We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Utila Water Sports

Utila Water Sports
Ranked #12 of 18 Tours in Utila
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of the original dive shops on the Island, Utila Water Sports has been in operation since 1988. With a full makeover just completed, now is a great time to visit us. As the one of the only dive centers on the island that offer both SSI and PADI training, Utila Water Sports dive shop is in a unique position where our instructors can help you choose the best course and training program to suit your goals.
Reviewed June 25, 2018 via mobile

This place has definitely been one of the best places i have stayed at throughout my journey in central America. When it comes to price, accommodation, and hospitality they definitely took first place. I would recommend this to anyone that's planning to take their diving certificate as they have more smaller and personal classes, Good teachers and many great offers.
This place will make you feel as if you are in one big family and is definitely one of the best places to be at in Utila

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Jonatan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UtilaWaterSports, Manager at Utila Water Sports, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2018

Hi Jonatan,
Thank you so much for your review! It was such a pleasure having you guys here We had a great time diving with you and we're glad you had a great time too! You'll always have a place here if you decide to come back (and do your Advanced??!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"free horse riding"
in 3 reviews
"paddle boards"
in 4 reviews
"private bathroom"
in 4 reviews
"single bed"
in 2 reviews
"free ac"
in 2 reviews
"small group diving"
in 2 reviews
"spotted dolphins"
in 2 reviews
"instructor dan"
in 2 reviews
"dive school"
in 6 reviews
"best deal"
in 3 reviews
"open water certification"
in 6 reviews
"top notch"
in 5 reviews
"diving experience"
in 5 reviews
"awesome instructor"
in 3 reviews
"dive shop"
in 6 reviews
"feel very welcome"
in 2 reviews
"marine life"
in 4 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 70 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2018 via mobile

Dan was my instructor and was excellent. The training was both very professional and fun. All the staff at Utila Water sports were very friendly. The price for the Advanced was one of the best in town and the dive groups were limited to four people per guide. Wagner was a great skipper and was also very welcoming. We extended our stay

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank WilliamThomas1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UtilaWaterSports, Manager at Utila Water Sports, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2018

Hi Will,

Thank you so much for your review! We're glad you guys had a good time during your stay, and that you enjoyed your training with Dan. We'll be sure to pass on your compliments to both Dan and Wagner We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels, and if you're ever in Utila again you've got a place waiting for you here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2018 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend went and 'interviewed' about 7 different shops and this one we both felt most comfortable. Everyone at the front desk is always super happy and super helpful! You get free kayaks and SUP boards to use while staying there, you can also jump on the boat to go snorkelling whenever they go out. Super awesome dive shop and it's locally owned and operated!
We had Delaney for our open water and it was only the two of us with her, some of the other shops have 6-8 students per instructor so I found that very helpful. Our advanced we had Dan, both super awesome instructors to learn from! Wagner the boat captain is also a hoot.
The accommodation is cleaned once a day, and we had a kind of private area in the dorm. Comes with fridge and microwave, there is a BBQ you can use as well. Hot water and good working wifi. It wasn't as social as some of the other shops but that's what we wanted, you have a great sleep every night and if you want to go out there's places close by to go mingle.
I think the only kind of negative thing I have to say about Utila Water Sports is there lack of hammocks haha, everything else was great.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank brittany e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UtilaWaterSports, Manager at Utila Water Sports, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Thank you so much for choosing us! You guys were a pleasure to have here, and both of your instructors really enjoyed teaching and diving with you both. We will definitely be getting some hammocks up soon, so next time you come back we hope your stay will be even better! ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2018 via mobile

It was fabulous diving week with Utilia Water Sports. Very nice accommodation almost at the pier in the backyard so you are not disturbed by noise from main street. Divings were very well organized tailored to our needs and skills. John was fantastic divemaster showing us underwater world of Utilia. Definitely recommended and hope to come back there.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank luknaroj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UtilaWaterSports, Manager at Utila Water Sports, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Thank you so much for diving with us, we're really glad you guys had a good time! It was an absolute pleasure to have you all here, John and the rest of us really enjoyed the time we spent with you and the family. We'd love to see you again! And I know Wagner wouldn't mind getting some more help driving the boat ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2018 via mobile

Me and my friend did the open water and advanced course with our top instructor Dan the legend. He was extremely good at learning and a very good diving partner. If you ever go to Utila ask for Dan the swedish guy, work at either Utila water sports or Underwater vision. The rooms are great and very comfortable. Would also like to add that the boat driver for the diving tours, Wagner is absolutely amazing!

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Jens J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UtilaWaterSports, Manager at Utila Water Sports, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2018

We're really happy to hear you had a good time, thanks so much for choosing to dive with us! We think Dan and Wagner are the best, too ;) Hope to see you again here in Utila!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Utila Water Sports also viewed

 

Been to Utila Water Sports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing