We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Hobbies Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roatan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hobbies Hideaway
Ranked #6 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Hobbies Hideaway was fantastic!! We absolutely loved the location and John and Sue are the best. Hobbies has everything you'll need and more, from snorkelling gear, wifi, kayaks and access to the reef....all included in Hobbies very competitive rates.
John and Sue go out of their way to make you feel at home, anything you need all you have to do is ask. Over and above that, John picks you up from the airport, helps you get groceries and Sue is there to greet you on your arrival with a warm smile. Many thanks to John and Sue for their warmth and generosity....we plan to return next year!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyVancouverIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobbieshideaway, Owner at Hobbies Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for the review.
It's more of our reward having you stay with us. Part of what we do is to ensure you enjoyed your vacation time. We don't just hand you keys. We want to make your time on Roatan a memorable one from the first day.
Thank you for staying with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 184 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed two weeks at Hobbies the last week of Feb and first week of March! Everything you have read is true! John and Sue are excellent hosts! They make sure you have everything you need. The free use of kayaks to paddle out to the reef or swimmingh holes was very much appreciated, so was the use of snorkel equipment! The community patio was also a nice way to meet the other guests. The sunset on the pier was beautiful and I did see the green flash! There is nothing really in walking distance but cabs are cheap 2.00 pp! You basically have a private beach to your self. The only downfall was the millions of sandfleas that feasted on us daily! Two out of four of us were eaten alive! Bring lots of off! Thanks John& Sue for everything! Also a big thanks to Ron, Bill & Jean! You all made us feel so welcome!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amw1192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobbieshideaway, Owner at Hobbies Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for your review, Were very pleased you found things clean quiet and comfortable. And you enjoyed your vacation time. Those sand fleas are a big problem on the whole island. We'll keep turning up the sand to make them find a new home. We have found they do like people from the north. Tasty
The bug spray does work. You know the joke . We call it Odor- de -Off. A new scent of cologne . Any thick viscosity sun tan oil or other products will help keep them away used on a regular basis.
John & Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

First time to Roatan. My wife and I stayed 9 days at Hobbies in early March. John, Sue and Captain Ron made our visit the best. John's airport pick-up and his help and patience in the grocery store gave us peace of mind. We took a full day tour of the East end with John who showed us things we never would have found on our own. What ever we needed or wanted John or Sue made sure it happened. They even prepared a home made fish dinner with all the fixins. The fish were caught by the neighbors but were kind enough to share with all of Hobbies guests.Their beautiful beach and private pier is but a ten minute swim to a pristine reef that is loaded with all the sea creatures and corals you could want. West end is just a $5.00 cab ride and maybe ten minutes away. But after a couple visits to the busy West end and West bay beaches it was nice to return to Hobbies and relax and watch the sun go down. We hope to return to Hobbies and add some more great Roatan memories to the list.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank oh7016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobbieshideaway, Owner at Hobbies Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Hello, and unhappy to see you back at home. We wish you could have stayed longer.!! But you were able to get the feel for Roatan. Our tour really helps you see all the island. Not just the tourist areas. The reef and beach is beautiful in our private area of Sandy Bay and were happy you enjoyed it..
Thank you for the review and we hope to see you next year. Please email early for your special return discount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed at Hobbies the week that John and Sue had to go to the States and although they were missed we were lucky to have Bill and Jean as our hosts. They were very warm and welcoming and were always checking to be sure we were having a great time (and we were)! Hobbies has it all, beautiful beach location and comfortable homey apartments with a huge front deck on the beach as our "second" living room. My husband had a medical problem and received excellent care from John and Sue's doctor. Thank you John not only for Dr. Selma but for calming me down and making it possible to safely complete our vacation. We had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliceblue71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobbieshideaway, Owner at Hobbies Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Hello Alice and Jim. thank you for a review. It's our guests that we appreciate and do our best to ensure they have a wonderful time at Hobbies. We also thank our co hosts while away.
Something that we don't advertise is Dra. Zelma Interneraios availability to our guests in a emergency. We were relieved she was able to stabilize a serious problem that occurred. She is one of the best on the island. Our guests can always feel secure when staying at Hibboies Hideaway. Thank you for staying with us. See you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

John picked us up at the airport, and we shopped for groceries so we could do our own cooking. Both John and Sue were great hosts--the chips and salsa were greatly appreciated after our long trip. John took us fishing in his small boat, and we both caught barracuda, which we enjoyed eating! John and Sue even cooked it up the island way for us one night! The fish, plantains, and rice were delicious! The only sad thing was that I left the rest of our fish in the freezer when we left to spend a week on the other side of the island....T.he snorkeling was great, and it was nice to have kayaks to use to go our to the reef or to fish in the mangroves. We really enjoyed our stay and are planning to return

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank sherisinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobbieshideaway, Owner at Hobbies Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Hello John & Sherri, Thank you for staying with us. We welcome your return. John I still owe you a picture of that big Barracuda you caught fishing with us plus others I"ll email it when the computer is repaired. It's a excellent photo of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

this was my 2nd vaca at hobbies - this time aug 31-oct 5 - yippee 5 weeks! its hard to add anything to the great reviews! john and sue met me at airport - off to the grocery store where i loaded up on the deep woods off w/deet - my island perfume. this time along w/all the fruits/veggies/chips and hot sauces - i also bought filet mignon - omgoodness! over 3 lbs for under $18.00 - i even made a stew one nite w/it - i cant even look at it in the states - it grilled up perfect! steak, lobster & shrimp almost every day! back to the bug spray - the no-seeums can be bad so i also bought those mesquito coils and hung them around and that really helped. i stayed in same apt - 1 - king bed was comfy - w/extra pillows-yay! i also liked the day bed in the living/tv room, they had a fan and cold a/c which i dont use until nite. the griddle was nice too - i took it out on patio and cooked on it - didn't heat up my apt. heck, i cooked just about everything outside - when i cooked. i asked danny (boat cap) and his wife - julie to cook for us a couple of times! talk about some good eats! ask em to cook for you! very reasonable price to do this :) we went to frenchys 44 - nice - right on the water - very big and good rum punch. i took the nite fishing tour this time and caught a a lot of fish - enough to last my 5 weeks - grilled, fried, steamed, baked, you name it! john even made marine stew w/some. my first time to snorkel was last yr and john was so patient w/me - i can swim but im not as strong a swimmer as some and i do tend to get excited sometime - anyway, when we went out this time - Ronnie (helper) tied a rope to the life ring and i floated on it and snorkeled - he even bought up star fish for me to touch & take a pic! it was great! also, some of the other guests swam from the dock to the reef - i was too leary - Ronnie to the rescue again - he suggested i use the noodle so, i put my mask on and we made up a new name - snoodle:) so i snoodled out to the reef! :) his wife celia braided my ponytail - she did such a great job - i didn't take it down until i got home! oh yeah, while im thinking about it - use the atm at the airport - it works more than the others. one more little thing - hobbies has everything you need but i bought some styrofoam cups and my ice lasted a lot longer. me and sue would jump in a taxi or even better one of those buses and go to west end to eat at another fav of mine - coconut tree restaurant - has the best shrimp salad! this time too, instead of sitting on the dock all the time - i sat in the back by the pond and threw out my old bread - lots of birds back there. at nite, it was so much fun to sit on the upper deck and watch the nite sky w/rum punch :) the best time this year was going to the childrens home - last yr there was a couple staying at hobbies and they had bought down all kinds of things for the kids so, i took caps, school supplys, books, colors/color books and bubbles - they love caps and bubbles! - vaca #3 is comin up - cant wait to get back down there! thank you john and snoodlin sue! see ya soon!

Room Tip: i put frozen ice cubes in gal baggie and always had plenty. freeze your water bottles. i liked the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank onecentntx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Hobbies Hideaway is just perfect for us. We have been guests there six times and we are going back in March. John and Sue are the most sweetest people who just want to make your visit the very best it can be. It sits right on the beach, there is a long pier that takes you half way to the reef. The reef and the area around the pier is full of wild marine life, it is just wonderful. If you don't want to swim, you can lounge on the pier or porch and just enjoy the view. Hobbies Hideaway is away from all the people and crowds but you can catch a taxi at the corner. John meets you at the airport, takes you to the grocery store and back to the airport. John has two boats that he will take you fishing or snorkeling. You can't ask for much more, it is truly a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roatan hotels
2.8 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
2.8 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
213 reviews
4.6 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
16.3 mi away
Paya Bay Resort
Paya Bay Resort
#17 of 42 in Roatan
400 reviews
1.1 mi away
Puerta Azul
Puerta Azul
#2 of 5 in Sandy Bay
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hobbies Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobbies Hideaway

Address: Island beach road, Sandy Bay | directly on the beach Beach, Roatan 11011, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Roatan
Price Range: $40 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sandy Bay,just off the main road on a secluded beachfront area that is quiet and tranquil. The white sand beach parallels the reef and inside the Roatan Marine preserve . Here is a pristine reef system with a abundance of tropical fish and corals within swimming distance from your accommodations Hobbies Hideaway offers affordable prices and a excellent location. Close to West End for the night life,bars and restaurants yet far enough away not to hear the bands at night. Coxen Hole has the new supermarkets and sovenier shops. Best prices on the island just a taxi ride away. $2.00 a person ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hobbies Hideaway Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing