We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Roatan
Open today: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Gumbalimba Park
from $69.00
More Info
from $45.00
More Info
from $101.54
More Info
from $41.03
More Info
Reviews (1,360)
Filter reviews
1,360 results
Traveler rating
833
362
103
37
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
833
362
103
37
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rope bridge monkey area zip line snuba excursion capuchin monkeys black iguanas guided tour rent a locker cruise ship take pictures pictures taken sunflower seeds perch a lot of fun beach area non cruise bug spray
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1,360 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2020 via mobile

A fun, interesting place to go. When we stay on Roatan we avoid days when many cruise ships come in and go early in the day. The grandkids loved it! Loved getting up close and personal with the macaws and monkeys. Staff is knowledgeable and friendly.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Minnesotatraveler214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

We went through ncl excursion as my wife did this last year and said we all had to go. So she was right( hopefully she doesn’t read this ). Guide was knowledgeable professional and helpful. The animals are so so much fun. There are macaws everywhere. They will sit in your arms for a picture. The reserve is on top of a hill/small mountain and is beautiful. The monkeys hop from person to person and are playful. Highly recommend this activity

Date of experience: December 2019
2  Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020

My family recently took a Western Caribbean cruise that included a stop at Coxen Hole, Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras. My daughter petitioned us to visit the Gumbalimba Preserve and Animal Sanctuary.  None of us knew much about it, but my daughter had researched the Animal Sanctuary and she convinced us to book an excursion. It turned out to be the highlight of our cruise.  I strongly recommend it.  The cost was reasonable and all of us enjoyed it very much.  We were taken by bus to the sanctuary where we were assigned a guide.  At the sanctuary, we got to see some beautiful scenery and some different types of animals such as iguanas and a sloth.  The highlight was seeing and taking photographs with Macaws and free-roaming white-face monkeys.  Our local tour guide was very informative and friendly.  The photograph opportunities were a lot of fun.  The monkeys were very tame and climbed on each of us.  At the end of the tour, there was a pool and beach for us to use for the remainder of our stay at the sanctuary.  On the day we were there, the skies began to look rainy, so we headed back to the ship shortly after the tour.  We had the opportunity to take a shuttle back to the cruise ship whenever we were ready to depart.  We really enjoyed this experience.  If you are traveling with children, this is a must-do experience they will talk about for a long time.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank bskramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020

Our guide Kristin was very knowledgeable of the local history have a great tour of the park and was willing and encouraging to use our own cameras for photo ops ! The monkey interaction was amazing to have such docile animals just interact and play and jump on shoulders was so cool I must do if your into animal adventures

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank JimO1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020

We had a wonderful time, seeing and holding the monkeys and parrots. They had a huge display of insects and butterflies (mounted), that were very interesting. It was a very worthwhile trip,

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank paulpD4279VN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews