We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the Diving Stay for the Hammocks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

My mother and I had heard great things about the reef and diving in Roatan, so we made our first trip and stayed here. It was like staying with family...nothing fancy, personalized and people cared to serve and know you. All our needs were met and then some. We had amazing views of the ocean from our villa and enjoyed being more remote and away from all the tourism and bustle of town. Even the 40 minute trip from the airport was enjoyable with great island views. We enjoyed the diving (separate review on Subway Watersports and this part of the reef) and then relaxed on the quite, private beach in hammocks. Dreamy. Yes, there are sand fleas in Roatan but nothing I couldn't handle with bug spray. My mom never sprayed and was never bothered. Food was varied, and we were always pleased with the offerings. We were not told about snacks being offered between the long five/six hour afternoon gap between lunch and dinner and didn't figure this out until day five when we saw someone on the beach being served food. When we asked, people seemed to be reserved as if they were trying to save money than provide what was actually offered in our all inclusive package. We wished dinner was served earlier...doesn't start until 7pm. Communication from management was subpar as they never shared if/what entertainment was provided after dinner in the evenings, and we missed all of them. We heard about several things that were in ill repair in rooms among our dive friends such as AC and hot water. Our safe and hair dryer needed repaired. However, all were corrected pretty quickly when staff was notified. Beds were very hard, but we adjusted after a few days. Even while being careful, we both suffered from stomach issues around day five or six which lasted about two weeks. We recommend bringing a personal water bottle as drinkable water is served from large jugs. Several visitors all left for the airport on the same day, and the staff's way of handling this was strange. In one van, they stuffed people in every spot but did not send their luggage. In our van they stuffed four people with everyone's luggage. Those who left first had to wait some time at the airport for their luggage before they could proceed to check in for their flights. We would return again for the peace, solitude and boutique diving, but I guess you have to know what you are signing up for. In our opinion, the pros far outweigh the cons.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Crystal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
There are newer reviews for Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 557 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

What a wonderful time! The place is beautiful, quiet and way off the beaten path. If you want great diving and a remote island vacation, this is your place. The dive crew really spoils you with their full service attention. The rooms are clean and the place is secure. They feed you 3 meals a day and the food is very diverse. We thought we ordered a room with a king size bed, but had 2 doubles instead and they actually put a king size bed in our room while we were out diving. I couldn't believe it! Plus we dove with the same group all week and made some great friends.

Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gsusRoatan, Manager at Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Hi Ann H,

Thank you for your feedback! We have shared them with our staff. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Our best wishes,

Jesus Reyes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This was a diving vacation for our entire family. We had never been to Roatan so this was new for everyone. I am sorry to say it was not the best vacation. The diving was average. Divemaster advised the sealife has been over fished. That was clearly evident. The coral was very healthy. The dive boats were not in the best condition. The shop staff was great. In fact, no complaints about any of staff. They were the best part of this trip. One young woman even memorized the names of all the guests...yes it is a small resort. Couple significant issues. The beach has sand fleas. A really bad infestation. After the first day, we did not attempt to sit on the beach again even thouh we brought tons of bug spray and applied it every time we left our rooms. Each of our family members came down with dysentery. The water is not drinkable anywhere in Roatan. The hotel provided water pitchers in all the rooms and refilled them twice a day, but that did not resolve all the issues. I must then assume there was cross contamination in the food. Roatan is officially off my list of travel favorites. I will not go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Girlface546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I went with my family and friends, and we had such a good experience, the rooms, the service, the food, everything was great.

The beach is private and very safety we had a walk at the beach at 3:30am and was a beautiful experience definetly I would be back!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank kriziacornejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Went on a dive vacation with another couple. The resort is nice, private and quiet. The beach is private and beautiful. This resort is really geared more for divers. There is not much for non divers to do at the resort. The dive operation located on the property ( Subway ) was good however the dive boat provided for us did not offer any shade and barely fit the four divers, tanks and the dive master and boat captain. It was great having our own boat but would have preferred a bit more room and a bit of shade. Both the dive master and boat captain were very nice and helpful. The diving itself is not spectacular. Little marine life on all the divers.
The biting sand fleas, no-see-ums were very bad. It did not matter if we were at the pool or on the beach. I have been to Roatan before, stayed at a different resort and the biting insects were just as bad. So I do not blame Turquoise Bay Resort.
The food was good but would have liked to have more local dishes served. I can eat French fries at home. The staff was great, very nice, fun and friendly. I have no complaints with Turquoise Bay resort.
Not sure I would go to Roatan again mainly because of the biting fleas and because I was not impressed with the diving.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dodie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I lead a group of 14 divers to Turquoise Bay in May 2014. I was concerned they might miss the activate on the west side. I was wrong. The staff did such a good job, no one wanted to leave this fantasy island. Clean and welcoming, excellent meals great bar (make sure to by the drink package it is well worth it.) and entertainment almost nightly. The locals had booths a couple evenings where you could shop, another night there was a musician and you could dance. A fire dancer and local dancers were great and the beach bar b q and raegga singer on the beach was perfect for our last night on the island. The diving was amazing and our boats rarely share our dive spots with any other boats. The crew made sure our equipment was ready to go each morning and removed it, washed it and put it away in our lockers every night. Our group took the lion fish hunter class and we all enjoyed fresh lion fish cerviche almost every night.

Room Tip: The hillside rooms are more secluded and private with a great view. The water side rooms are double...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Dive vacation. Scuba facility on property Subway Scuba. Hotel is comprised of a main building with the check-in area, dining area and bar. Next to this is a covered patio. The pool is adjacent. Take the steps down to the private beach. White sand with a little calm bay. Draw back: sand flies that bite. Take spray if planning to spend time on beach--seriously. Staff are very friendly and help everyway they can. Rooms are little three or four unit buildings. Our room was clean and kept cool. Others in the group had some issues, but they were addressed immediately. Private, far from the towns. Could arrange trips in for $25 per person, which we did with a group of 14 for over 6 hours. They have a spa on the facility but I did not use cannot rate. Sad to see the week end. Beautiful little tropical resort. Special thanks to Edner, Kirby and Pablo and the rest for making the stay an excellent experience. The food was basic, but always good and sometimes better. Tons of it. Fresh melons and pineapples. Miss it already. Highly recommend as a dive vacation spot. If looking for night life, not so good.

Room Tip: All rooms seem equal to me. All offered views of ocean as far as I know. As they say, not a bad ro...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bstandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roatan hotels
15.6 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
6.2 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
610 reviews
15.4 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
#5 of 5 in French Harbour
861 reviews
13.8 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
15.3 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort

Address: Milton Bight, Roatan IB3100, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Roatan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Roatan
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
Price Range: $349 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Roatan's Northeast shore Turquoise Bay is the only dive resort in this lush and remote area of the island providing you with the opportunity to dive uncrowded, pristine dive sites. The resort is set on a hillside with spectacular ocean views and a protected bay which makes the water calm and perfect for swimming and kayaking. Beach lovers will enjoy our private, tranquil, 500 ft white-sand beach.At Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort you will enjoy the very individual and personal service that only a small dive resort can offer. Our friendly local staff takes pride in getting to know our guests and making them feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turquoise Bay Hotel Roatan
Turquoise Bay Roatan
Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing