We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palmetto Bay Plantation - Perfect For Our Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Resort at Palmetto Bay
Ranked #37 of 42 Hotels in Roatan
Reviewed February 8, 2007

We decided back in August to take a New Years cruise of the Western Caribbean and to get married on the island of Roatan in early January. We did some research on the Internet and made contact with a couple of companies on the island. Quickly, it was apparent after we e-mailed with Cecilia of Palmetto Bay Plantation that this was where we wanted to have our Wedding.

Communication with Cecilia was great and she took care of all of the paperwork, booking the photographer, arranging transportation and the taking care of all the plans on the island. All we had to do was send her the information that is needed to legally perform a wedding in Honduras; along with the payment for everything we wanted.

When our cruise arrived, we (and our two friends) were met at the dock by a driver for the Resort who took us to the other side of the island in a 4X4 truck (necessary after some earlier rain). When we arrived at the Resort, we were met by Cecilia and the photographer (Devon from Roatan Photography who was also excellent!) and led to one of the 3-bedroom house in order to change. (It was a beautiful and we wished we could stay for longer).

The wedding took place on the beach. What an amazing setting! The scenery was great, the officiant was very nice and the resort staff acted as witnesses and brought out champagne for a toast when it was done.

We had our photos taken and enjoyed a quick drink and fruit plate and were then driven back to the dock. It was so quick, but because Cecilia had arranged everything so well, it went off without any problems. Thanks so much to her and the rest of the staff at the Palmetto Bay Plantation.

We definitely want to go back to the resort to spend a week or two in the beautiful and natural environment. Maybe for our 1st Anniversary...if not sooner!!!

Thank G&JBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 418 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2007

Our family of five stayed at Palmetto Bay this last December for seven nights. I have to say, we had the best time, and we thought the place was great! We had booked early and specified a bungalow on the beach (there are only a couple of them). We stayed in Hibiscus A1. It had a huge porch, with great chairs and table and a hammock. We spent alot time out there. It was such a beautiful view! The lighting at the resort is beautiful with little lights in the sand and lighted pathways to your assorted houses. Also a guard is on the beach at night and will shine his flashlight to help you see as you cross a bridge over a stream that cuts through the beach. Very charming!
Cecilia and Maureen were fantastic and very helpful with anything we asked or needed. We also spent a good amount of time at their bar-loved the bartenders and waitresses. Not one person could have been any nicer or more pleasant!
The food was good. (Service is really slow however! You can never be in a hurry at either breakfast or lunch!) We ate most meals there at night because the roads going to the other towns are alittle rough-but once we got used to them, we did go into the West End and West Bay for dinner a few times.
Our beach was very pretty, you could take a long walk either direction.
We used their dive shop-great dives. We hired a boat and guide for the week-and did not catch one fish!! We did sport, reef and flats fishing for bones. Not a fish! Alttle disapointing, but the boat rides were fun.
Our house had a kitchen, dining area, sitting area ,three bedrooms and two baths. Perfect. The sitting area furniture was not very comfortable, but we didn't sit inside much-so it was fine.
The only thing that was bothersome was the mosquitos or sand fleas-whatever they were-I was the only really bothered by them, although everyone did get bitten. The only thing that keeps them away is a product with DEETin it. The other picaridin or cactus juice didn't work.
We loved coming back to Palmetto after a day away-the other areas were so crowded. Our was very low key and laid back , but fun-not boring. Loved it! Highly recommend It!
Also New Years Eve was a blast! Great food, DJ, fire dancers, champagne-great cocktails and bar food! Thought our kids (early 20's) would want to go into West End to party-not at all-had a fabulous time at our spot!!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Stape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2007

We stayed at a private rental house on the grounds of Palmetto Bay for two weeks. The house itself was really nice, as were our wonderful neighbors. Palmetto Bay, however, is another matter.

The access is only for the adventurous. We had a 4-wheel drive Suzuki so we didn't have problems, but I would not go there without a 4-WD. It was about a 15 minute drive from French Harbor and around 30 minutes to the West End. This made it tough to go out for dinner, except for at the resort, so we cooked in most of the time. The grocery store in French Harbor is actually pretty good.

The first night we arrived, we had dinner at the resort. We were not greeted by anyone, but rather left to wander around and figure out on our own that we were to join people at a large table. We were never given a bill, either - more on that below. Dinner consisted of chicken, rice, vegetables, salad and dessert. For this we were charged $40 PER PERSON - not including drinks. Christmas Eve dinner was a bit more elaborate, but still... $50 per person for a buffet with four items and turkey???? We also felt that the staff was indifferent, distant and not very helpful.

The beach has about 3 rickety chairs. The dock was nice, but the hammocks (all 2 of them) were always in use. The water was not particularly clear and you had to enter off the dock unless you wanted to walk through turtle grass. There were many, many insects, too.

We had intended to walk down and settle our bill prior to checkout; however, about two days before our departure someone visited our house from the resort and requested that we sign a blank credit card slip - this before we even knew the charges. We didn't feel that this was right, and, when we did find out what the charges were, we were appalled.

Bottom Line: If you enjoy the remoteness (which we did), like adventure and don't mind cooking in - go. Otherwise, choose another place. There are many beautiful places to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RandBAdventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2007

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BlueSkyColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2006

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank gokatgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2006

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jacquisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Alexandria, VA, USA
113
Reviewed June 21, 2006

Stayed: April 2006
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roatan hotels
2.0 mi away
Barefoot Cay Resort
Barefoot Cay Resort
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
619 reviews
9.0 mi away
Xbalanque Resort
Xbalanque Resort
#6 of 14 in West Bay
151 reviews
9.8 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Blue Bahia Resort
Blue Bahia Resort
#5 of 5 in Sandy Bay
213 reviews
1.8 mi away
Las Verandas Hotel & Villas
Las Verandas Hotel & Villas
#3 of 5 in French Harbour
137 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pristine Bay Resort
Pristine Bay Resort
#24 of 42 in Roatan
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Palmetto Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Palmetto Bay

Address: | Carretera Ms Vecinal, Palmetto Bay, Crawfish Rock, Roatan IB3100, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Roatan
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Roatan
Hotel Class:4 star — The Resort at Palmetto Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort at Palmetto Bay is a natural paradise situated on a sparkling bay, surrounded by a coral reef. Pristine beaches friendly faces and rhythm that allow you to appreciate the natural beauty are your constant companions. From our white sand beach, you can walk for miles and not encounter "modern civilization". See why so many people have chosen to make Palmetto Bay Plantation their vacation destination and why seven major television shows have filmed programs at our resort including "Temptation Island" on Fox TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Resort at Palmetto Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmetto Bay Plantation Roatan
The Resort At Palmetto Bay Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing