We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CARNIVAL CRUISING????? DO THIS!!!! It's AMAZING. Period.”
Review of Little French Key

Little French Key
Ranked #2 of 78 things to do in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to our Private Island Retreat......Best Moments....Both eco friendly and mystical, this place is built with kindness to the environment and people in mind, Little French Key is where you get back to your essence. Roatan is an uncommon place to rejuvenate physically, mentally and spiritually. .Join us for some of the best moments of your life.....
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were on the Carnival Conquest. We walked over the infamous hill that takes you out of the safety zone of Carnival's Mahogany Bay and into the perilous Honduran countryside. (Carnival warns you about doing this, saying they cannot protect you if you leave**ridiculous) We had ZERO problems finding our driver. The other parties getting in the van with us were running behind, so instead of making our group of 4 wait, the OWNER of Little French Key came and picked us up withing 20 mins of debarking. Impressive. As the others have said, this place is paradise. The reef we snorkled is hands down one the best in the world. Moray eels, fan coral, brain coral, every coral you can imagine and FISH. Everywhere. The most beautiful fish! It's like swimming in your own personal aquarium! Back on the island, the lunch we were served was delicious. The frozen "monkelatas" were yummy and I probably should not have drank the last 5:) I got to hold Rico, the horney little spider monkey, who was quite fiesty, buy adorable, and an experience I'll never forget. BOTTOM LINE. Many cruisers wonder if they should go on an excursion that is not CARNIVAL insured.... I want to just say..... YES. You should. And this is the place to do it. They will do whatever it takes to make sure you are on the boat in time for departure. (we actually shook it up a bit and paid an employee to take us back by speed boat. He dropped us off 100 feet from the dock, James Bond style!) Don't miss out on Little French Key. This family run business is top notch. Thanks guys!

13  Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlefrenchkey, Owner at Little French Key, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thanks for your kind words and blessings....The photos you haven taken are truly amazing......We are very glad that you all enjoyed all aspects of your visit and our Private Island Resort. As a newly established Private Island Resort and Restaurant we are so grateful for your positive review and positive comments. Its people like you who make us.......Thank you.

Our Mission is your utter enjoyment and we are so very glad to see that we are on track with this Mission. and you really enjoyed your time with us. God Bless all of you and we are so very happy and excited to see that we have shared some of your great moments and time well spent in enjoyment. Thank you for your visit.:) .Management Team at Little French Key and Frenchy's 44.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,485 - 2,489 of 2,735 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

Twelve of us recently visited Little French Key, and we have not stopped talking about the wonderful time we had there. We were welcomed by the owners and staff, and felt like family by the time we left. The food was fantastic and so were the monkey la-las!!!!! The grounds were beautiful and well kept - all in all it was a paradise and an unforgettable day! Do not hesitate to include Little French Key in your plans. Snorkeling was great too!

1  Thank 123Trish16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlefrenchkey, Owner at Little French Key, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thanks for your kind words and blessings....As a newly established Private Island Resort and Restaurant we are so grateful for your positive review ¨Wonderful time in Little French Key¨ and positive comments. Thank you.

Our Mission is your utter enjoyment and we are so very glad to see that we are on track with this Mission. and you really enjoyed your time with us. God Bless all of you and we are so very happy and excited to see that we have shared some of your great moments and time well spent in enjoyment. Thank you for your visit.:) .Management Team at Little French Key and Frenchy's 44.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We visited Little French Key on Oct 4, 2012. It was truly a tranquil and serene paradise! The service was fantastic. You can kayak and snorkel, float around on chairs or sit under a cabana and relax and soak in the view! We were served a surf & turf lunch which boasts of caribbean flavors. The "milky" drink was YUMMY! ..... If you are looking to get away from the cruise crowd, I recommend this best kept secret!!

1  Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlefrenchkey, Owner at Little French Key, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thanks for your kind words and blessings....As a newly established Private Island Resort and Restaurant we are so grateful for your positive review ¨Secluded Piece of Paradise¨ and positive comments. Thank you.

Our Mission is your utter enjoyment and we are so very glad to see that we are on track with this Mission. and you really enjoyed your time with us. God Bless all of you and we are so very happy and excited to see that we have shared some of your great moments and time well spent in enjoyment. Thank you for your visit.:) .Management Team at Little French Key and Frenchy's 44.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Wow!!! This was the most beautiful and amazing place, our favorite stop on our cruise, just wish we could have stayed here the whole seven days. The grounds, amenties, staff and food was excellent, everything was in pristine condition. We had the most relaxing and enjoyable time we have ever had in our life, definitely will try to visit again!! Our son and his fiance would love to honeymoon here if there were overnight accomadations, they fell in love with your island. Oh, and we loved your monkeys and birds, just the right touch of entertainment.

4  Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlefrenchkey, Owner at Little French Key, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thanks for your kind words and blessings....The photos you haven taken are truly amazing......We are very glad that you, your son and his fiance all enjoyed all aspects of your visit and our Private Island Resort. As a newly established Private Island Resort and Restaurant we are so grateful for your positive review ¨A little piece of Heaven on Earth¨ and positive comments. Thank you.

Our Mission is your utter enjoyment and we are so very glad to see that we are on track with this Mission. and you really enjoyed your time with us. God Bless all of you and we are so very happy and excited to see that we have shared some of your great moments and time well spent in enjoyment. Thank you for your visit.:) .Management Team at Little French Key and Frenchy's 44.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We went to Little French Caye after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. The water is stunning, and the decking, decor, and features of the property make it a must see. We were there on September 27, 2012. The snorkeling was amazing, and we saw some beautiful sea creatures in waist deep water. Only four other people were there with us, and it was a little slice of heaven. The kids (10 and 16) got to see and interact with monkeys and parrots. The island is eco friendly, so you might want to pack your bug spray. I respect the fact that they aren't poisoning everything on the island, though, so that was extremely minor in our otherwise perfect day. Don't miss this beautiful place just because you are on a cruise ship. We had plenty of time and made it back just fine. Go here instead of buying the pricey onboard day trips. We commented upon leaving how much we wished we owned the place.

3  Thank trippin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlefrenchkey, Manager at Little French Key, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thanks for your kind words and blessings.... Thank you for your respect for us being eco friendly.. A good rain always bring the little bugs out in the trropics until we send them away again :´). As a newly established Private Island Resort and Restaurant we are so grateful for your positive review ¨Äbsolutely Stunning¨ and positive comments. Thank you.

Our Mission is your utter enjoyment and we are so very glad to see that we are on track with this Mission. and you really enjoyed your time with us. God Bless all of you and we are so very happy and excited to see that we have shared some of your great moments and time well spent in enjoyment. Thank you for your visit.:) .Management Team at Little French Key and Frenchy's 44.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little French Key also viewed

 

Been to Little French Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing