We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reef House Resort
Nearby Hotels
West Bay Lodge and Spa(West Bay)(Great Value!)
$140
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas(French Harbour)(Great Value!)
$109
$72
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$313
$235
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Splash Inn Dive Resort(West End)(Great Value!)
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Foster's West Bay(West Bay)(Great Value!)
$109
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$378
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $438/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$276
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Beach Hotel(West Bay)(Great Value!)
$203
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$504
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveler rating
181
37
8
8
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
181
37
8
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoak ridgegreat divingboat captainsea horsesdive masternight divelaid backlobsterhonor systemdive siteslion fishserved family stylemoray eelscasual atmospherenight lifesaltwater poolinteresting things
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 236 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2015

We stayed at the reef house for a week during spring break. I wanted to experience two different areas of the islands' diving since we were planning on staying for two weeks. If you're looking for somewhere quiet to relax and dive, this is the place to go. There was only one other couple there while we were there. While you don't get to choose the menu, the food was awesome because it was made fresh for you, almost like a home cooked meal. Only we didn't have to do dishes. It added to the excitement of meal time wondering what it was going to be. We had lobster, ribs, fish, pork and shrimp for supper. Tacos, enchiladas, pasta salad and quesadillas for lunch. My wife appreciated the fresh fruit which we didn't get over on the other side.

The rooms were nice, at least as good as the iberostar resorts we stayed at in Mexico. The buildings seemed a little rundown in the pictures on the internet, but they are much nicer in person.

The diving was quite different than the other side of the island. While the water is choppier here than West Bay, it wasn't bad enough for me to get sick. We saw many neat creatures here that we did not see on the other side, including seahorses and a hammerhead. If you're nice to Davit and Choco, they may even allow you to help out with the lionfish dilemma.

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JonathanE611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2015

Laid back atmosphere, comfortable accommodations, great food. Reasonable rates. Diving and dive crew are outstanding. In mid-March 2015, water was 80 degrees, vis about 65-70 feet, no current. Lazy diving. Green morays, seahorses, an octopus on the night dive, lots of crabs and lobsters, healthy coral and sponges. Didn't see any turtles. Best of all, we didn't run into other groups of divers all week. Davitt and Choco took us to reefs that were in excellent shape and not heavily trafficked. Good size dive boat with canopy, two-sided bench with tank racks in the center, floating wood platform off back for getting back into the boat. AM two-tank dive, afternoon one-tank dive (or night dive). Except for tanks and weights, bring what you need, especially dive lights. They do have some repair equipment, but there is not a dive shop nearby. Davitt did a great job servicing one of our regulators. The resort itself is not fancy, but rooms are clean and complete, and have AC if you need it. Same electrical current/voltage as in the states. Good wi-fi. Very, very comfortable. Owner and staff are mellow and friendly. No sand fleas while we were there. We will dive here again.
US dollars are accepted everywhere, but you might get limpiras in change.
Also, resort is only 5 miles from the Garifuna village of Punta Gorda. Sunday afternoons they have an outdoor drumming and punta dance event that is worth going to see. If history interests you, it is worth looking up the history of the Garifuna people.

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Ziggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2015

This place is a laid back, no frills, on the water relaxing place to stay. It is away from all the noise and loud music on the West end. The guys that own it are super relaxed but willing to help you do whatever you need to enjoy this end of the island. I thought the snorkeling was amazing, the food was plentiful and even with a food allergy they managed to get me what I needed. Don't be shy about asking for something, otherwise they will leave you to enjoy the place on your own. Which is a welcome change from constantly being badgered to buy a drink or whatever at fancier resorts.

Room Tip: The 2 suites have a great view of the ocean and a nice breeze, plus a little larger room.
  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2015

Reef House is a gem hidden in the East End of the island, a haven for divers! Run by Davey, the place has a fabulously chilled atmosphere.

His dive team are the best I have dived with on the island. Choco is a real cheeky chappy but man he works hard. At the end of the dive he will have your gear out of the water and on a fresh tank before you have even managed to get on the boat. Davide's dive brief's are hilarious, 'five hundred feet perhaps eight hundred feet today!' he will tease. When you are in the water his dive profiles are well planned and his eye for the little stuff is unmatched.

The food is consistently delicious, and at the bar I recommend the Mean Jeans! Also don't forget to play a game of cornhole, and watch out for Polly!

Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2015

Paradise for divers, located on a cay off the main island, a short boat trip over. Amazing staff take care of everything for you, always a clean room and fresh cooked food. The diving is exceptional, with an abundance of Moray Eels, and Davit is particularly good at finding sea horses. Stayed for two weeks, had an incredible vacation. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews