We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Vacation and Beautiful Resort!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pristine Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pristine Bay Resort
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Vacation and Beautiful Resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

I stayed at Pristine Bay last year for new years and had such an amazing time that we are going again this year! The resort and the island are breathtaking! I stayed in a 2 bedroom villa, and it was brand new. The villa was very nice and spacious! I loved the furniture and decorations. The staff was so friendly and the amenities are outstanding! Anything you ask for, they will get for you! I would recommend this resort for everyone/anyone. It is great for families, couples, friends etc. I liked that it wasn't crowded and they have lots of things to do (tennis, soccer, gym, pools, beach, water activities, GOLF, etc. and many places to eat. You don't need to leave the resort, but if you wanted to there are a good restaurants and other resorts just outside pristine bay! Our friends stayed in a villa right across the street from us and it was also very nice! The spa wasn't built yet, but I cant wait to see it when it is! Pristine Bay will exceed your highest expectations. The resort and views are even better than the photos!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    33
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
78
51
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband, my three kids (14, 12, and 9) and I spent last weekend in Roatan [First time and definitely coming back!].
From the arrival on Thursday until today, we got excelent attention from Hotel personnel. We stayed at a 2 room villa, very spacious and fully equiped; cable tv, private pool, patio...
THE FOOD IS AWSOME!!!
Our kids loved snorkeling with Mike!!!
My husband and my two boys had a wonderful experience playing golf in one of the best courses in the Central American región and the Caribbean.
We played tenis twice...
Pristine Bay is a wonderful venue for different kind of travelers, I have read many people travel there on business, a close friend proposed there... for our family it was a great chance to spend quality time, far away from the city and work!

Room Tip: e mail to request a room adequate to your own needs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maria p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have stayed at Pristine Bay several times this year for business purposes. I can't say enough good things about this destination...friendly and helpful staff, beautiful grounds, amazing golf course, breathtaking views, well appointed villas! The Beach Club and Las Vernadas Hotel offer three different restaurants (the fish tacos at Las Verandas are my favorite!) plus you have Sky Bar & Lounge that has great pizza and pasta. The atmosphereat Pristine Bay is very relaxing...just imagine sipping a pina colada while sitting at the inifinity edge pool overlooking the Caribbean. Simply an amazing place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 60THill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed in a 3 bedroom 2 bath villa on a hill overlooking the golf course and the ocean. Used a golf cart to get around the impecaably manicured grounds, think huge first class golf and country club atmosphere.Excellent service, treated like family. Food overall was very good if not always great, really liked the fish tacos at Las Verandas at the hotel. Remote location which I liked as a very nice get away from the city life (I live in Manhattan, NYC). Rented a scooter to get around the island and also found the hotel taxi/van service to be prompt and efficient but not cheap; about $20 each way for most island locations. Really liiked Pineapple Grill and Herby's Sports Bar only ten minutes away in French Harbour. The Pete Dye golf course is stunning and fabulous but quite challenging (bring a few extra golf balls!)
The Dive shop and boat operation is first class with a highly experienced and very nice dive master, Mike. It was like having private dive trips! there are literrally hundreds of great dive sites, just tell him where you'd like to go! No stress, no worries. We also took an excursion trip over to Anthony's Key about 45 minutes drive, for a Dollphin encounter experience. Did not have time for the West End beach and night spots which I understand is also worth the trip, also about 45 minutes away.Get a rental car if you want to tour the island. The rooms were very well furnished with really comfortable beds, think Marriott quality or better and we really enjoyed appetizers and wine out on the porch by the infinity pool for the sunsets, we only got a partial view of the sunset but the skies were like beautiful paintings with multicolored clouds.
Only complaint was those darn No-See-Ums bugs! Long sleeves and pants are highly advised as well as the Avon Skin so Soft; the DEET didn't work. Overall this place lived up to its name and reputation. We are considering buying in on a Villa.

Room Tip: most villas are up away from the beach; request a beach villa or a hotel room if you want easy beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

My family and I traveled to this location in March 2013. It was our first time to Roatan although we often travel to tropical locations monthly (Hawaii, French Polynesia, Aruba, Bahamas, Virgin Islands, etc.). We really loved the island as the people were very friendly and the views were beautiful. We ended up staying at Pristine Bay based on research that we had done. The golf course is amazing. It is well maintained with beautiful views from most holes. The villa that we stayed in was clean and well appointed. The beach club (with large pools) was absolutely amazing. Most of the time we were the only ones there. The view from the pool to the beach was awesome and the food and drinks are very good. The beach at PB was very nice and well maintained. The island has much to do but the scuba and snorkeling really stand out. The island has great restaurants and really good grocery stores. After visiting in March, we considered buying there. I visited again in April and June just to make sure. In June our family closed escrow on our new home in PB. We were able to design our house and our construction is scheduled to be done next summer. We plan to visit many times during the next year to check on construction and enjoy PB. I highly recommend others to try this place out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwallace0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I am a little torn writing this review on Pristine Bay. My husband and I stayed here for the 2nd half of our honeymoon in Roatan. We spent the first half at Xbalanque and honestly would have stayed had we not paid for our villa at PB ahead of time.
The communication with the resort was easy and seamless, and they came and picked us up at our first hotel and were on time. Driving into the resort the views are stunning. Breathtaking and gorgeous, but we noticed immediately how isolated the property felt. We knew heading there that PB was located further from many of the main areas, but didn't realize how completely disconnected the resort would be from the rest of the island.
Upon checking in, we were brought to our villa which was very nice. Spacious and clean (we thought) with a washer and dryer and a full kitchen. The issue was, we were not given very much information other than our keys and that there were a few restaurants on the property. We were left feeling sort of lost after check-in. We felt like we did not have a lot of information on the resort, the activities, etc. It even took 3 phone calls before our golf cart arrived.
We went to Sky Restaurant for dinner that night and the food was terrible. We decided then that we would need to figure out a way to get to the grocery store (no one at the resort told us we would need to do this when we checked in). After a long conversation with the front desk, we were told we could drive our golf cart to the front gate and walk to the grocery, which we did (5 minute walk).
The resort itself has a beautiful beach club with gorgeous pool and friendly and attentive bar staff. It did feel very much like a country club, which my husband and I were slightly turned off by as we prefer a warmer, more friendly atmosphere. The food at the pool bar was much better than Sky, but beware it is pricey to eat at PB. We met a couple that told us about the hotel on the property and found out from them that there is actually a 4th restaurant we had access to, as well as an additional pool. The hotel as beautiful but completely empty.
We did 2 dives with the on-site dive shop and thoroughly enjoyed the dives. The dive master was terrific, we were the only couple diving, and the sites were beautiful and we completely empty of other dive ops.
The only major concern we had was we noticed half-way through our stay that our villa had a cockroach problem. It took a few phone calls before the maids came and then all they did was spray some RAID.

All in all, I would give PB 4 stars for beauty and amenities, but 2 stars for location and feel, 2 stars for food, and 3 stars for ease of stay. There was nothing specifically wrong with our stay (other than the roaches) and the beauty of the resort, the views, the diving and the beach club definitely helped balance it out. I'm glad we had the experience of staying there but I would not recommend this place to anyone the slightest bit adventurous, or who likes to enjoy living life in the place they visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaclyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
184 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Pristine Bay has a variety of lodging. Rent a condo or a house. Units have different owners and they are furnished differently. Our house is great. (Unit 0104) Our friends, who rented a different house, are quite disappointed. (Unit 0101) So be careful how you choose. The location is good, as Pristine Bay is self contained, but it is quite a drive to the West End where most of the restaurants are located.

If you are close to the clubhouse, you might be kept awake by the loud music.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank king238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roatan hotels
2.7 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
8.3 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Sandy Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
10.7 mi away
Xbalanque Resort
Xbalanque Resort
#7 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Parrot Tree Plantation
Parrot Tree Plantation
#1 of 1 in First Bight
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
11.5 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
1.3 mi away
Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pristine Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pristine Bay Resort

Property: Pristine Bay Resort
Address: French Harbor, Roatan IB3100, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Roatan
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pristine Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pristine Bay Resort is a 405-acre luxury golf resort on the island of Roatan, located in the Western Caribbean. Available accommodations include 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom private villas. All are exquisitely furnished and uniquely equipped with full kitchens, laundry, living and dining areas, plus a private pool and patio. Choose from spectacular ocean views, golf course views, or both! Pristine Bay Resort also offers you the best facilities on the island, which include our Beach Club with gym, tennis courts and infinity pools overlooking the Caribbean Sea. Onsite dining options include Aqua and Flava, as well as the Sky Lounge with spectacular views over the North and South Shores of Roatan. The centerpiece of the resort is undoubtedly the 18-hole championship golf course, The Black Pearl, designed by famous golf player and architect, Pete Dye. Roatan's finest diving is also available with Black Pearl Divers & Aquatic Center, located onsite at Pristine Bay Resort. Experience incredible diving, PADI training, and many other tours and activities. Stay at Pristine Bay Resort for the ultimate in luxury and an unforgettable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Pristine Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pristine Bay Resort Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing