We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, secluded, locally owned resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Paya Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Paya Bay Resort
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, secluded, locally owned resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We booked the day excursion through Paya Bay during our stop in Roatan on our Royal Caribbean cruise. It was perfect! We got away from the cruise ship crowds and got to experience a great, locally owned resort. The driver picked us up at the port, and drove us to the resort, which took a little over an hour each way. He essentially gave us a tour of the island on the way, which was wonderful. Upon arrival, we were given fresh fruit juice and a fruit plate to enjoy. We then purchased some cocktails and were shown to a room for use during our short day stay. We changed into our swim suits and immediately headed to the beach. Due to their limits of guests, we nearly had the entire place to ourselves. We only saw about 10 other guests while exploring the property. We hiked through the trails and explored all of the different areas, but we mainly stayed on the beach. Lunch was also incredible - very fresh and tasy. We plan to go back to visit for a longer stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rmm151s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    66
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
24
252
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We spent 2 weeks at Paya Bay and loved it. The web site is a good representation of the hotel and grounds. The family oriented staff was friendly and so helpful, even to the point of bringing hot lemonade with honey to our room when they learned my husband was sick with a fever. (the day after we arrived; he brought it with him from home.) Because the hotel is in an undeveloped area remember to bring necessities with you. There is no shopping plaza nearby but you can arrange get a ride into town if you choose.

For the nature lover this place is heaven. As noted by others the rooms are simply furnished with clean comfortable beds but nothing fancy. Do take advantage of the daily snorkelling trips out to the reef, it is fantastic! They offered yoga classes twice a day in the beautiful pavilion perched on top of the hill. We walked the trails daily and one day walked to Camp Bay beach and had lunch at another small resort there. We loved that there was no central pool area with loud music and constant activities, so if you enjoy that sort of thing you likely won't want to stay here.

There are 2 things to be aware of: the menu as shown on the website is currently out of date (Jan. 2013) as several items are no longer available. You will need to be a bit flexible when it comes to ordering dinner. And if you are seeking a Naturist experience be aware that there is a mix of clothed/nude people on Bliss beach even during Naturist weeks, so be prepared to be "studied". (It is really very politically incorrect to take pictures of nude people on the beach. Really.)

However the Buccaneer Landing side was usually inhabited by naturists and quite often we had Bliss beach to ourselves. It's like buying an island. We loved the peace and dreamy ambience of Paya Bay. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7. It was large and airy with a nice view of the big beach. All the rooms have o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OntarioJazzy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We arranged a day trip directly with Paya Bay during our stop on the Carnival Magic. It was a truly relaxing experience once we arrived. Located on the far east end of Roatan, Paya Bay is very quiet with a wonderful view of the reef. The staff is attentive and responsive.

Because Paya Bay is not part of Carnival's "official" excursions, the van can't come onto the Mahogany Bay property to pick you up. This means you need to walk out of the main shopping complex and about 1/2 mile to get to the van. The ride is approximately 50 minutes so you drive through most of the island. The last 20 minutes are unpaved.

The resort is wonderfully natural with most of the paths between the beaches smooth but not intruding on the beauty of the foliage. The main beach (Bliss Beach) is very nice with loungers, shade and kayaks readily available. During Naturist weeks, the whole resort is clothing optional but our week was a Romance week so only topless on Bliss Beach.

The main clothing optional section (Buccaneer Bay)is really only for sunbathing. There is no easy access to the water. There is an area call Rock Island with some sand but it didn't have loungers. Secret Cove has two wonderful places with chairs available and incredible views of the reef. Perfect for relaxing, reading a book while listening to the waves. There is a third area in Secret Cove where you can use the hammocks from the front desk to catch up on some sleep while the gentle winds rock you to sleep. Secret Cove was our favorite area but again there is no easy access to the water.

Lunch was truly amazing. There were four of us from the ship and all agreed this was the best meal we had on any trip to any island. Grilled fish, grilled shrimp and fried shrimp were all outstanding. A wide variety of beer is available at about half the price of the Magic.

The only minor items for us were that the instructions for meeting the van could have been much better and the clothing optional section had several pieces of trash which a person wearing a staff shirt simply walked past.

The resort has several construction project going on and you can see that they are investing to make it an outstanding destination. A new bar on Bliss Beach and a Spa were among them. All said they were scheduled to be finished by the Winter season of 2013.

Overall a very relaxing day in the sun.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rclantonjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
139 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful, excellent service, food and location. No Cruise crowds as western bay . I suggest to stay in these hotel and do à tour to west bay instead of thé opposite . They have à Nice bay, à small beach with a little pool, trecking trails, possibility to visit pigeon cay, and their driver José is amazing. Naturisme at its best

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia_QTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Spent the day and it was great. Lunch was outstanding and service was also outstanding. Can't wait till we come back. The only people on beach were me and the wife. Weather was perfect and the water a little cool but nice. Just another outstanding stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rested478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
204 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Sadly, reviewers cannot give half stars - we would actually given Paya Bay 4 1/2 stars. The only hitch, but one that set the tone of the stay was a failure for the hotel shuttle to pick us up at the airport. When we tried to call the hotel they had the wrong phone number on our email confirmation as well as the tourist brochures at the airport. We finally decided to take a cab - fares ranged from $40 - $55. We found a nice driver who let us stop at a grocery store for liquor and snacks. It would have been nice had Paya Bay offered to pick up or split the cab - they didn't. Other than that, all else was great. We had a nice room overlooking the sea cliff - great views, breeze and sounds. The food was very good - better than what we had in town. The entire staff was excellent. The snorkeling trips were great and a cold beer at sunset was the perfect way to end the day. I like the fact that they have a beach for every taste - clothed, topless or nude - no one cramps anyone else's style - and you cannot see one beach to the next. Do not come here if you are looking for nightlife as this is not the place. If you want to relax and make new friends, by all means this is your spot. We would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the sea cliff - the other lodging building is nicknamed the "frat house." C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Randy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I recently took advantage of Paya Bay's "two for one" special. Our stay was full of likes & dislikes!

Likes:

Paya Bay is on the remote East End of Roatan away from the built-up areas of the island. The property is very natural and almost appears untouched. The Cliffside Rooms (I highly recommend Room #4) hang over the crashing sea. Although the room was somewhat dated the constant breezes, sounds of waves crashing and magnificent views (sea, sunrise/sunset & star) were beyond magnificent.

The size of the property made it feel like you had the entire place to yourself. Natural trails/pathways led to Bliss Beach, Buccaneer Landing, endless views and nooks & crannies.

During our stay there were only approximately ten other guests. Some kept to themselves but most enjoyed the company of each other on the beach, while snorkeling, taking island tours and during meals. Either way you never felt over crowed or left out. During the final nights guests shared their photos via a makeshift (white bed sheet hanging on the dining room wall) slide presentation. The experience led to a bond and discussions involving future travels. Sunday evening’s wine and cheese was a nice touch and a great way to meet other guest.

Paya Bay offers two free snorkeling trips per day (9:30 AM & 2:30 PM). Tom is a great guide and character making each trip an exciting experience. We have traveled & snorkeled the Caribbean but the reef off Roatan is tops. I highly recommend taking the optional day trip to Pigeon Cay.

Onion Rings – Simply the best. Sounds a bit out of place but Paya Bay’s onion rings are out of this world!!!!


Dislikes:

Food was a major disappointment. Breakfast - Fine with a wide variety but service was slow. Lunch – Wide variety but often overcooked and salty. Service was slow. Dinner – Two specials every night. Some nights dinner was served buffet or family style. If you did not like what was being served you had the option of ordering off the menu but it appeared as if the staff did not encourage this option. Like other meals dinner service was slow and often over cooked and salty. On many occasions (breakfast, lunch & dinner) many items on the menu were not available. After our stay we learned that that regular cook was on vacation and her sister, who is not a cook, was filling in. Hopefully this explained why the food was so disappointing.

Alcohol Drinks – Expensive and week. Luckily Paya Bay did not mind if you BYOB. Before arriving at Paya Bay ask your driver (Jose) to stop at the supermarket. Buy some wine, beer & rum and mix your own drinks.

Bugs – Not holding Paya Bay at fault. Bugs (Sand Fleas - “No-See-Ums” & Mosquitoes) of Roatan are vicious and pack a wicked bite. Always wear lots of bug spray, sun screen and buy “No-See-Um” soap from the local soap shop. Avoid wearing perfume or using sweet smelling soaps/shampoo.


Overall:

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Paya Bay. If Paya Bay offered the “two for one special” again and our newly found friends were planning to return we too would return. I would give Paya Bay’s atmosphere 4-stars but Food only 1-star. If the food was better I would return without a doubt and give Paya Bay an overall rating of 4-stars!

Room Tip: For the best views I recommend requesting Cliffside Room #4 or any other Cliffside Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ItisBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roatanguy, General Manager at Paya Bay Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Customer satisfaction is of utmost importance to us here at Paya Bay Resort. The issues raised by this client are being investigated and steps will be taken to rectify procedures as necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roatan hotels
21.9 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
12.4 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
19.0 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
19.0 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Sandy Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
21.7 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paya Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paya Bay Resort

Property: Paya Bay Resort
Address: Main Highway, East End, Roatan 00000, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paya Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paya Bay Beach Resort is Roatan's Ultimate Escape. Located on the pristine east end, it is Roatan's premier boutique hotel. Perched atop a bluff with private beaches on each side, Paya Bay features 10 uniquely designed rooms and an amazing restaurant. Paya Bay's on-site dive operation, Dive Roatan, specializes in underwater tours and training for one to ten divers. Paya Bay also offers: flats fishing, boat tours, hiking and of course relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Paya Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paya Bay Hotel Roatan
Paya Bay Beach Dive Hotel
Paya Bay Beach Dive Resort
Paya Bay Resort Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing