We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sun, sand, and scuba...oh and the food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sun, sand, and scuba...oh and the food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

This was a wonderful trip with FABULOUS food and FANTASTIC diving. We stayed 1 week at Turquoise and enjoyed the run of the grounds...when we were not out diving. Being such a small resort with only 20 or so rooms, as well no other resorts or restaurants in the area, it was a great place to relax and enjoy an all inclusive package (transfers, room, food, and pop). I would not go any other way. Staff was great and very social because it was a slower time. Kervie can make one mean strawberry banana daiquiri....thanks for running out to pick up bananas on our last night! Oh and they have free Wi Fi....sometimes took us a few tries, but eventually we'd get logged in. I was able to post pictures every night from our diving for family & friends.

As far as the food, I have never had soooo much fresh seafood in my life! The cooks are amazing, amazing, amazing. Since it was not busy, we were able to order from the menu all week. We were shocked to find out on our first day that we could have shrimp, lobster, or steak at both lunch and dinner. Oh and there was always the choice of chicken, pasta, or a sandwich. No question, we chose the shrimp and lobster for most meals being from the Midwest. You must have the calamari appetizer as it is to die for. I could have just eaten that at every meal...oh I think I did except for 3X I had conch soup which was equally amazing! Our last night there (Friday) the guest count did pick up so a buffet dinner was offered. However, I had my heart (and stomach) set on one last calamari and lobster feast, so the staff was gracious enough to let us order off the menu. Thank You Marty!

Rooms at the resort have a wonderful view of the ocean and being set on a hillside all rooms have a clear sight line of the beach. I will say the mattress was not as comfortable as mine at home, but it did the job and typically allowed me 9 hours of sleep a night. The only suggestion I would have to the resort is to add more counter or shelf space in the room to put your personal stuff out. The desk with 2 drawers was pretty small and had the tv and water station located on top of it. Being divers and beach-goers, we had tons of crap.

The grounds of the resort were nicely kept, just a few minor upkeep details such as popped nails on the deck, windows needing a fresh wash, some rough/hard spots on the beach. Overall, the property is fairly small so you don't have to walk very far to get to restaurant, pool, or beach. Turquoise does open up its facilities to locals on day passes as well cruise ship members on Wednesdays. However, we were diving most of the day so these extra folks had no impact on our stay.

Diving with Subway Water Sports was such a treat. Following breakfast at the resort, we did 2 morning dives, hurried back to have lunch at the resort, and then headed out for a third dive in the afternoon. The staff at Subway was very professional and friendly, even all the interns....special shout out to Krista, Emily, Emily, and Jill! It was quite interesting and unique in our dive experience to be with a dive shop that is also a teaching location. Very cool and hard not to want to stay on as an intern for 4 weeks. There was enough variety in the dives to keep us interested...walls, swim throughs, caves, cuts, etc. Didn't see a lot of big stuff (no shark sighting), but did get a few spotted eagle rays and a pilot fish that wanted to play with us. Subway staff sets up all your dive equipment and washes it following, unless you want to do it yourself. I say have at it, I'm on vacation : )

If you're looking for a high end, plush, and trendy resort then Turquoise Bay is not your thing. However, if you're looking for a small, quite resort set back from the touristy area with good diving and the opportunity to sit back and relax by the pool or beach while reading a book, then I'd say drop Jesus an email. He'll set you up.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScubaGal75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    127
    42
    19
    5
See reviews for
84
167
28
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

Another trip to the beautiful island of Roatan and excellent stay at Turquoise Bay Resort! This would be my 10th trip to Roatan and my 4th return trip to Turquoise Bay. I will follow up on my review from last last year (June 16th 2008).

Truly consistency is the name of the game. This resort is managed well, rooms and facilties remain in excellent shape, the staff is top notch and kitchen produces some of the best food on the island. The kitchen will even accommodate special requests (home made chicken soup!!!Excellent!!) if not extremely busy.

Again if sand flies ( no-seeums) are a concern I recommend you come prepared. I will tell you they are not "Specific" to this resort. As a matter of fact they are quite friendly and tend to spend time all over the island.

My one area of concern on the trip would involve the dive shop: They are a good bunch of people and have the education unfortunately they fall short on there knowledge of the local diving area and organizational skills. I think this could be corrected with a little more "Local" influence added to the diving operation.

To all that read this review: I could go on and on. What I would like to make clear that Roatan is a piece of "Paradise". It has not caught up to all the other "Cancun's" of the world (at least not yet). So if your looking for a beautiful island that offers adventure (scuba diving, horse back riding etc...) or laid back local villages all the way to the "Night Life" on the West End....look no further and certainly stay at Turquoise Bay. It is a great place to spend time between adventures!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpd11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2009

From arrival the service was fantastic. The rooms were just as expected and the air conditioning worked really well. They have a really fun staff who took care of us at every meal. They have a good menu which pleased our meat eaters and vegatarians alike. The east end of the Island is quiet, which is how we wanted it and the dive sites are uncrowded. We made our own night life at the little hotel bar. The beach is just like it looks in the pictures but there are little bugs down there. Only one out of our group of 11 had an allergic reation to the bites. The pool area was the best place to be to keep away from them. Subway did a great job organizing our divers as well.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheElljay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

Turquoise Bay was a great place to stay from the minute we stepped out of our rental car. While we were checking in we were greeted with a lovely tropical welcome cocktail. We were amazed that it was very quiet around the resort, but there was plenty of waiters and support staff. We wanted for nothing. We did not do the all inclusive, but had several meals, snacks and drinks at the resort, and all were very good. I would highly recommend it. The folks working at Turquoise Bay are willing to show you around the Island. I would recommend this even though we had a rental car. We did venture to the West end and West Bay a few times in our rental car and the drive was not far. We also visited the island near Jonesville.

We also used the dive shop located on the grounds. They were a wonderful group of dive, kayak and snorkeling professionals. We used their services and had a great experience right out past the mangrove. We snorkeled and kayaked(sp) just out in front of the resort. It was excellent and we viewed many different types of coral, fish and other sea creatures.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmlupner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

Diving serviced by Submarine Watersports a 2-shop dive operation with another branch a few miles away; overlapping site territories. Generally stick relatively close to resort. Therefore, typically, they return to the resort dock for surface interval. Shop is very professionally run by Emily. Very accommodating to anything a diver might need.
Compressor room is large, well ventilated, clean and orderly. Two compressors; a large compressor for air and a smaller compressor dedicated to continuous-mixing 32% nitrox.
Submarine Ws is a training center, including training dive masters. They seem to make this a specialty. So, they had several intern DMs available and usually 1 or 2 on each dive. No shortage of staff/diver ratio. Staff are all extremely accommodating; they will do everything for you. (If you carry any of your own gear they will promptly chime in "We will do that for you"). If you prefer to doff your rig before climbing up the ladder they will haul it in for you.
Roatan has lots of dive sites; all with moorings. Don't have to repeat sites if you don't want to. DMs take care to provide variety. DMs were very competent, graduates of Submarine's DM training program.
Boats are relatively small so they couldn't possibly be used for a cattle-boat type operation. Smallest boat was very comfortable with: 4 or 5 guests; captain, DM, 1 or 2 interns. Probably could have handled 1 more guest without trouble.

Dive shop & dock are short stroll from dining room & office of the hotel. Kitchen will make you a sandwich for a surface interval snack. Plenty of time between 2'nd morning dive and afternoon dive for lunch.
Resort features "American Plan" so eating isn't a hassle. You can have lobster for lunch and dinner every day; other dishes are wonderful as well. Dining and other resort staff are extraordinarily friendly and solicitous. They are happy to do anything for you.
Rooms are large (even by American standards) and very comfortable. Pattern is 4 rooms per bungalow with the buildings spread out over a very large campus. Even if full, would be no sensation of being crowded.
WiFi service is available. 1'st hour of usage is free; they post that they charge for additional usage, but told me that they often didn't charge; no charge for my overage. WiFi service was erratic, mostly due to the ISP rather than the hotel. I was grateful the service was available at all in the 3'rd world.

The Bay Islands of Honduras are peculiar in that the mother-tongue is English rather than Spanish. Therefore, almost everyone speaks English; unless he is a trans-plant from the mainland, in which case, he's apt to speak only Spanish. So, getting around and getting along in English is easy.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bruscke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2009

I had a wonderful time at this hotel. It is a tranquil oasis sitting on a beautiful bay. The staff are very friendly and helpful, providing excellent service. The diving was great and the dive shop friendly and very well run. All rooms face the ocean and at night you can hear the gentle waves from your room. The food was very good and available any time. I highly recommend Turquoise Bay Resort and would go back in a minute!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAGCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful resort and would return in a minute. We were looking for someplace where we could relax and recharge. We did both at this wonderful resort. The staff is excellent and ready to serve you and go out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect. The beach is beautiful but the sand fleas are a problem.
Dino gave us an Island tour, stopping at a Zip line tour that was awesome. He showed us the whole Island, which we really enjoyed for a day, then back to the resort.

The food was great as we ate seafood all week and enjoyed every bite. We had shrimp cocktails for lunch and dinner because the shrimp were so good. They will prepare the fish the way you like it . Lobster tails were eaten at least every other day and it was all inclusive. One night, we had dinner on our patio, they provided everything.
The dive shop at the resort was great; Emily & Mindy were helpful, nice and always smiling. the reefs were good, no other dive boats on that side of the island made the dive trips very enjoyable. 3 dives a day, 1 night dive and a wreck rounded out our week.
We Recommend Turquoise Bay Resort to everyone who wants to dive, eat and relax.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roatan hotels
15.6 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
6.2 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
12.6 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
15.4 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
3.4 mi away
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
#5 of 5 in French Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort

Property: Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort
Address: Milton Bight, Roatan IB3100, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Roatan
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Roatan's Northeast shore Turquoise Bay is the only dive resort in this lush and remote area of the island providing you with the opportunity to dive uncrowded, pristine dive sites. The resort is set on a hillside with spectacular ocean views and a protected bay which makes the water calm and perfect for swimming and kayaking. Beach lovers will enjoy our private, tranquil, 500 ft white-sand beach.At Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort you will enjoy the very individual and personal service that only a small dive resort can offer. Our friendly local staff takes pride in getting to know our guests and making them feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turquoise Bay Hotel Roatan
Turquoise Bay Roatan
Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing