We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing coconut shrimp!”

Coconut Tree Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 212 Restaurants in Roatan
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Coconut Tree restaurant is centrally located just at the entrance of the "West End" area of Roatan. We are on the second level and offer open air dining with a fantastic view of Half Moon bay just just a few short feet away. Atmosphere is casual and inviting including great Breakfast, lunch and Dinner menus as well as nightly specials and frequent entertainment.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing coconut shrimp!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Gorgeous setting, super friendly, great service and everything we ate here was to die for. The chef even shared his shrimp receipe!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    82
    31
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marquez, Texas
Level Contributor
142 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great location, new management, improving daily”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We went here last week for music and happy hour. Music is great but service is diffinitely on island time. The new cook was doing Tex-Mex in a little place farther down in West End in the past. Now he's taking over CoCoNut Tree. There are lunch specials (we had the beef enchiladas which were very good and couldn't finish the lunch portion!) He should be doing breakfast service soon and knows the service must improve. Go upstairs, enjoy the food and view, and island time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BandDMarquezTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food was good, service was terrible”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just ate here for dinner tonight. They were out of any soup and all steaks, but that happens sometimes on an island. It said it was happy hour but when I asked about drink specials I was told that there weren't any??? Our server was very slow and not friendly. Took me 3 times to get a pina colada. Ice water glass was cracked and I asked for a replacement which I never did receive. The food was really good which is why I gave it a 3 star rating. I had chicken fingers and fries...pretty hard to mess that up, but the chicken was plentiful and moist, the thick fries were really good too. My daughter had fajitas, they were good, lots of chicken and peppers, very tasty. My husband had chicken kabobs which were also very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynncal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bypass this one!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Truly a forgettable experience! Service was slow even for those accustomed the "Island time!" We received water and then waited for our food for 1 hour and 15 minutes!!! No one came to check on us. We had to go into the kitchen to find someone to ask about the status of our meal. When it FINALLY arrived it was absolutely flavorless. The much raved about coconut shrimp was tasteless as was the fish. Save you money and go elsewhere; anywhere else! Terrible!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnwilliams_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and beautiful views”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We went to this restaurant twice during our 4 day stay on Roatan. We sat up at the bar and enjoyed the water views of Half Moon Bay. The service was great and bartenders really friendly. They brought out a free dill dip to start the meal...very tasty. The coconut shrimp app was fantastic and unlike any other coconut shrimp I've ever had. The breading we very light and served with a fresh pineapple chutney.

For lunch we ordered the veggie sandwich with buffalo mozzarella and the grilled shrimp sandwich with mozzarella...both served with a creaming pink sauce. After the meal we were given a small vanilla bean flan as dessert...this was the perfect end to our meal. This restaurant is open air, casual and I would definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hoppie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut Tree Restaurant also viewed

 
West End, Roatan
 

Been to Coconut Tree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing