We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paya Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paya Bay Resort
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Manhattan, Kansas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I cannot find a better word to describe here, because everything is just wonderful.
I spent one week here during September. When I got off the van, I was surprised about what I saw, I didn't believe that was real-- the sea was so beautiful and the hotel was just by the sea. Everthing was like in a painting.
The bedrooms are very charming and clean. They are not modern, but unique.
People are very friendly, when I was walking in the resort, everyone was smiling to me and saying hi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wenjinggongzhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    66
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
24
248
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I notice some negative reviews on here but they are from years ago. NOTHING could be farther from the truth presently.
This place is SO beautiful. The color scheme, SO bright and vibrant. The cottages are clean and inviting; the views are incredible. The food is delicious.
You've GOT to take the hiking trails ! The wildlife, the seclusion - TRULY a lover's paradise. And that freshwater pool where surf meets sand - amazing !
Great place for couples, whether you take advantage of the private (clothing optional) beaches or not.
The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful.
We LOVED this place !

Room Tip: They only have 4 ocean view rooms, so book early !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

CAN'T say enough about this place.
The rooms are charming, brightly colored and clean.
The . restaurant is beautiful, the exterior, the motif, the layout...just wonderful.
The beaches ? They have multiple beaches, from the main family beach, to another more private beach (it's the only resort on the island with both European and clothing optional beaches. The freshwater pool at the edge of the surf is a most calming and serene experience.
DON'T FORGET to take the hiking trails, of which there are several, leading to yet more private beaches, a wonderful lagoon, the Yoga trail, all the while joined by a wide variety of wildlife.
Book early because they only have 4 ocean view rooms

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vardit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We spent 2 nights in this delightful place. We stayed in a cliff side room which was exactly that with the ocean crashing on the rocks right below. Paya Bay has maybe one of the nicest beaches in Roatan. It was fabulous. The property also has a swimming lagoon and has numerous trails throughout that take you to some beautiful views. Although there is a clothing optional beach, while we were there everyone was clothed. The owner Lurlene and her sons Davinci and Thomas were so friendly and welcoming. They really made us feel at home. We loved this place. Beautiful and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara94941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

My wife and I spent 7 beautiful days at the resort this past June/July. The property offers the ultimate relaxation as it is at a very serene location away from the hussles of resort places. The meals, from breakfast to dinners, were excellent. We rated them higher than what you get at a 5 star restaurant in the USA! Although the property is not very plush, it offers several amenities, and along with the very friendly and accomodating staff, provides the ultimate place for a very relaxing vacation. If you are after "heavy duty" entertainment, clubing, etc,, this is not the place for you. However, if you want to relax, have some great meals and receive quality service with a smile, this is where you need to be. After seven days in paradise, I was able to handle the most stressfull situation back home with a smile thinking back to my days at Playa Bay Resort. We simply just loved the place.
G & J

Room Tip: Room #4 is a corner room over the cliff with an excellent view. The honeymoon suite is very roomy w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia Springs, Alabama
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Our visit in early May, 2012 was a wonderful experience. The Naturist theme was as promised with CO accepted within the entire resort save for the restaurant. The trails and grounds were a great place to wander and observe. Bliss Beach may be the best CO beach in the Caribbean. The food in the restaurant was cooked to order and very good. We really enjoyed the local, family atmosphere at this off the beaten path gem. They have a great connection for scuba at the nearby Tropical Island Divers.

Room Tip: The cliff rooms are right above the crashing surf and are wonderful. We enjoyed the other rooms as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RalphPeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

I went here to Paya because I had been there before with my family and friends who I took to eat. That's the very first reason I went back, I knew the owners,. They are very hospitable and personable and complements perfectly with their Eco-firendly resort that is just abundat with native trees and wildlife. The chefs are the best and do an awesome job with island and continental cuisine. The hosts/hostesses will make sure every one of your needs ismet. Third, they offer many other amenities like yoga up on a mst beautifual paviion overlooking the bay and Roatan Island. Fourth, Paya Bay was my choice for it is soo secluded and quiet, the idleal place to relax and get away from the hustle and bustle. You can inhale every aroma from nature from the ocean trade winds as the oceanspray hits the cliffs on whcich it is built to the abundant woods and flowers blooming ini its protected gardens. it even has a protected wetlands area. It is a perfect palce for bird-lovers and thowse who just looking to relax. I also likethye resort motly because they are conservatinists and serious abut protecting the environment .

Room Tip: Everything is good. But, it is not a place to go bar hopping, only if you are serious about relaxin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank geotraveler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roatan hotels
21.9 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
19.0 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
12.4 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
21.7 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paya Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paya Bay Resort

Property: Paya Bay Resort
Address: Main Highway, East End, Roatan 00000, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paya Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paya Bay Beach Resort is Roatan's Ultimate Escape. Located on the pristine east end, it is Roatan's premier boutique hotel. Perched atop a bluff with private beaches on each side, Paya Bay features 10 uniquely designed rooms and an amazing restaurant. Paya Bay's on-site dive operation, Dive Roatan, specializes in underwater tours and training for one to ten divers. Paya Bay also offers: flats fishing, boat tours, hiking and of course relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Paya Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paya Bay Hotel Roatan
Paya Bay Beach Dive Hotel
Paya Bay Beach Dive Resort
Paya Bay Resort Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing