We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Cool....”
Review of Roatan Helicopter Tours - CLOSED

Roatan Helicopter Tours
Attraction details
West End, Roatan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pretty Cool....”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Great was to see the island. If you're lucky, Antonio can also set it up where you can jump from the helicopter into deep blue water. If you ever want to cross out "Jumping out of Helicopter" off of your bucket list, this is the way to go!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    0
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
roatan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“fantastic experience”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Having done some hiking in Pico Bonito Park we decided to take advantage of this new service and get a view from the air of this amazing landscape; we were not disappointed, Realizing the severity of the landscape we were going to be flying over, this was not a decision I took lightly. Prior to booking the flight I had the chance to ask the pilot, Derrick many questions about his experience level and the machine's specifications. On the day of the flight we left before 7 to beat the clouds from forming. With full fuel tanks the third passenger was pushing us right to the limits weight wise, but we performed some test maneuvers and were underway. The view of that park from a helicopter is well worth the time and expense of getting there. One mile from La Ceiba you have literally entered a lost world. You are surrounded by peaks soaring to over a mile above you and at times can see upwards of 20 waterfalls coming off the shear cliffs all around you. This experience is unlike anything else you can do- to my knowledge - anywhere else in the world. Sure you can take a helicopter ride in Hawaii near jungle watefalls- but are you surrounded by 7,000 foot mountains and are there countless jaguars roaming below? Towards the end of the trip the aircraft had a slight mechanical failure, the pilot stayed calm, landed, and just to play it safe the company sent another aircraft all the way from San Pedro to get us back to Roatan in a timely manner. Professional service delivering a great product.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank subkarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An awesome helicopter tour”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I took off from Little French Key for a 15-20 minute tour...FANTASTIC way to see the beauty of the island and reef. My husband liked it so much, he went for a second flight. Staff was very informative and conscientious of passenger safety and apprehensions (MUCH appreciated). So glad I did this tour with this company! Cannot say enough about the helicopter tour or Little French Key - both are a "MUST" if you visit Roatan...Made it a magical day!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank GoGatorsGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitanD, Pilot at Roatan Helicopter Tours, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
So good hear we were able to enhance your great experience here in Roatan. Please come back and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Find!”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Incredible views and the most friendly and professional staff I have ever experienced. Our pilot Derek was great. He made for a fun and informative flight. Antonio kept us all informed and made the whole experience smooth and allowed what was a very large group all get the opportunity to ride. This was a first time for my 16 year old son and he was thrilled. We made a great video of the ride around Roatan and even got to fly near our cruise ship. (be sure to have a video or still camera!)Thanks to both Derek and Anotonio for making a incredible day at Frenchy Key and even more spectacular one! Bruce H-

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitanD, Pilot at Roatan Helicopter Tours, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Bruce, thanks so much for the review. The experience of seeing beautiful Roatan by helicopter is amazing, glad we were able to share it with you and your son.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a View!”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We couldn't have asked for better customer service and friendly staff. We wanted to see more of the island and Antonio and Derek were more than willing to fill our thirst to see more of Roatan. The ride was the ultimate helicopter ride. This fabulous aerial perspective was a great compliment to our terrific diving experiences below. I highly recommend this experience. This could be heaven on earth!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roatan Helicopter Tours also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing