We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience...must see!”

Blue Harbor Tropical Arboretum
Ranked #26 of 73 things to do in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Blue Harbor Tropical Arboretum is home to Roatan's most exotic tropical gardens and some amazing hiking trails. Featuring the only commercial hydroponic lettuce farm in the Caribbean, exotic tropical fruit trees, large orchid collection, heliconia gardens and a conservatory with an indoor waterfall surrounded by lush tropical plants. Enjoy our pond with several varieties of aquatic birds. Breathe deep and take in nature at Roatan's tropical Eden covering over 150 acres.
Sugar Land, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great experience...must see!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We arrived into Mahogany Bay in Roatan from a Princess cruise ship and were provided very clear instructions on how to meet up with Ana, the GM who was already waiting for us. She took us to the arboretum and told us about the history of the island and BHTA during the trip. The actual tour of the arboretum was done by Helen who was extremely knowledgeable and passionate about the entire arboretum. She showed us the hydroponics and was able to answer every one of our many questions thoroughly. We then got to see their aviary and animal sanctuary with tropical birds, iguanas, and other native animals. She then took us to the ornamental garden which was landscaped with exotic plants from all over the world. A lot of them we had never heard of, and some were common like vanilla, black pepper, etc yet very interesting to see how they're actually grown and harvested. We then moved on to the orchards which had countless varieties of fruits, and Helen was extremely knowledgeable about every tree and type of fruit. You could tell that she is heavily involved with the hydroponics, ornamental garden, and orchards every single day. She has a wealth of knowledge and is not just tour guide - she is very hands on and involved with the development of the hydroponics, ornamentals, and orchards. At the end, we got to taste the "Mata Sabor" which is a crazy experience. After we ate it, she cut up an un-ripe lime for us to try, and it tasted as sweet as a Sonic Limeade...incredible! At the end of the tour of the arboretum, we paid a little extra for a tour around the island and Ana showed us several attractions - not just the touristy beaches. You can also tell that Ana is incredibly involved in the local community and cares a lot about Roatan and making it a great place for locals and tourists. Every where we went, people knew Ana and would greet her by name, and she knew the ins and outs of the whole island both from the tourism perspective and the perspective of a local. Both Helen and Ana were extremely knowledgeable and gracious and we had a wonderful experience at BHTA. Definitely recommended and a great value, too!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank omaoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    16
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
193 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Out of the way but WORTH IT!!!!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

You have got to experience this. Ask for Helen she is very knowledgeable, personable and fun. This tour is out of the way but well worth the $18 per person fee. Because it is relatively unknown the tour is essentially private but with word of mouth that will change. The facility is huge and the hydroponic part is very educational and interesting. The roaming animals are hilarious. The flowers and fruits are amazing and the fruit tasting is, well, tasty.

DO THIS!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tammir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very interesting experience”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

On Dec. 6, 2013 Ana, the managing director of BHTA waited for the two of us outside the Cruise Port and drove us to this little paradise, where we met Helen, our most knowledgeable guide. She showed us first the greenhouse where all the hydroponic plants (lettuce, herbs, tomatoes etc.) are cultivated in a most extraordinary way. Then she showed us around the vast orchard/ park where many tropical (fruit-)trees grow and where we could taste various fruits, some of which we had not even ever heard the name, let alone tasted them. She also had us taste a fruit called "Mata Savor" - a very interesting fruit and a funny experience too. But find out for yourself what it is all about. There is also a beautiful conservatory with many exotic plants and flowers and even a waterfall. We also met the animals who live on the grounds such as many various ducks, birds, a squirrel and some more or less friendly cats.
At the end Ana took over again and gave us a tour of the eastern part of the island, showing us various points of interest and giving us a lot of Information.
Alltogether, we received much more as we expected and would very much like to thank Ana and Helen again for their warm welcome and hope that many people will find their way to the Blue Harbour Tropical Arboretum as it's really worthwile visiting.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburndale, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Roatans GEM and SANCTUARY”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

After reading comments on Trip Advisor we decided to visit Blue Harbor Tropical Arboretum on our Cruise Ship stop in Roatan. We were picked up at the Pier by Ana, General Manager of the Arboretum, taking us through Roatan with a smile and delightful History lesson. After arrival at Blue Harbor Ana explained the workings of the Hydroponic Lettuce and Herb farming. Simply fantastic operation.
We then were turned over to Helen who is in charge of the Arboretum leading us on a lovely Garden Path lined with Tropical Plants to the Arboretum and explaining all the fauna in it.
What a treat it was to also be guided to all the different species of Fruit trees on the Farm,even allowing us to sample some.What a treat!
At the end of the Tour Ana gave us a special ride back to the Cruise Ship to parts of the Island we would have otherwise not seen and continuing in her ever so caring way to share her Bay Island History with us.
What a wonderful Day spent away from the maddening Cruise Ship Crowd.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Floridays2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siberian District, Russia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A.M.A.Z.I.N.G.”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We are so glad we found this place on Trip Advisor. If you are still thinking what to do in Roatan this is the place. Even driving through the island's dump to get there was totally worth it! Exceptionally well kept place, great tour guide/head gardener - a very knowledgeable lady from the US who's been living in Roatan for a while and literally is pouring her soul into the arboretum and hydroponic herb garden at Blue Harbor. And they have super friendly birds, iguanas and a rock start squirrel there as well! Time well spent, and we learnt a lot, our friends were with a 7-year old and she enjoyed every minute of the visit!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Begemoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Harbor Tropical Arboretum also viewed

 
Roatan, Bay Islands
Roatan, Bay Islands
 

Been to Blue Harbor Tropical Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing