We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very slow relaxing quite pace.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Is a really quite place with no crazy entertainment. If you are not into any kind of water sports, it will be very boring . Unless, u like to to read and sun bath on the beach the whole of your stay.The staffs are great. The food is not bad at all, lack variety but made up with taste. The reef is a bit far from the resort, have to pay everytime just to get out there to snokle. They should have some kind of deal for snokler that want to go out more than once. Love roatan, will be back, but not sure it would be the same resort. Don't get me wrong, nothing negative about the resort. Might just want to check out others in roatan.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thai h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
There are newer reviews for Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 557 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spend a week at the very nice Turquoise Bay Resort in Roatan, Honduras. Quiet and small resort. Only 20 bungalows and just perfect for us divers. No animation and music on the resort and it is just PERFECT!! The food was just great and was friendly prepared by local chef. Subway Watersports dive centre right there on the spot. LIKE IT!!

Room Tip: All Bungalows are well located.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruno B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I brought a group of 19 to Turquoise Bay the last week of April. Jesus's staff were very accommodating and friendly, picking up special needs items and arranging special trips for us. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. The view from most of the rooms is spectacular. The food was great, always well prepared. The soups were outstanding. Breakfast buffet had pancakes or French toast, sausage, potatoes and bacon,cereal, the best oatmeal,and eggs/omlets to order. Lunch and dinner always had a great variety as well. The weather was not cooperating with our scuba plans but the dive shop was able to make arrangements to keep our divers diving when many would have said "cannot control the weather".
Overall a great success of a vacation in my opinion.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank JoelDMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was our first time staying at Turquoise Bay Resort and we LOVED it! We've been visiting Roatan since 1990, staying in Sandy Bay. We were looking for a laid-back diving vacation and Turquoise Bay hit the spot. The diving was very good with experienced, friendly and helpful dive master and boat captain. The boat was very comfortable; good ladder and easy set-up for gear. The staff at the restaurant was most gracious. When you approach the door they jump ahead and open it for you! The food was plentiful and delicious, with varied menus and options. We ate all of our meals in the outdoor area and the view is outstanding. The views from the property are awesome; the beautiful blue bay opening up to the "big" water. The beach is very good; shelters to provide shade with chaise loungers and hammocks. In the late afternoon someone from the restaurant would offer snacks and drinks on the beach while we relaxed. The rooms were spacious and clean. Our view was beautiful from our private balcony. The landscaping on the property was outstanding; beautiful blooming shrubs everywhere. During our stay I had need to visit the local clinic. The staff at Turquoise Bay was very helpful; going out of their way to help. We are looking forward to many more visits at the resort. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebM308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and I spent a week here in late Jan 2013. I've been trying to let the experience sink in before writing. What you get: very quiet, lots of space both on the beach and on the grounds. What you don't get: much of a room, a well groomed beach without pebbles, very interesting meals. The disconnect for us really began with the fact that this is a sister property of the mayan princess, and so they used the same web design. Mayan is a far fancier property for nearly the same price with a classier staff... and it earns that website; Turquoise does not. It's still hard for me to justify the price at Turquoise, but it truly does have much more a sense of space and of solitude,and the staff is as nice as you treat them, and were delightful for us. If those features are what you are looking for, go for it--find a coupon if you can.

Room Tip: Get a king bed for two, as the beds are hard so moving around with two in a double bed was tough--we...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cory T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JesusReyes4480, Manager at Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Hello Mr. Cory T,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write this review! We're sorry to hear that your dining experience wasn't the best, we have improved the variety of our meals, lately we have been receiving very positive feedback. Regarding the rooms, we are adding more furniture to the rooms, we added a dresser this week and we'll keep on trying to make them as comfortable as possible. We are also working in keeping our beach without pebbles. We're glad to hear your experience with our staff was delightful.

Our sister property, Mayan Princess, has been in a transition process and they now are offering an Premium All Inclusive and launched since the beginning of February a brand new amazing website which we invite you to visit to learn more about their new product.

Our best wishes,

Jesus Reyes
Turquoise Bay Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have been coming to Turquoise Bay resort since it opened a few years back. I have stayed at other resorts on the Island (Fantasy Island, Paradise Beach Club, Mayan Princess, Bananarama) but this is definitely my favorite. It is on its own bay called Milton Bight, which makes it quiet and peaceful throughout the day. It also faces West to give you some spectacular sunsets.

The dive shop is the best I have been to anywhere. They have their own private docks, so no beach loading, and they do everything for you. Once you check in, for the remainder of your stay, you just walk to the boat when your dive is ready and they have all your gear on the boat and set up already! After the dive, you just grab your fins and they take all the rest, rinse it and hang it up, and get it ready for your next dive. I have not stayed any place else that offers that kind of service, and the price is as good or better than the others as well.

The resort is beautiful. It has its own private beach. There is one restaurant which serves great food buffet style in the high season. I got stuffed every meal. Everything is made from scratch and the seafood is fresh. I have brought several groups during missions trips and everyone has loved Turquoise Bay.

My favorite spot is to grab a beverage and hang out on the veranda watching the sun go down. If you go, bring some friends and say hi to Jesus Reyes the manager. I know you will love it as I do.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigMike77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have been to a number of resorts specifically for diving. This resort is small by anyone standards. My room was clean and neat and in good repair; thou basic. The food is good and they try and give a reasonable variety. There is only one restaurant but they have many variations during the week from a BBQ to local Honduran cuisine. The pool was small but well maintained. The beach was close bye but as people have said before bring some sort of insect repellent. The dive shop was close by and the dive staff are excellent. Unfortunately in this part of Roatan they allow people to fish the reef that you dive on so consequently there are very few snappers, groupers or barracuda. There are sections of what looks like dead coral. On the +ve side they have excellent cave diving in this area which made up for the other detracting items. Diving 6.5-7/10.

Room Tip: I liked the ones closest to the dive shop. But it didn't have a view of very much. Depends what...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank I-am-a-diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roatan hotels
15.6 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
6.2 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
610 reviews
15.4 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
#5 of 5 in French Harbour
860 reviews
13.8 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
15.3 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort

Address: Milton Bight, Roatan IB3100, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Roatan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Roatan
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
Price Range: $349 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Roatan's Northeast shore Turquoise Bay is the only dive resort in this lush and remote area of the island providing you with the opportunity to dive uncrowded, pristine dive sites. The resort is set on a hillside with spectacular ocean views and a protected bay which makes the water calm and perfect for swimming and kayaking. Beach lovers will enjoy our private, tranquil, 500 ft white-sand beach.At Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort you will enjoy the very individual and personal service that only a small dive resort can offer. Our friendly local staff takes pride in getting to know our guests and making them feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turquoise Bay Hotel Roatan
Turquoise Bay Roatan
Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing