We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid Back Caribbean Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Resort at Palmetto Bay
Ranked #36 of 40 Hotels in Roatan
San Salvador, El Salvador
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Laid Back Caribbean Honeymoon”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

If you are looking for a off the road place to get away, go to Palmetto Bay. They have spectacular staff (kudos to Emily and Eric) with beautiful reefs for snorkeling/diving two minutes out. The villas are well equipped, clean, and very peaceful.

We got there mid-week and it was quite tranquil. We had a bit more people on the weekend, but nothing like the big resorts on the other side of the island. Pre-order your lunch and dinner and the food will be ready for you on time. Stop by the supermarket with the driver on your way in and you can get pretty much anything you need to complement eating at the restaurant.

The bugs are a force to be reckoned with but just wear bugspray and long sleeves/pants after 4pm (I have lived here for years and it is the only failsafe option). Try to stay inside around dusk and inside screened areas or around the main lodge afterwards where you can find a nice sea breeze.

Room Tip: Some rooms are part of one large villa split into two. If not being near anyone is a big problem for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnthonyPriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    83
    33
    20
    29
See reviews for
119
154
20
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We spent 8 days here in the Coconut Villa and loved it. Yes, it is a little out of the way and down a dirt road but out of the way is what we like. I would suggest a car. We had a 4 wheel drive and there were no problems. The villa itself was a beautiful Balinese style. It was well appointed with everything you need, comfy beds, and a perfect size plunge pool in front. The beach is beautiful with soft white sand but unfortunately the water is full of sea grass so we didn't swim off the beach but there is a dock with a large palapa and 4 hammocks and a swimmimg platform a short swim away. We spent most of our time at our pool or on the swim platform. We went diving and snorkling with the dive shop there a few times and they were great. Very knowledgable and professional. Snorkle the wreck . It is AWESOME. The food was quite good and the service was great. (I didn't enjoy the buffets so much but they only have those for breakfast on the week ends.) I found the staff to be so friendly. The waiters and bartenders were great !! Cecelia and the rest of the staff were attentive to our every need. If we asked for something they got right on it. The bugs are a part of Roatan and i must say I have never seen such voracious ones and you never saw them !! 99% deets didn't work that great on them but I did find a natural spray at the pharmacy that was citronella and it worked great. The bites themselves itch for weeks but we got some atarax from the pharmacy and it stopped the itch immediately. We loved Palmetto Bay and felt very safe there and had a wonderful stay there. The Coconut Villa could use a hammock though but I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara94941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very fare from anything and it takes 39 minut to get to the hotel ón a dirt road which in the rainy season makes it very difficult to get to and from the hotel. Our house rigth ón the Beach was beautiful with our own littel swimmingpool. Which was really good since the Beach is not very inviting due to seaweet and the main swimmingpool serveral days occupied with divers. The resturant extremly slow - up to one hour to serve dinner and breakfast. All in All In a hotel that mainly caters to surfers.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karpatschof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyoke, Massachusetts, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My wife and I went to Palmetto Bay for our honeymoon last week and we had a great time!
when we arrived cecilia greeted us with a big smile and drinks, and then showed us to our villa and it was beautiful we stayed at the "Casa Sun Burst" it was even better than we saw on the web site and the it's probably the only villa that gives you free air conditioner and direct tv. The staff was pretty awesome, they would go out of there way whenever you asked them for something. The dive shop and the people that work in it were so great! and most of the time it felt like we had a private house on our own private beach. however it wasnt perfect, the bugs were brutal! if you dont have good bug spray you will be eaten alive. The food was a hit or miss, sometimes it was good and other times not so great. They would bring us breakfast to our private pool side deck which was great but a few times they were late bringing us breakfast. sometimes they would run out of food, and they wouldnt get it back for a few days. all in all it was a great vacation we really enjoyed ourselves. we did the honeymoon package and all the activites they planned for us were wonderfull. I highly recommend you do scuba diving at the local dive shop and swimming with dolphines at anthonys key, it was a very nice resort and i would reccomend it for anyone who wants privacey on there vacation and dont like big crowds and crazy night life.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This was a great destination site for getting away from the daily grind. It is definitely remote -- We rented a car and had to drive about 15 minutes from the main road down either of two dirt roads. They provide transportation, but we wanted the option of having a car. We actually had an awesome time careening down dirt roads, dodging cows and dogs.
Rate was reasonable, but there was no air conditioning and the walls are thin so you can hear your neighbors and other wildlife that happens to wake up early. We had 3 bedrooms 2 baths and a full kitchen. Since we had our car we were able to go to the market several times and cook a lot of our meals. There is only one restaurant on site. The food tasted good, but service was extremely slow.
Also, we looked all over the island for fresh fish to cook, but to our disappointment could only find frozen fish.
There is a semi-private beach on the grounds with kayaks and snorkeling gear available for guests. We kayaked to a shipwreck about 1-2 miles away and had one of the best snorkeling experiences ever!
There are few tourists and a great scuba company right on site which was key. Overall, we had a great trip and recommend it to anyone looking for this type of experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JTML777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Preparing a wedding with the bride in Denmark and the groom in mainland Honduras, while at the same time incorporating the different country's traditions into the wedding was a pretty big challenge for us, but with the help of Cecilia Mendez, a very competent and professional wedding coordinator our wedding turned out to be exactly what we hoped for and more! She was on top of every little detail and made sure everything was thought of. We had a beautiful ceremony at the private beach on a sunny Saturday afternoon in February 2012, with an acoustic guitar playing for the walk down the aisle, an amazing photographer, who made sure our pictures were ready on a dvd before we left the island the week after, and Cecilia even made sure to have an wonderful hair and make up artist, Destiny, at the resort, who made the bride look her best ever! The food was delicious. Everybody should have a taste of the coconut shrimp appetizers!
We are looking forward to doing the whole thing over on our 25th wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lafirstlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Having sailed the entire Caribbean on our own boat for six years, from the Bahamas to Venezuela, we have pretty much seen the best and the worst of all island resorts. However, we had never visited Roatan. When we chose Palmetto Bay Plantation we wanted something more remote, off the beaten path, beautiful and romantic. Well, we got all that and more. From manager Cecilia to Erick, Ivan, Maritsa, chef Magenta, and all the other friendly staffmembers, we were treated as family for our entire 10 day stay in as friendly a manner as anyone could wish for. Great food, drinks, live music, tropical atmosphere, and the best chicken wings on the island! Other reviewers have provided information about everything PBP will do or schedule for you, so no need to duplicate. We had a marvelous stay in a Fiji, Bali, or Bora Bora type setting you just have to see to believe. More than anything you will return, as others have said. We will. Count on it. We now consider Palmetto Bay Plantation as our best vacation ever.
Scott and Shirley Williams

Room Tip: Tell Cecilia exactly what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roatan hotels
9.0 mi away
Xbalanque Resort
Xbalanque Resort
#7 of 14 in West Bay
138 reviews
2.0 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
594 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pristine Bay Resort
Pristine Bay Resort
#26 of 40 in Roatan
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Upachaya Eco-Lodge
Upachaya Eco-Lodge
#2 of 51 in Roatan
138 reviews
3.2 mi away
Las Verandas Hotel & Villas
Las Verandas Hotel & Villas
#3 of 5 in French Harbour
120 reviews
5.9 mi away
Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Resort at Palmetto Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Palmetto Bay

Property: The Resort at Palmetto Bay
Address: | Carretera Ms Vecinal, Palmetto Bay, Crawfish Rock, Roatan IB3100, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Roatan
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Roatan
Hotel Class:4 star — The Resort at Palmetto Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort at Palmetto Bay is a natural paradise situated on a sparkling bay, surrounded by a coral reef. Pristine beaches friendly faces and rhythm that allow you to appreciate the natural beauty are your constant companions. From our white sand beach, you can walk for miles and not encounter "modern civilization". See why so many people have chosen to make Palmetto Bay Plantation their vacation destination and why seven major television shows have filmed programs at our resort including "Temptation Island" on Fox TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Resort at Palmetto Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmetto Bay Plantation Roatan
The Resort At Palmetto Bay Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing