We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded all expectations”
Review of Utila Water Sports

Utila Water Sports
Ranked #12 of 18 Tours in Utila
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of the original dive shops on the Island, Utila Water Sports has been in operation since 1988. With a full makeover just completed, now is a great time to visit us. As the one of the only dive centers on the island that offer both SSI and PADI training, Utila Water Sports dive shop is in a unique position where our instructors can help you choose the best course and training program to suit your goals.
Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile

We had the best week of our lives with Utila Watersports and especially our instructor Gaby.
The staff and team were all super friendly and helpful - always willing to go out of their way to help!
Our stay was so pleasant.
During our course Gaby was so patient with us all and she allowed us to go at our own pace! We saw so much marine life and got the best scuba experience possible!
The accommodation here was also lovely and so clean! We couldn't recommend this company more!
Thanks so much- Anna, Clodagh, Ciara, Carla and Aisling- The Irish girls!!

Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UtilaWaterSports, Instructor at Utila Water Sports, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Hey girls,

Please come back, you've already been away for too long! It was so much fun to teach you and to explore the underwater world with you. Feel free to reach out to us if you have any questions or just to send us pictures of your adventure. Keep diving together and keep that good friendship. That is so precious!

I'll see you again underwater!

Instructor Gaby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"free horse riding"
in 3 reviews
"paddle boards"
in 4 reviews
"private bathroom"
in 4 reviews
"single bed"
in 2 reviews
"free ac"
in 2 reviews
"small group diving"
in 2 reviews
"spotted dolphins"
in 2 reviews
"instructor dan"
in 2 reviews
"dive school"
in 6 reviews
"best deal"
in 3 reviews
"open water certification"
in 6 reviews
"top notch"
in 5 reviews
"diving experience"
in 5 reviews
"awesome instructor"
in 3 reviews
"dive shop"
in 6 reviews
"feel very welcome"
in 2 reviews
"marine life"
in 4 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 70 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2018

We were short on time so we opted for the Discover Diving option. The staff was fun, professional and above all, knowledgeable. Our diving instructor, Aldo, is the man! He taught us all the basic skills required for our first diving experience. Under water, he was on top of our gauges, toured us around the reef and assured our safety and comfort through the whole thing. Captain Wagner and Gabbi (our second diving instructor) were also great! Next time we'll make sure to get certified with Utila Water Sports!

Thank FerZelaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UtilaWaterSports, Manager at Utila Water Sports, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2018

We're so happy that you guys had a good time, and that you got to experience the underwater world of Utila! Thanks so much for extending your stay and diving with us! We look forward to seeing you all again, and we know you'll love doing your Open Water course next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2018 via mobile

This place has definitely been one of the best places i have stayed at throughout my journey in central America. When it comes to price, accommodation, and hospitality they definitely took first place. I would recommend this to anyone that's planning to take their diving certificate as they have more smaller and personal classes, Good teachers and many great offers.
This place will make you feel as if you are in one big family and is definitely one of the best places to be at in Utila

Thank Jonatan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UtilaWaterSports, Manager at Utila Water Sports, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2018

Hi Jonatan,
Thank you so much for your review! It was such a pleasure having you guys here We had a great time diving with you and we're glad you had a great time too! You'll always have a place here if you decide to come back (and do your Advanced??!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2018 via mobile

Dan was my instructor and was excellent. The training was both very professional and fun. All the staff at Utila Water sports were very friendly. The price for the Advanced was one of the best in town and the dive groups were limited to four people per guide. Wagner was a great skipper and was also very welcoming. We extended our stay

Thank WilliamThomas1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UtilaWaterSports, Manager at Utila Water Sports, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2018

Hi Will,

Thank you so much for your review! We're glad you guys had a good time during your stay, and that you enjoyed your training with Dan. We'll be sure to pass on your compliments to both Dan and Wagner We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels, and if you're ever in Utila again you've got a place waiting for you here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2018 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend went and 'interviewed' about 7 different shops and this one we both felt most comfortable. Everyone at the front desk is always super happy and super helpful! You get free kayaks and SUP boards to use while staying there, you can also jump on the boat to go snorkelling whenever they go out. Super awesome dive shop and it's locally owned and operated!
We had Delaney for our open water and it was only the two of us with her, some of the other shops have 6-8 students per instructor so I found that very helpful. Our advanced we had Dan, both super awesome instructors to learn from! Wagner the boat captain is also a hoot.
The accommodation is cleaned once a day, and we had a kind of private area in the dorm. Comes with fridge and microwave, there is a BBQ you can use as well. Hot water and good working wifi. It wasn't as social as some of the other shops but that's what we wanted, you have a great sleep every night and if you want to go out there's places close by to go mingle.
I think the only kind of negative thing I have to say about Utila Water Sports is there lack of hammocks haha, everything else was great.

Thank brittany e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UtilaWaterSports, Manager at Utila Water Sports, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Thank you so much for choosing us! You guys were a pleasure to have here, and both of your instructors really enjoyed teaching and diving with you both. We will definitely be getting some hammocks up soon, so next time you come back we hope your stay will be even better! ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Utila Water Sports also viewed

 

Been to Utila Water Sports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing