We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food, relaxing atmosphere, with friendly staff and owners, in a beautiful setting.”
Review of Mango Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mango Creek Lodge
Ranked #4 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 28, 2011

The super dinners at Mango Creek are prepared in a North American fashion, made with island ingredients.

From your back door or on top of the hiking path Mango Creek has many picturesque views of the historic Port Royal with it clean blue water and tranquil cays.

The property has many varieties of trees and flowers that creates a peaceful and relaxing setting

We explored the reefs and cays around Mango Creek with our hosts who’s knowledge and experience enhanced our underwater adventure. The snorkeling and diving around Port Royal is untouched as it is off the beaten path.

All of the staff including the ground keepers has made ALL of our stays very special

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
Thank interlude_ix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 144 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2011

Second time going and had a great time on both occasions. The kids 22 and 25 went fishing and scuba diving. They also did the shark dive and came back with all body parts intact. All first class food people etc. The fishing was excellent In one day caught 3 permit on the fly rod. Also caught numerous bonefish and tarpon. Very quiet and peaceful Just how I like it. My wife went fishing,kayaking and snorkeling and was able to relax and read her books. If you want a great place to fish and enjoy the sun and the all inclusive food and have peace and quite while doing so this is your place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladydi34singelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

I stayed week before Easter. Only my wife and I and one other couple with two delitefull teenage boys. If you are looking for nite life this is not your place. Peacefull, relaxing, with lots of daytime activities to occupy your time. Fishing witch we did not do but the the man who did seemed pleased, sailing any of the four they have, snorkling with a guide or right off your cabana, or tours of the mangroves and local historical points. They feed you excellently and cater to individual quirks such as my dislike for shrimp resuting in Gabby the cook substituting lobster in my meals. Meals are eaten with the owners giving it the feel of being on a really small cruise ship with the captain and the same small group of people. Should conversation lag just ask Terry or Patrice about their round the world oddessy. All the cabanas are identicle so its just a matter of how close to the dinning room you want to be. Now the knocks, The self service bar had no whiskey, brandy, or unflavored rum, vodka gin and a wonderful local beer, but I would loved to have whipped up some cool tropical drinks but for the whole week I never saw any fruit juices. Lots of fresh fruit some right the tree but no juice to drink.The rooms were clean but looked a bit tired. Bring lots of bug spray as the no'seeums will eat you up if leave the breeze along the water.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank postmanrootriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Mango Creek Lodge is a great place to relax while enjoying diving, snorkeling, sailing, kayaking or fishing. It has the quiet ambiance that my wife and I were looking for. Terry and his staff are always available to assist you in any activity you are ready to try. We particularly enjoyed the friendliness of Terry and his staff. They made us feel like family, almost immediately. The food was terrific, with a hint of island flavor in all of wonderful presentations. The accommodations were clean and nicely decorated. The composting toilets didn't pose any problems, but did take some getting used to, especially the step up.
We recommend a stay at Mango Creek Lodge to anyone who is not interested in crowds and noisy night life.
See my web page at: http://gene8.net//Roatan/Roatan.html
Bring deet for the no-see-ums or they WILL bite you and make you itch! Especially if there is no breeze.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herpman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

We found Mango Creek Lodge on the internet and knew we had found our vacation spot!

We were greeted by the owners, Terry and Patrice so warmly. We felt at home right away. They and their staff were very friendly, hospitable and made sure we were settled in and comfortable.

Our cabana was beautifully decorated, open and airy. It had a fantastic front porch right on the water - complete with a hammock (which is where I spent most of my vacation!).

The food was out of this world!!! My husband did some fishing and said it was absolutely wonderful and peaceful. We had a fantastic time and will return next year!

We have found a little paradise away from home!

Thank you Mango Creek!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stacceee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Early Monday we left for our trip to Mango Creek Lodge. We arrived at Oak Ridge with the rest of our group to travel to Port Royal by boat. Because the wind had been blowing steady from the East for several days, the seas were up. However, Terry brought his large sport fishing boat to transport us more comfortably to the lodge through the rough seas. He is an outstanding captain with a wealth of knowledge of the area. The sun was bright and the water deep blue so it was a glorious day. After checking into the lodge,we took a boat tour with a history lesson on the area with Terry and learned much about the early pirate days. Later, we gathered for a hearty lunch of hamburgers and sides with a to die for cookie in the restaurant and planned on how to spend the rest of the day. A large group of us decided to go to Anne Jennings Browne’s home site at Fort Frederick Key while some took kayaks out to the Cow and Calf cays. We enjoyed hiking through the bush and are still in awe of Anne Jennings staying alone out here for years. The views are just amazing. After our excursions, we relaxed as the sun went behind the hills and our hosts Terry and Patrice joined us to enjoy the view while their staff prepared our dinner. Terry and his staff served a tasty jerk chicken dinner with plenty of tasty side dishes and desert of fresh coconut pie. Yummy! After such busy day we decided to skip a movie (Terry and Patrice have a large selection) and go back to our lodging to relax and enjoy the quiet and the stars. Some folks stayed in cabins over the water others stayed in the lodge but they were all lovely with wonderful carved wood details.
The next morning after a hearty breakfast of pineapple pancakes and Jimmy Dean sausage fresh fruit with freshly brewed coffee and fresh orange juice, we prepared for our mangrove tour and Pigeon Key snorkeling trip. The wind and seas calmed and the sun was shining in a deep blue sky…Perfect! The ride to Pigeon key was fun and we had to take three of the skiffs to accommodate all thirteen of us. It was one of our friends birthday and we planned a picnic lunch on Pigeon Cay complete with champagne and a surprise birthday cake compliments of Mango Creek Lodge. One of the kitchen staff even went with us to help set up and serve! Could you ask for more! One of the boat staff caught a large fish off the beach and several of the guys in the party tried their hands at salt water fly fishing. The staff took us out in the boats to snorkel so we wouldn’t have to swim against the current. That was really nice and made the snorkeling even better.
After our wonderful lunch of curry chicken and salad we enjoyed cake and champagne on the beach. It doesn’t get much better than that…..ever! We relaxed and swam but we eventually had to prepare for our return to Port Royal and then Oak Ridge. We all wished we could have stayed yet another night at Mango Creek and some of our group were already planning to return for another even longer stay. You really have a wonderful, memorable trip when you go to Mango Creek Lodge. Terry, Patrice and their staff provide an excellent experience, with attention to detail in an exceptional environment. I can’t thank them enough.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank summerbreeze2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

It was a wonderful return to Mango Creek Lodge, a favorite place for us. Everything was superb: from meet and greet, location, accommodation, food and the enjoyment of the most interesting historical part of Roatan Island. Terry is the most gracious host and a great guide with his extensive knowledge about the history of the whole region: we could listen to him for hours...
Thank you Terry and Pat for another unforgettable experience at Mango Creek. We look forward to our return.
Claudio, Emiliana

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clamic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roatan hotels
21.4 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
12.0 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
614 reviews
18.7 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
599 reviews
18.8 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
21.3 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Creek Lodge

Address: N/a | Port Royal, Roatan IB3100, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Roatan
Price Range: $338 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Creek Lodge is the premier eco resort of Roatan. Located in secluded Port Royal, Mango Creek Lodge offers superb saltwater fly-fishing, angling, diving, snorkeling, hiking and kayaking in Roatan’s East End. Our over-the-water cabanas offer guests a private piece of paradise. Each cabana is furnished with a queen sized and single bed and opens up onto a private dock overlooking the Caribbean. We offer all inclusive packages and nightly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mango Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Creek Hotel Roatan
Mango Creek Lodge Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing