We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Snorkeling”
Review of Hobbies Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roatan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hobbies Hideaway
Ranked #5 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Snorkeling”
Reviewed November 17, 2010

We stayed at Hobbies Hideaway for 6 nights. It is a quiet, private place right on the reef, just a short swim to great snorkeling--the main reason we choose the Hideaway. The two dogs, Hondo and Taboo, make sure that one's person and belongings are safe and secure, plus either John or Sue are always there. They are friendly and helpful. We were given a two bedroom apartment because a one bedroom wasn't available, so we had plenty of room. Everything was adequate but cleanliness needs improvement. The restaurant wasn't open so we either cooked our own meals or took a taxi into town. Our apartment door opened into the dining/bar area and sound did travel, so we wondered if perhaps we were lucky that the cafe was closed. All in all its a really good place to relax, spend time with yourself and your family, to be outdoors, exercise and above al,l enjoy the beauty of the reef.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FastLikeJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hobbies Hideaway, responded to this review, November 18, 2010
The restaurant and bar was closed due to tropical depression winds and rainy conditions that occur during Oct and Nov. It is very easy to track in sand from the beach front into the apartments, from towels and bare feet. Wash basin are provided. The apartments are sound insulated with the air conditioning running no sound can reach the back bedrooms areas.
Apartment doors do open to a large patio area. From the patio area you can hear the waves breaking on the reef during bad climate weather. Quite beautiful, nature’s forces. Sound from the bar cannot be heard in the apartments as the other apartment was occupied, thus the free upgrade from a one bedroom to a two bedroom away from the beach bar area.
Cleanliness is always addressed as a primary issue before arrival and departure. As we are on site at all times no reports or complaints were made to management at any time!
We feel because of a full week of rainy weather with limited sun they were despondent over their Roatan vacation. John and Sue owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    30
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
93
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We didn't stay at Hobbie's Hideaway but lived down the lane from their place. When we first moved to Roatan,John and Sue were so welcoming. Our grandson would race down the road to Miss Sue's and she would always greet him with a glass of tropical juice. Many a night we would stroll down to their Bar and Restaurant for dinner for food to die for. We miss it very much and I would like to be sitting there right now having a Barena at the bar instead being cold in Calgary, Canada.. If you are heading to Roatan, you won't find a better place to stay, The setting, the company and the food are the best. A memorable holiday you will have.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCodster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Hobbies hideaway was exactly what I imagined when I began looking for places to stay while visiting Roatan.

We found their hospitality to be outstanding, their conversation engaging, thier views spectacular, and their food and drinks kept us coming back day after day.

The unit is located in Sandy Bay, which is relatively off the beaten patth of tourists. What made it great was that when we were ready to leave Hobbies and see the rest of the island, there was always a taxi within 3 minutes. And within 10 more minutes and less than 5 dollars, we were in West End, or Punta Gorda.

Hobbies were very helpful in getting us familiarized with the island and the reccomended places to dive, and tour.

They have hammocks and tons of beach front right our thier front door!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

My husband and I wanted someplace unique to celebrate our 25th anniversary. What we found surpassed our expectations! We were John and Sue's guests for 3 weeks,so we had plenty of time to explore the island. The snorkling - just off the dock, was by far better than West Bay . Bonus - you will be the only ones out on the reef ! The food and drink at Hobbies is excellent and very reasonably priced. John and Sue were incredible -they went out of their way to assist us! I have to mention Hondo, such a lovable pooch, we looked forward to our morning greeting. No worries if you're not a dog person-he's very mellow and well behaved. Don't hesitate to stay here, you won't regret it. We can't wait to go back next year !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13boxers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackstone, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2010

hobbies hideaway is fantastic . john and sue are excellent host
the sunshine cafe restaurant and bar have great food and ice cold
beer and drinks { also a top notch wine selection } if your like us you like an authentic
island experience . not some resort which look and feel all the same . not to mention
the inflated prices . the staff of john / sue and company really gave us the personalized
serviceu just can;t get at the resorts . hobbiies is located just far away enough from the masses . yet minutes away from anything you need { shopping / baeches nightlife ect . }
and world class snorkling / swiming and water sports right outside your door at hobbies
hideaway . this is how the carribean use to be . we hessitate to share this hidden gem
but really felt obligated to praise hobbies .
thank you so much we will be back soon
peter and family

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter02895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montego Bay, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2010

I stayed at hobbies hideaway for more than a week and it was absolutely awesome!!!! John and Sue the owners were so Helpful and friendly!!! The accomadations were good. I stayed in the one bedroom which had a full size kitchen and living room, ac,cell phone, cable and internet...That's really good because alot of places do not include all of that. As soon as i arrived John and Sue made me feel like I was totally at home. The food in the restaurant in great and at really great prices as well!!! It sits directly ocean front, but if you want to swim you will need to walk out to the end of the dock, which I wasn't particularly fond of due to the sea weed..lol...You will definitely see beautiful sunsets and get great pics sitting at the end of the doc though!!!! I will definitely be back to see John and Sue and enjoy wonderful and beautiful Roatan!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsFatima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We loved everything about Hobbies Hideaway. The location can't be beat. Steps away from the beach and wonderful snorkeling right off the pier. The apartment was spacious and had everything necessary to cook your own meals if you wished. We found we loved the food at the onsite restaurant, The Sunshine Cafe so much we ate most of our meals there. John and Sue were very accomodating for all our needs taking us to the bank and shopping. We love it so much we are headed back this summer.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimba45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roatan hotels
2.8 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
6.4 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
4.6 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 7 in West End
586 reviews
2.7 mi away
Blue Bahia Resort
Blue Bahia Resort
#5 of 5 in Sandy Bay
209 reviews
4.1 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hobbies Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobbies Hideaway

Property: Hobbies Hideaway
Address: Main Island road, Sandy Bay | directly on the beach Beach, Roatan 11011, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sandy Bay,just off the main road on a secluded beachfront area that is quiet and tranquil. The white sand beach parallels the reef and inside the Roatan Marine preserve . Here is a pristine reef system with a abundance of tropical fish and corals within swimming distance from your accommodations Hobbies Hideaway offers affordable prices and a excellent location. Close to West End for the night life,bars and restaurants yet far enough away not to hear the bands at night. Coxen Hole has the new supermarkets and sovenier shops. Best prices on the island just a taxi ride away. $2.00 a person ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hobbies Hideaway Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing