We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tour!”

Rony's Tours - Private Guide
Ranked #10 of 209 Tours in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fernandina Beach, FL
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Tour!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We took at tour on December 11 with Arnold of Rony's Tours and it was terrific! We were on the Carnival Dream and decided to go "off the grid" with Rony's and didn't regret it. We had such a good time. The weather was a bit drizzly but that didn't stop us from seeing everything that we wanted to see. Roatan is beautiful and we highly recommend Rony's tours. Arnold is the absolute best tour guide!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank brazvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    26
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Private Roatan Tour”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We wanted a Private Tour that was educational, informative and FUN. My family of 5 (children ages 19, 14 &10) booked with Rony's Tours and received the experience we were looking for. Rony met us at the Ship Terminal and quickly introduced us to our guide, TIA and driver PEDRO. We became "old friends" quickly, after Tia took us to her village and home for a welcome fruit punch drink and general discussion about Roatan. Per our request, Tia took us to an historic Mayan Village site and then on to lunch and beach/water time at Parrot Tree Plantation. People looking for quiet and calm beach time that is also safe for youngsters, Parrot Tree Plantation is the place. No blaring music. A Lagoon that directly fronts on the open sea, but without the waves and current. Thus, you actually can relax and enjoy the serenity of the seaside location that is part of a small private resort. The tour ended with some fantastic views of the island and the NCL Dawn, that we were sailing on.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank NatPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antlers, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“private tour”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We enjoyed the young woman who was our guide very much.. we went the week of Thanksgiving and sadly it was raining very hard and so we were unable to do very much. we did the monkey park which was fun and inexpensive. we were to do the zipline but the rain was to much, we went to the orphanage, and we went to a small store in MR Rony's neighborhood, and that was ok. the only downside, was the restaurant. when we got there, other ship passengers were actually tending bar! no staff whatsoever. I'd say we were there over 2 hours before we got our food, and that was because the guides (including ours!) were cooking the food. It was very cold and windy that day, I do wish that once they realized this would be an issue we'd went elsewhere to eat. that pretty much deflated our happiness. we would likely use his services again, but not go to eat where we did.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JeanetteD69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First Class Private Tour of a Beautiful Island”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We booked a private tour of Roatan from Rony online a couple of months before our cruise. As promissed Rony's representative "Arnold" was waitin for us just outside the cruiseport. We asked Arnold to show us his island and explained that we really didn't want to go to the tourist traps.

Arnold spent all day with us showing us the whole island. We spend several hours in Half Moon bay ( a beautiful public beach) to snorkle and have lunch. We both had fresh grouper and conch fritters. Both we the best we had ever had and the portions we huge.

We highly recommend Rony's Tours and THANK YOU Arnold for being such a knowlegable and engaging host for the day.

We fell in love with your island and will return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
“Best part of our trip”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had a little trouble finding Rony's when we got off the cruise ship. I asked a policeman and he said to go outside the gated area for tourists and go up a hill and down a long hill by foot. At the bottom of the hill was a number of taxi cabs waiting for people to pick up. We saw a sign that said Rony's and the taxicab driver introduced himself as Cameron. He spoke very good English and said he had previously worked on cruise ships for 20 years. He was a very laid back and funny man. He knew how to take care of tourists and made sure all our needs were taken care of. He asked every hour or so if we needed to use the restroom and was very interested in doing anything we wanted to do. We asked him what he recommended and then decided from his list of what we wanted to do. He took us to an iguana farm that was very cool and later to a cameo factory where high quality cameos were made out of sea shells. We asked him every question we could think of and he answered everything he knew anything about. He asked if we wanted to see his "hood" and told us that the tour buses would never show anyone this area. We got in the middle of his neighborhood and he stopped the car and invited us to see the office of Rony, his employer. We walked down a dark alley and walked into a small office that had tee shirts for sale on the wall and some jewelry in open cases. We met Rony's wife, who was the secretary and Rony's teenager son. While we were looking at the jewelry he offered us a local rum drink. It was sweet, strong, and good! Next we got back into the car and he stopped and bought us a bag of an exotic fruit called litchee. It tasted sort of like a large grape with an unusual spinney covering. He said he had a friend that worked with him on a cruise ship named Bertie who was a cook on the ship for 10 years. Bertie had opened a local restaurant. Cameron suggested we have lunch at his restaurant and he called ahead with our order. By the time we arrived we had just enough time to drink a local beer and then a wonderful meal was served. I had red snapper that was excellent. The restaurant was right by the ocean and the floor of the restaurant was sand. It had a roof that provided shade and protection from the rain, but was otherwise open. It looked like a local hangout and you had to know how to find it as it was hidden from the road. Cameron took us to a private beach that was guarded and required a fee to enter. He was friends with the owner and they just waved us on it. The beach was wonderful and the water temperature was just right. Cameron kept an eye on the time and told us when we needed to leave. I hated leaving and we had a great time visiting with him. In fact, he was the most fascinating and fun part of our trip. I hope you will look up Rony's Tours and ask for Cameron. He will show you a good time.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rony's Tours - Private Guide also viewed

 

Been to Rony's Tours - Private Guide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing