We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roatan west bay”
Review of Roatan Pirates Bay

Roatan Pirates Bay
hongkong
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Roatan west bay”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Roatan is an island off la ceiba ,you can take a boat ride, or a 20 minute plane to arrive there, in the west end, there are restaurants and small shops, it remind me like I was in boracay philippine.but there were no white sand beach in west end.then we head to west bay take a water taxi,a 5-10 minute boat ride ,here the beach is nicer , white sand,mile long, with restaurants ,hotels along the beach. The water is crystal clear,there are some activities you can enjoy like diving, fishing,...etc and all the water spots.
If you are traveling to Honduras, spend some times there is quite relaxing.But if you come only for roatan, there are lot of nice beaches in the carribean to choose

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank edwinHongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    3
    0
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay!!!”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

This is a very nice place with beach, a Caribbean one with clear water and white sand, but also go to see a replica of a pirates ship.The place is very nice and you have lot of thinks to do, I suggest to spend some time on the beach but also do some shopping, there are some nice shops with typical local stuff, plus a restaurants with delicious food.
I really have a relaxing time and I think this is one of the favourite place where i have been in all the caribbean

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank terry a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Adventure”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

From the initial email to the end of the trip, this company provided excellent customer service and an excellent Extreme Extreme Zipline adventure. They responded quickly to my emails, made sure that all members of our group were "tied together", picked us up on time, and got us back. Once we got our gear on, to the top of the mountain we went and the fun began! Our guides were friendly, willing to take pictures for us and ensured that everyone had a great time and kept us safe. When I return to Roatan, I'll be back! Thanks everyone.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffreyChauncey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Very Different Experience”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We docked at Roatan during our Western Caribbean cruise on the Carnival Valor. We were shopping for jewelery, among other things. Upon arriving, we noticed that none of the shops had their lights on. Thinking it was rather odd, we asked one of the salespeople why they did not have their lights on and she said that the electricity had gone off earlier and it happens often. Obviously you are not able to really shop for jewelry without good lighting, so we weren't able to complete that portion of our planned activity that day. In addition to having no lights, the shops also did not have air conditioning and it was very hot and humid. We found an outdoor market and shopped there for a while then finally went back to the ship.

Oddly enough, the tram that ran from the shopping area to the beach area was able to run during the electricity outage. Apparently they had a generator for such issues.

It was not the most enjoyable stop on our trip, but one of the most memorable ones. After we left port, we really wished we had taken a taxi away from the port area to downtown to explore there. It probably would have been much more enjoyable.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank DARowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great first time experience!”
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Love the extreme extreme zipline! & The trip to Parrot Tree Plantation resort was the bet! The CD with pictures they take was a nice bonus, but one of the guys made a gesture on the pic not appropriate.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ChadandLetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roatan Pirates Bay also viewed

Roatan, Bay Islands
Roatan, Bay Islands
 

Been to Roatan Pirates Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing