We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional hospitality, beautiful house...”
other travelers have booked this property
View from deck at Flamingo Cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from deck at Flamingo Cabin
Flamingo Cabin.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
View from deck at Flamingo Cabin
Flamingo Cabin.
View of the cabins as you arrive.
Dining room and Kitchen.
Living room with TV /Cable
Bed room w/ king size bed
Full bathroom with hot water
Guess enjoying their catch.
View from the main house.
Guest enjoying the weather in the hobie cat.
Roatan tour map.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Roatan, Bay Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rodphi
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exceptional hospitality, beautiful house, gorgeous views!”
Reviewed June 25, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at the Flamingo cabin from June 20-23, and this ranks as our best VRBO experience to date. The cabin owner, Rosina Jones, was born for hosting and goes the extra mile in everything she does (without being intrusive). This cabin is water access only though just a 2 minute boat ride from where you can park your car or call a cab. She was fully available to us to shuttle us back and forth as we required, but the cabin and views are so incredible, we suggest that you settle in and enjoy a few days in the vicinity of the cabin. (If you know how to drive a small boat, there is one available at the cabin for rent for $20 per day.) There are two restaurants nearby, Trico’s and Hole in the Wall, that will come and get you by boat and bring you back after happy hour or a meal. We preferred Trico’s (we recommend the lobster nachos) though Hole in the Wall is a fun place to see (see Trip Advisor for more info on Hole in the Wall).

The cabin is well stocked, including TP, paper towel, dish soap, bathroom soap/shampoo, washing detergent (for clothes washer) so it is really ready to go except for groceries. Rosina takes you to the grocery store in French Harbour on the way from airport/ferry, allowing you all the time you need. (As an aside, there is also a small shop located near the cabin; Rosina will drive you to if you forget some essential.)

The cabin is beautiful; its outstanding feature is the very large covered porch/deck with the 180 degree views! Sit back and enjoy the view and breezes! The cabin also comes with kayaks. One of the most fabulous outings we did on Roatan was kayaking through the mangroves near Flamingo cabin. We kayaked for 2 hours through the mangroves and around the bight. AWESOME!

Rosina also runs a tour business called Hillview Tours. We took advantage of that and booked an all-day tour of the island with her on our 2nd day. She is an “islander” with deep knowledge and fun facts about the island. I thought a full-day would be way too much and initially asked for ½ day, but as we finished up our half-day, we wanted more time and asked her to continue for the full day. It was a fabulous orientation to the island, and helped us to see and understand all of the nooks and crannies (and there are many). Based on our tour, we were able to better plan and prioritize our entire visit to Roatan.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2017
Dear Rodric& Deborah!!
I thank you once again, for the opportunity and pleasure of meeting you both, thank you for your sincere words, which is, of great encouragement for me to continue to serve, all who chooses my humble services. very pleased to have had you both at my Flamingo Cabin and to know your experience here, was beyond your expectations. in all that you did and places you went while you were at my cabin. thank you so much!! for being such wonderful guests in every way also. hope to have you again, in the future as you vacation to Roatan
Blessings!
Rosina Jones
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgiles201...
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great get away”
Reviewed May 10, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Had a wonderful time, from the moment Rosina & Sonny Jones picked us up from the airport until the moment they dropped us off.
This was our first VRBO and I was nervous, but they made it so easy, relaxing, stress free & enjoyable.
The spacious cabins have all the necessities & extras, the king bed was comfy and we slept great.
We rented their motorboat which afforded us the mobility to tour the island when & how we pleased, a must on this boat access only peninsula.
We utilized the Kayaks, provided daily for recreation & exploring the reef to snorkel.
The local fisherman would stop by to offer to sell there catches, incredible, no need for a grocery store.
Sunrises were amazing, great fishing, great swimming from the dock.
If we didn't go out exploring we would not have seen another "tourist" the entire time we were there. We felt totally safe, the locals of Jonesville are warm & friendly, I think half of them are relatives of Rosina & Sonny who both grew up in Jonesville & I think Sonny's ancestors were the first to establish Jonesville, so they will/can hook you up with any excursions you desire. We choose to sit back and chill and have no regrets, only amazing lifelong memories.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 11, 2017
Dear Friends!!
Thank you so much for your kind words, we are very happy you both felt safe and comfortable at our home.
Hope to see you both on your next vacation trip..
Blessings!
Rosina & Sonny Jones
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheryl S
1 review
“Hospitality, 2nd to none !!! the best vacation.”
Reviewed January 8, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

The most peaceful relaxing place on the island. The hospitality by the owners was 2nd to none,the most kindest owners you will ever meet. Sonny and Rosina have supplied us with all of our need for our stay. Always checked to see that there was nothing that we needed, and if there was they make sure we had it quickly.
They provided so many extra's that you would ever expect. Beat all of our expectations. Will be planning another trip to Roatan and will be staying at HILLVIEW CABINS. Thank you, Sonny and Rosina.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2017
Dear Sheryl
Thank you so much!! We're so happy you and Bill we're pleased in every way at our cabin. it was such a pleasure to serve you, we would be happy to have you visit us in the future...
thank you again, for choosing Hill view cabins.
Sincerely
Rosina & Sonny Jones
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tridebtri
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beyond your expectations!”
Reviewed March 3, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I spent January and February 2016 with Rosina and Sonny at Hillview Cabins in Jonesville, Roatan. From the first day, they made us feel at home and welcome on their property, attending to every request quickly and ensuring our stay was everything we had hoped for when booking. They always made themselves available when we needed to head into town, for directions or advice for places to go in the area, and even popped in on occasion with freshly caught fish, fresh local produce, and even her own family's favorite baked goods. We were provided with advice on the best fishing holes, which allowed us to catch at least 50+ fish while we were there! Although they were always available to us, Rosina and Sonny also provided us with privacy and our space to enjoy our time here.

The cabins are BEAUTIFUL! There are no pictures that will provide a potential guest with the tranquility and home-feel of these properties. Rosina has done an amazing job of decorating and ensuring anything you could need in the home is available to you.

We were supposed to rent a car from a local man and Rosina gave us a ride into town to meet him. He never showed and she stayed with us, making several phone calls to her contacts to help us find another option. We are incredibly grateful to her and her family for how well they took care of us in an area we were not familiar with. They also stepped up when our ride back to the airport fell through and were happy to help us. You may experience service issues with other companies- but not with HillView!!

I am happy to provide more information at any time to any one who is considering these cabins for rent. I can not say enough positives about how we were treated. This couple is highly respected in this area and we were proud to say we were guests of theirs anywhere we went.

Close to Hole in the Wall, Trico, Ms. Jeannie's Store, Yula's Store, and a very short boat ride into Oakridge for The Reef House!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, the fishing, the closeness to the water
Liked least: Not Hillview's fault, but the internet is a bit wonky and made some days tough for me to run my business remotely.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 9, 2016
Dear Deb.
Thank you for the kind words, of my cabin, I'm sure happy you and Alex enjoyed your vacation and was pleased in every way while staying at my cabin.
we sure enjoyed having you both for a few months.
hope to see you again, in the near future.

Blessings.
Sonny & Rosina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big_D_lit...
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW what a place”
Reviewed March 2, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

My wife and I stayed with Sonny and Rosina from Feb 1/2016 to Feb29/2016.They are excellent hosts.The value they added to the Cabin by being there and giving advise and taking us to the grocery store is hard to put a price on.The cabin is excellent,the view is supreme ,They gave us a phone for local use,so we could call water taxis,call restaurants for pick up or take out.For a nominal fee Sonny took us deep sea fishing and a tour of the Eastern end of the island,they arranged with a local diver to deliver us lobster and fish.some of the fish we had was caught by us on Sonny's trip.We had 2 kayaks a motor boat and a hobie cat to sail.We felt very secure in their cabin.There were restaurants near by and stores we could access with our boat,We even took our hobie cat to the famous Hole in the Wall restaurant which we could almost see from our balcony.All the attractions of Roatan (of which there are many) are accessable from the cabin.All tour guides and dive boats will pick you up from the cabin.We rank Sonny and Rosina as the top hosts we have stayed with.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: proximty and access to the water
Liked least: internet was slow for browsing but fine for e-mails
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 3, 2016
Dear Mr & Mrs. Don Weagle

We thank you both for giving us the opportunity to serve you, in every way possible, it was a pleasure to have both with us and I'm sure happy to know you enjoyed your vacation at our home, away from your home.
hope to see you both again very soon!!

Blessings to you!!
Rosina & Sonny Jones
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing