We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great amenities, but isolated & 'country club' like”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pristine Bay Resort
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I am a little torn writing this review on Pristine Bay. My husband and I stayed here for the 2nd half of our honeymoon in Roatan. We spent the first half at Xbalanque and honestly would have stayed had we not paid for our villa at PB ahead of time.
The communication with the resort was easy and seamless, and they came and picked us up at our first hotel and were on time. Driving into the resort the views are stunning. Breathtaking and gorgeous, but we noticed immediately how isolated the property felt. We knew heading there that PB was located further from many of the main areas, but didn't realize how completely disconnected the resort would be from the rest of the island.
Upon checking in, we were brought to our villa which was very nice. Spacious and clean (we thought) with a washer and dryer and a full kitchen. The issue was, we were not given very much information other than our keys and that there were a few restaurants on the property. We were left feeling sort of lost after check-in. We felt like we did not have a lot of information on the resort, the activities, etc. It even took 3 phone calls before our golf cart arrived.
We went to Sky Restaurant for dinner that night and the food was terrible. We decided then that we would need to figure out a way to get to the grocery store (no one at the resort told us we would need to do this when we checked in). After a long conversation with the front desk, we were told we could drive our golf cart to the front gate and walk to the grocery, which we did (5 minute walk).
The resort itself has a beautiful beach club with gorgeous pool and friendly and attentive bar staff. It did feel very much like a country club, which my husband and I were slightly turned off by as we prefer a warmer, more friendly atmosphere. The food at the pool bar was much better than Sky, but beware it is pricey to eat at PB. We met a couple that told us about the hotel on the property and found out from them that there is actually a 4th restaurant we had access to, as well as an additional pool. The hotel as beautiful but completely empty.
We did 2 dives with the on-site dive shop and thoroughly enjoyed the dives. The dive master was terrific, we were the only couple diving, and the sites were beautiful and we completely empty of other dive ops.
The only major concern we had was we noticed half-way through our stay that our villa had a cockroach problem. It took a few phone calls before the maids came and then all they did was spray some RAID.

All in all, I would give PB 4 stars for beauty and amenities, but 2 stars for location and feel, 2 stars for food, and 3 stars for ease of stay. There was nothing specifically wrong with our stay (other than the roaches) and the beauty of the resort, the views, the diving and the beach club definitely helped balance it out. I'm glad we had the experience of staying there but I would not recommend this place to anyone the slightest bit adventurous, or who likes to enjoy living life in the place they visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaclyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 227 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

Pristine Bay has a variety of lodging. Rent a condo or a house. Units have different owners and they are furnished differently. Our house is great. (Unit 0104) Our friends, who rented a different house, are quite disappointed. (Unit 0101) So be careful how you choose. The location is good, as Pristine Bay is self contained, but it is quite a drive to the West End where most of the restaurants are located.

If you are close to the clubhouse, you might be kept awake by the loud music.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank king238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Pristine Bay because it looked like the nicest hotel on the island. When we got there, were were disappointed that our room was far from the pool and ocean, like barely walking distance. The hotel was nice and provided us with a golf cart to get around.

The service was exceptional.

The other downfall of this hotel is the location. When we were there, the hotel was deserted. We're social people and enjoy meeting other interesting people when we're on vacation. I think we were the only ones in the whole hotel, so we were often looking to get out of the grounds and go explore. It's about 30 minutes to the main area of Roatan where most of the restaurants, diving, etc is located. Luckily we had a car, but we spent a lot of time driving around.

The rooms are nice, and we did enjoy the private pool a couple of days. In addition, it's closes to a grocery store and the kitchen was fully stocked, so we made breakfast and snacks in the room.

If you do decide to stay here, try the restaurant at Las Verandas. Amazing Jerk Chicken Salad and Steak!

Room Tip: Request a room close to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tlstar14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PristineBay, General Manager at Pristine Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear Tlstar,
I am sorry we are answering your review so late. I am the new hotel manager and I wanted to thank you for your review and also to take the time to answer your comments.
Please note since the past year we have duplicated the amount of houses we have for rent and more and more there is more life in the beach club.
It is true that if you are looking for a lot of movement and social ambience this might not be the best place to stay except during Easter week and new year´s when we have activities every day.
Still, kindly note we are clear in our website and in every channel we promote ourselves that our main product is to offer privacy, luxury and peaceful environment. Nevertheless for people like you looking to have a more active vacation, we have an activity desk located right next to the front desk. Also take note our staff is naturally from the island so they are fully informed about all the activities you can enjoy inside the resort and outside too.
I want to take the opportunity to thank you about your comment of our staff! This is highly appreciated as we work hard to provide the best service possible.
We hope to have you again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent a week there last year, hotel is fabulous, service was great and the Pete Dye golf course incredible. Only slight inconvenience is that is a 45 minute drive to town if you want to go out. We took a day trip by boat to Cayos Cochinos, which was totally amazing, fresh lobster cooked right out of the sea in sea water with rice and beans!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank arlenecita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a five star location, huge property with exceptional views all across the road leading from the main road to the reception/beach club.
We had a 1 bedroom villa and it was really perfect with a nice plunge pool although the sun does not hit the pool in the afternnoons.
The beach club is really impressive with a massive pool ovelooking the ocean, the staff is incredible. It was quiet during our stay but it was good for us.
Beleive the reviews you read here !
Great restaurants on site, alos consider pineapple grill just outside of the pristine bay complex it was very very good. Gio's was also good in french harbor for seafood, king crab was quite good.
The beach looks good , we would have liked to have sanf under our feet in the water for more than the 20-30 feet currently in the water, after this you get algae under your feet ... But still what a relaxing place, the views on the coral barrier from the beach is amazing.
The whole village looks like an italian village in the mountains !!
The golf course is one of the most beautiful i have seen and could not resist playing it, it was perfect !!
Good dive center onsite with experienced personnel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin1266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

I lived in Roatan a few years ago, and one of the things I love about the island is that unlike many other places in the Caribbean or Mexico it remains extremely (negatively) unmarked by the industry of tourism despite the progress that has been made to make it more comfortably appealing to vacationers.
The Pristine Bay Resort is a beautiful example of a type of progress with integrity.
My sister and I spent 8 days there and loved it so much we are now talking to our family about buying a villa there.
The villas are so well built with many of the materials which are natural resources of the region.
The Pete Dye golf course is first rate and Eco friendly.
The staff are knowledgeable and friendly and helpful.
We got a tour of the resort and can't wait to go back and see the on site hotel, which will be completed by the end of this month. I'm also looking forward to the marina and the Marina Village which will be built across from the small mangrove island.
The beach is "pristine" and there's even a padi diving club.
The beach club and restaurants are beautiful and well serviced. The food, delicious!

We went about the island almost every day but it was difficult to leave our villa, our patio and our private infinity pool - the luxury was overwhelming!

My favorite spot outside of our infinity pool was the massive infinity pool/lounge area @ the beach club. The view is amazing!

The one recommendation that I have is that you definitely rent a vehicle if you are planning on going about the island.
The resort is in a perfect location but that means it's a 20 - 30 min drive to many of the other popular parts of the island and taxi drivers will over charge you to get around if called to the resort.

This resort is a must if you love tropical mixed with comfort. You can golf, play tennis, football or cricket, snorkel, dive, swim or just simply sit back and relax.

Great for couples, families, conferences, weddings and honeymoons.

We'll be back!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Morena65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Excellent Staff, Excellent place to go and have a vacation.
couldnt ask for more of a better place to Visit
The staff treated us like Family , evreyone from the waiters to the security guards .
Will come again . !!!

Room Tip: We were Moved to 2 diffrent Villas and both were Great , Mr.MRS Scalpati
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roatan hotels
10.7 mi away
Xbalanque Resort
Xbalanque Resort
#7 of 14 in West Bay
151 reviews
8.3 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Sandy Bay
214 reviews
11.5 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Barefoot Cay Resort
Barefoot Cay Resort
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
619 reviews
3.6 mi away
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in First Bight
349 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pristine Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pristine Bay Resort

Address: French Harbor, Roatan IB3100, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Roatan
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Roatan
Price Range: $244 - $537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pristine Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pristine Bay Resort is a 405-acre luxury golf resort on the island of Roatan, located in the Western Caribbean. Available accommodations include 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom private villas. All are exquisitely furnished and uniquely equipped with full kitchens, laundry, living and dining areas, plus a private pool and patio. Choose from spectacular ocean views, golf course views, or both! Pristine Bay Resort also offers you the best facilities on the island, which include our Beach Club with gym, tennis courts and infinity pools overlooking the Caribbean Sea. Onsite dining options include Aqua and Flava, as well as the Sky Lounge with spectacular views over the North and South Shores of Roatan. The centerpiece of the resort is undoubtedly the 18-hole championship golf course, The Black Pearl, designed by famous golf player and architect, Pete Dye. Roatan's finest diving is also available with Black Pearl Divers & Aquatic Center, located onsite at Pristine Bay Resort. Experience incredible diving, PADI training, and many other tours and activities. Stay at Pristine Bay Resort for the ultimate in luxury and an unforgettable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pristine Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pristine Bay Resort Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing