We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two awesome people and a gem of a yacht” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zeppelin Dive & Sail - Day Tours

Zeppelin Dive & Sail - Day Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Zeppelin Dive & Sail is the Caribbean’s premier sailing and diving experience, providing private all-inclusive sailing and diving vacations on a 47 foot luxury sailing yacht with exceptional service. We offer sailing day tours around Roatan and scuba diving day excursions along with special day trip packages for cruise ship passengers.
Roatan, Honduras
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two awesome people and a gem of a yacht”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Met team zeppelin in Isla Mujeres MX, while managing a small resort,I didn't know who I was encountering. I can tell you as person who has travelled and worked all over the world and have met so many people ,TripAdvisor folks, these people are the salt of the earth.
You Cant ask for better people to host your trip,
Zeppelin is a floating museum she is gorgeous.
Ms Elliy's cooking is the best im sure she adds love as a secret ingredient ,
Wayne and Ms Elly are kind ,caring and a asset to Roatan and the underwater world.
I realy cant say enough about these folk.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keizer, Oregon
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Exquisite attention to detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I spent a day with Wayne and Ellie, which included two dives and a wonderful snorkeling opportunity near French Key. They provided fruit, coffee and cookies in the morning, a delicious and healthful lunch, and wine with cheese at sunset aboard their beautiful sailboat. Our Canadian hosts were knowledgeable about the marine life, fully equipped with quality dive gear, and accommodated every need. We are looking forward to receiving the photos that Ellie took of our undersea adventures.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KelliMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne S, Owner at Zeppelin Dive & Sail - Day Tours, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you very much Kelli & Steve for joining us on Zeppelin and for your kind words. We thoroughly enjoyed the day diving & snorkeling with you & are glad to hear that you enjoyed yourselves as well. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Like having your own yacht!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Zeppelin focuses on very personalized sailing trips (max of 6), so it feels like you've got your own sailboat with crew to wait on you. We went out on a 1/2 day sail with just 3 of us. We lounged in the sun on the front deck, and got served fresh baked muffins and cookies, and fresh fruit, while enjoying the ocean breeze. We got a tour around the boat- the interior looks amazing, lots of very pretty detail (they do overnight trips for a couple nights or even a week at a time- I think that would be a great trip to take!).
We had an incredible time, and would love to go back!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hostelMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne S, Owner at Zeppelin Dive & Sail - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hello hostelMel,

Thank you for your positive review & kind words, coming from another tourism industry professional makes them even more valuable to us. It was a pleasure having you & the other girls on board and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unforgettable experience with 2 great hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I were in Roatan for a week in July and wanted to do a sunset sail. We decided on Zeppelin so that we could get a private experience with dinner and not just be part of a large booze cruise. We basically expected a nice little sail trip with a few drinks and a thrown together meal, followed by being rushed off of the boat as soon as the sun went down. Boy were we wrong.

We chose the route the starts on the south side of the island and ends near West End (I highly recommend this over just hanging out on the north and west sides of the island as the south side is a beautiful site from the boat). From the get go Wayne and Elly were extremely hospitable. We started with a tour of the boat and an interesting lesson on how everything worked. We then settled in some comfy chairs on the bow for the trip to our dinner spot. We had our choice of drinks and Elly started bringing snacks right away. After a beautiful trip up the coast, we anchored in a spot protected from the wind. What followed was a night we will never forget. We had course after course of absolutely delicious food including a cheese and meat plate, crab dip, hummus, wedge salad, the best lobster tail I have ever had, and then crepes for dessert (and I am probably even forgetting something). On top of that, anything we wanted to drink they brought immediately, including a fairly expensive bottle of French wine (we had a choice of several). All of this was by candlelight on a very comfortable table. It was a meal fit for a five star restaurant, and it was obvious they had put hours of effort into it.

Wayne and Elly were very good about giving us privacy during dinner, but after we were done they came up with some more drinks and we talked for a couple of hours under the stars. It was like sitting with old friends and it was very interesting hearing about their adventures sailing all over the world. They were in no rush to get us off their boat, so it was a very relaxing night. When the night was over, they took us by dive boat right to the dock of our hotel. However, this is not where the hospitality ended. We had mentioned during the night that we were interested in doing a hike through the jungle, but couldn't find information on a good trail. Elly, out of pure friendliness, set up a guide for us the next day for a trail near Paya Bay. They wanted us to have a great vacation, not just a great trip with them.

Long story short, this was an amazing experience and a must do in Roatan! We don't dive, but it sounds like they are extremely knowledgeable about the best sites on the island and how to avoid other people, and I would imagine that they would be just as hospitable on a dive trip. We would book with them again in a heartbeat!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kdavies6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne S, Owner at Zeppelin Dive & Sail - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hi kdavies6,

Thank you for your kind words and excellent review, you had us blushing! We always strive to provide the best service & most enjoyable experience that we can and it is very gratifying to know that our guests appreciate our efforts. We look forward to your return to Roatan and showing you even more of our beautiful island, may be we can even get you under the water next time! Best wishes and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One special day on board the Zeppelin...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I (Nina and Holger) had planned a cruise through the Western Carribean for months. As we are from Germany, we love it a little more private on the shore excursions and so we decided to book a four hour trip with Wayne and Elly on board their sailing ship !!!

I had planned something very special for that day and on board the Zeppelin decided that it was the perfect place, the most amazing atmosphere and probably the most romantic scenery you could imagine to propose to the love of my life!

Nina and me were completely on our own and always had everything we needed on board that wonderful ship! We enjoyed every second of the trip!!! Elly and Wayne are the best hosts you can wish for! A lovely couple and time just flew by!

Unfortunetely we had to leave after four hours but our recommendation for everybody who can stay longer: DO IT!!! Enjoy the beauty of Roatan, relax on the Zeppelin and just spend the time of your life there!!! They also offer trips that last a couple of days!

Nina of course said YES and I can't wait to make her my wife and probably return to Roatan one day...!

THANK YOU ELLY AND WAYNE !!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Holger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne S, Owner at Zeppelin Dive & Sail - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hello Holger S,

Thank you for your excellent review, it was a total pleasure having you and Nina on board Zeppelin with us. Our day with you was the most special day that we have had with our guests, thank you so much for sharing your amazing day with us. It was such a joy to see the happiness on both your and Nina's face when you proposed and she accepted, and what a surprise for us all! We hope that you enjoyed the pictures that we took of the wonderful moment and hope to see you again soon. Who knows, perhaps a Caribbean honeymoon? All our best wishes to you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zeppelin Dive & Sail - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Zeppelin Dive & Sail - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing