We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, relaxed local vibe”

Coconut Tree Restaurant
Ranked #47 of 214 Restaurants in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Coconut Tree restaurant is centrally located just at the entrance of the "West End" area of Roatan. We are on the second level and offer open air dining with a fantastic view of Half Moon bay just just a few short feet away. Atmosphere is casual and inviting including great Breakfast, lunch and Dinner menus as well as nightly specials and frequent entertainment.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious food, relaxed local vibe”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Our family had a delicious dinner of lion fish cakes, snapper filets, fish sandwiches and coconut shrimp. The snapper filet (recommended by the chef, himself, as something he wishes he got more frequently) was very nicely spiced without overpowering the fresh fish. Prices were very reasonable. And complimentary desserts were a nice bonus. We had a nice view of the bay and sunset from the restaurant deck, though the street traffic post World Cup match viewing got noisy at times

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RMTraveler099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasRoatan, Manager at Coconut Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you so much for visiting and taking the time to make the nice comments.Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    85
    33
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Owner is good craic, breakfast is amazing, bit slow service sometimes.”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

I had a good experience with this place. First time we went was before diving to have breakfast. Amazing huevos rancheros but took 35 minutes and we were the only ones there. No tip given that time.
Second time the owner was there. We had a laugh with him and had amazing pancakes(best I've had in a restaurant) as well as island plum juice with him. He didn't put the refills on the bill either. In top of this he hung up this hummingbird feeder so we could get some photos of them a foot away. Great view from up there too.
Needless to say good experience second time cancelled out OK first experience. Try it out for breakfast, I'd say.

Helpful?
Thank Lorcan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasRoatan, Manager at Coconut Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
So glad you came back and thank you for sharing your experience Hope to see you on Roatan again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The food was great. We always went with what was on special, as it sounded so good. My favorite was the avocado stuffed chicken.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasRoatan, Manager at Coconut Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Chef and owner Vincent deserves all the credit for the food that you enjoyed and pledges to continue creating interesting specials for your next visit. Thank you for the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Breakfast in Town”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I'm reviewing breakfast as there is a different cook that does lunch and dinner. The banana pancakes are incredible but if you need bacon and eggs you're covered as well. Douglas opens the door at 7:00am but if you're up looking for a cup of coffee you can show up at 6:00am while you're enjoying the view or reading a book from the 2nd floor open seating area. Try his homemade juices as well! You won't be disappointed with a breakfast visit, we went 3 times. Another thing to consider is that the service is significantly quicker than most other restaurants that run on "Island time".

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenden M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasRoatan, Manager at Coconut Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind review and we hope that you can make it back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Makes You Feel Like One Of The Locals”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

This place is the best on the island!! All the bartenders are great. They chat with you and make you feel so welcome. Even the owner came over and talked with us for awhile. The food is consistently great and priced well. My boyfriend and I ended up eating here 4 or 5 times the 3 days we were in Roatan.

Helpful?
Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DouglasRoatan, Manager at Coconut Tree Restaurant, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
We were happy that you stooped by and thank you for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut Tree Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Coconut Tree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing