We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNEXPECTEDLY BEAUTIFUL!”

Blue Harbor Tropical Arboretum
Ranked #26 of 74 things to do in Roatan
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Blue Harbor Tropical Arboretum is home to Roatan's most exotic tropical gardens and some amazing hiking trails. Featuring the only commercial hydroponic lettuce farm in the Caribbean, exotic tropical fruit trees, large orchid collection, heliconia gardens and a conservatory with an indoor waterfall surrounded by lush tropical plants. Enjoy our pond with several varieties of aquatic birds. Breathe deep and take in nature at Roatan's tropical Eden covering over 150 acres.
Roatan, Honduras
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“UNEXPECTEDLY BEAUTIFUL!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had the pleasure to " discover " this tropical garden and farm in an island better known for its spectacular reef, beaches, turquoise sea, diving and snorkeling.
We shared the passion of the managers Ana and Boyd, guiding us through the gardens , admired the art in composing conservatories and the wonderful waterfall.
We enjoyed their knowledge of tropical horticulture and their eco-friendly sensitivity. This beautiful Farm also improves the island natural resources , providing education using sustainable agricultural methodologies.

We spent a lovely morning and ended up in the colorful and comfortable covered porch with a cold Margarita prepared to perfection and a lovely lunch of freshly picked salads and delicious sandwiches.
It was an educational, fun day in a magic environment : we are grateful to Ana, Boy and Helen for their excellent hospitality .

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Clamic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    16
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful, educational,historical tour”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We opted to be picked up at the cruise terminal, not knowing our way around Roatan. Ana, the lady who drove us, was a fountain of information on the way to the Arboretum and back, giving us the history of the harbors, the development of Roatan, her own history, and history of the Arboretum; and a "local" tour as well of the West End and Half Moon Bay area.The Arboretum itself is a wonder of beautiful cultivation and a classroom in itself. Helen, our Arboretum guide, was a great teacher, introducing us to the tropical plants, many of which we had never heard of, explaining their origin and growth cycles and treating us to samples of their fruit. We "met" many plants and trees we never knew existed, and at the end of the tour were given delicious samples of several of the fruits grown there. If only they could grow up North!
The tour goes through an exotic greenhouse and through rows and rows of trees and plants outside as well. There is a breezy little shelter next to where you park, with soda and water for sale and a place to sit and enjoy the fruit samples you are given. There is also a handy, immaculate restroom, always a plus for us as we grow older.
The tour costs a reasonable $15 per person, and same goes for the ride in a clean, air-conditioned van.Our reservations were handled promptly and professionally online from home before we left.
When we asked Ana if she conducts tours of Roatan as well, she said that she does, half-day and full-day tours, price and destination depending on the interests of the tourists. Thanks to TripAdvisor, we found this gem of a place.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ierelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The highlight of our cruise”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Helen, our guide for the Arboretum, was the best. Extremely knowledgeable about the plant life and the island culture, she shared information gladly. Although the tour of the grounds, which were far larger than we expected, was supposed to be around an hour, Helen, originally from the States, answered all of our questions and interjected a few anecdotes of her own, leisurely led us through the grounds for over 2 hours. We had to have our island tour guide remind us of the time or it would probably have been more. Helen was a delight. The plants, trees and wildlife, including a Guinea Hen named Dawdee were all in good hands under her care. She obviously loved what she did and her enthusiasm was contagious. She was patient, allowing us to take many, many pictures and answering every question we had. Her own story was a good one so don't leave until she tells you how she moved to the islands. Worth every penny we paid ($15 per person) and then some. If you are going to Roatan, this is a must !!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“exotic, hydroponic, tropic”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I agree with other recent reviews: certainly an unique and lovely place. And they have recently opened a sandwich smoothie shop: an opportunity to try a smoothie from one of those fabulous tropical fruits whose name you have never heard of and will never remember but with an overwhelming dose of antioxidants and other good stuff. There is a somewhat irritating guinea hen named Helen who will follow you around--not to be confused with the tour guide of the same name.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank pnc47292019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our all-time favorite shore excursion”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

My wife and I are in our 60s and always try to learn about the places we visit while avoiding strenuous activities. We decided to give the BHTA tour a try based on Tripadvisor reviews and hit paydirt with this shore excursion! We confirmed an appointment online and everything couldn't have gone better! Transportation was $15 each, and the tour cost us $23 each for a total of $76. Ana met us as arranged and conducted a very informative private tour of the hydroponics facilities. Helen then showed us through the arboretum and orchards, explaining everything and answering all our questions. Both ladies couldn't have been more hospitable and we never felt hurried or herded.. Ana taught us a lot about Roatan, its climate, government and economy, and the culture of its inhabitants during the drive to and from the cruise ship. She even stopped at a store so we could buy something we needed, totally unrelated to the tour. We had such a wonderful, relaxing afternoon! I highly recommend this tour!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Harbor Tropical Arboretum also viewed

 

Been to Blue Harbor Tropical Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing