortable experience. The rooms are pretty and clean, we could take a hot shower at any time of day, the air conditioning kept us very cool, the pool-bar area is small but very nice, and the staff is pleasant. I really liked the fact that there is a little kitchen area where you can make yourself coffee or serve yourself cold water 24 hours a day. I thought the price was very reasonable. There is no restaurant, but the staff puts out a Continental breakfast, which does the trick. There are plenty of restaurants nearby, so it wasn't a problem. I recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Nice, quiet place. Its a short 2 minute walk off the main road and has a pool and bar. The owner, Lucie, and her staff person (a friendly young lad) were very helpful and gave us many great suggestions. The price was good for a room with hot water, AC, pool, free drinking water, and free fruit and toast breakfast. There is also a bar on site and bats fly around at night (I say this as a good and interesting perk).

Room Tip: great view of the ocean from the top level. Hamocks to lounge around on each floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colibriUtila, Manager at The Colibri Hill Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your respond.
We are very glad that you like our place and would by happy to welcome you mabe some other time here at our relax and chill out place again.

Have a great weekend
Luzia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed here for three nights but wish it had been more! It is a lovely place. It has gorgeous wooden floors and white wooden walls. The verrandas on each floor are really nice places to sit with a great view to the sea. Our room was large, bright and cool with two double beds. It could have done with a mini fridge which the manager, luzia is planning. Luzia was welcoming and helpful, checking we were ok throughout our stay. The setting is just off the main road but beautifully quiet and well kept. There are hammocks and loungers by the pool which provided a welcome cool down as utila does lack in beaches. The pool bar is open for afternoon drinks.
We really loved it here and would definately recommend it for your stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jodaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Very nice hotel off the main street, about 8 mins walk from the dock. It is very peaceful and quiet, unlike other party hotels in the island, The rooms are big, you can tell the hotel is not new new hotel but they keep it quite neat. The view of the bay from the 3rd floor is breathtaking, you can chill in a hammock and relax froma long day diving.

The owner was very helpful and she gave us some great advice for eating, diving, exploring, and getting a place in the ferry back etc.

I would definately stay there again

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaferVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utila
0.7 mi away
Sea Eye Resort
Sea Eye Resort
#5 of 8 in Utila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
23.8 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
2.0 mi away
Coral Beach Village
Coral Beach Village
#1 of 15 in Utila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Coral View Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Lazy Daze on the Bay
Lazy Daze on the Bay
#2 of 15 in Utila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Venue - Utila
The Venue - Utila
#1 of 9 in Utila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colibri Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colibri Hill Resort

Property: The Colibri Hill Resort
Address: Sandy Bay, Utila 34021, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Utila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Colibri Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing