We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,060)
Filter reviews
1,060 results
Traveler rating
361
417
193
68
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
417
193
68
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaqua adventuresentertainment staffisland tourhenry morganfishdive shopocean viewlarge decktransat repwest endoceanfront cabanasand fleasaqua gymbug spraybar closeswatermelonping pong
Filter
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 1,060 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2016 via mobile

After much planing and reading reviews
We decided to book our trip to the media Luna.

Everything was butter smooth from arrival to departure there was always someone to answer questions and settle even the most nervous traveler.

It seemed everyone in Roatan has at the very least basic English so communication was a breeze.

When arriving at the airport and once through customs we were greeted by two of the coolest dudes on the trip "Kelly and Douglas" both members of the media Luna activities staff
Both are very professional and straight forward about the plans to get us safely to the resort .

Once at the resort we were greeted with this awesome something drink with either rum or vodka (drinkers choice) it even had a cherry on top!

From there check in was again smoother than a baby's bottom and despite arriving early our room was still ready for us.

Overall the food was pretty good, it is a small resort so it wasn't a mega resort buffet most travellers are used to but there was always something tasty to eat and you will never walk away hungry.

The drinks again were not mega resort style so it was a smaller selection of alcohol and beer but your basics rum, vodka and beer were always available and the premium alcohol was always available at a additional cost (which we never used, we were pretty happy with what was available).

A lot of reviews speak highly about the coffee at the cafe (which is additional) but I grabbed a coffee every morning at the buffet for free and I was pretty satisfied with it. I didn't see the need personally to spend money on coffee but then again I'm not to picky.

A special thanks to Juan Carlos for his amazing service at the buffet and always keeping us smiling.

After food we usually went straight to the pool ... There are a total of three. two small pools and a larger.

None of the pools are deep about 3feet or so this makes them great for relaxing or playing some volleyball.

They are well kept and always clean not heated ... But it's always so warm there that it doesn't really matter.

The ocean ... Oh my the ocean ..
The media Luna is located in a bay so it's beach is small but what it lacks in size it makes up in beauty remember folks it's not the size of the beach it's how you use it !!!

On that note it is comfortably shallow for a good distance so just hanging out is very inviting.

But let's not forget that Roatan is known for its snorkelling and diving ... This bay although not suitable for diving ... The snorkelling is world class and available at ones leisure.

The sand fleas lets touch on the sand fleas
Bring bug spray and always use it when at the beach enough said!

Last but not least the activities crew
From beginning of the day all the way till close this crew never stops, always with the good vibes great attitude and friendly conversation when they aren't making sure your day is as perfect as it can be,they are preparing and performing after dinner. the resume each member carries is impressive to say the least and their performance never disappoints.

It was sad to see the trip end but of corse all good things must come to a end. We will defiantly be returning in the future and hope to have the same kind of experience. We highly recommend this resort to anyone who wants a smaller more intimate resort vibe, party but not "heavy party" and overall have a relaxing vacation.

Ashley and Brian xx

Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
6  Thank ashleygreen1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2016 via mobile

Booked last minute through Air Transat and had a fantastic time!
On arrival into Roatan everything was organized and executed flawlessly. ...no confusion.
The resort is absolutely beautiful, surrounded on 3 sides by water, and amazing jungle landscape on the other.
Cabanas were modern inside and clean. The property is stunning!
Snorkelling right off the beach & off the dive shack dock.
Travelling off the resort for excursions and just venturing out with rental car....safe and completely worth exploring!
The staff here were wonderful!
Being a smaller more intimate resort , I made alot of new friends....the group of travellers staying here this week were amazing, and alot of fun times were had.
Thank you JC!

Stayed: March 2016, traveled solo
2  Thank sarah lou a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2016

Beautiful clean resort
Old world charm
Great staff on site
Food was good for that part of the world
Wine not good
Very isolated from everything
However great snorkelling and scuba
Beautiful beach
Would go back

Room Tip: Get a cabin close to the main building
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mary-mlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2016

Date of visit: Feb 29—Mar 7, 2016

We chose this resort for its quiet location and laid-back style. We don’t need casinos, discotheques, or elaborate floor shows – just a clean, quiet room, decent food and a good beach. Media Luna meets all of these requirements.

We had read comments from other reviewers criticising the food, but we found no reason to complain. We were able to choose plenty of interesting, tasty dishes at every meal, and never felt hungry after we left the dining room. The food is always fresh, and there is plenty of selection at all of the buffet stations: fish is usually very good, as are the chicken and pork dishes. Try the giant red olives! Dessert cakes tend to be on the sweet side, but there is always plenty of fresh fruit. Tea and coffee are available, as are wines, beer and spirits. The Crazy Cocktails are a fun idea, but again we found them to be too sweet. Mixed drinks are adequate, but inconsistent. Pina Colada from the slushy machine was usually passable, and the beer (Dutch) was good. The dining room staff are a pleasant, smiling crew, happy to help, and always cheerful. A special thanks to waiter Juan.

We enjoyed some of the entertainments, and credit is due to the Entertainment Staff who worked very hard to keep us entertained with deck and water activities. Of the shows we watched we considered the Garifuna Drummers and Dancers to be the best, followed by the Honduran Dance Group.

We stayed in cabana 175, which is back in the woods and very quiet with a partial ocean view. All of the cabanas seem to follow the same layout, being spacious and airy, and our maids kept it spick and span. Tip: the hot water heater is fiercely efficient – it’s a good idea to adjust the temperature of the shower BEFORE you stand under the stream!

Suggestions (Management Please Note)

The stone paths may look quaint and appropriate for the setting, but the uneven surface does not make for easy walking (it also damages the wheels of your suitcase). Couple this unevenness with the low ambient light levels at night and we think you have a recipe for a fall or a sprained ankle. Since the paths are too narrow to accommodate golf carts, we suggest using large, clean wheelbarrows for hauling luggage to and from cabanas (the cleaning staff use large barrows for transporting laundry). The paths ARE illuminated, but the lights seem to use low-wattage bulbs (economy?) and some areas are in shadow. Tip: take a good flashlight with you; a sprained ankle can ruin your trip!

There aren’t any signs that show a map of the entire resort. The receptionist gives you a map when you check-in, but it is quite small, and not easy to read. It must be possible to get a local sign-writer to create a few large-scale maps that can be placed at suitable locations to help you find your cabana after you first arrive. Even some kind of indicators showing which paths are main ones would be helpful.

Some dishes in the buffet are labelled, while others are not. We tend to be experimental in our food choices, and if we don’t recognise a dish we feel compelled to try it. Others may be less adventurous, but while we think it might be useful to label French Fries, we wonder who needs to have these identified. We tried several delicious although anonymous dishes, but even now we have no idea what we had eaten!

Power is reliable when it’s available, but outages do occur. Some of these seem to be scheduled, while others seem to be random events. Tip: if you intend to charge a tablet, camera or cell-phone, it might be a good idea to take a portable surge protector with you and connect this to the outlet before connecting your device’s transformer. This should prevent your device from getting fried if a surge occurs when power returns. We use a Nextech unit, and have never had any problems. To become even more eco-friendly, this resort could install solar panels on the roofs of main buildings to reduce the use of generator fuel.

Bug bites seem to affect some people more than others. The culprits are the small (less than 0.5mm) black sand fleas and no see-ums that land on you imperceptibly and then drink their fill. They are so small that most people probably don’t realise they have been bitten until the red weals start to appear. A good slathering of DEET keeps the little vampires away. Be especially vigilant after rain! We saw only 2 mosquitos, and one of those was dead!

Would we recommend Media Luna? Yes, provided you’re the type of person who’s looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday, and is happy to enjoy the natural environment in which it’s located. As other reviewers have mentioned, it’s NOT party-central, but we believe that party animals are more likely to visit one of the more intense resorts anyway.

Room Tip: Ocean Front and Ocean View cabanas are available, and attract higher prices.
  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
10  Thank 2freespiritsToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2016 via mobile

We visited feb 29-March 7/2016.
The trip to Media Luna in Roatan, has become our favorite trip ever. Please recommend this to your other travelers. From the moment we arrived at the Roatan airport until we left the Roatan airport on our last day, the staff of the resort were there to greet us and to send us off. And the transat rep (JC)is awesome. I have never met so many happy great staff. Trully we have never experienced the level of attention that the staff gives everyone before. That alone made it the best.
But the resort is beautiful, relaxing and a joy to be at. Our room was a gorgeous little get away. The private cabins are a treat. The eco friendly resort is the cleanest ever. You never even see dirty glasses etc.
the food was great too. Always fresh and appealing.
The beach, is a little small, but because it is in a bay you can walk or snorkel for ever in the water. It was the best snorkeling i have ever experienced, from right in front of the resort. This island is known for best scuba diving, we don't do diving. But we and many many people we met enjoyed the snorkeling just as much.
We did 2 excursions. 1. Day trip to the French key- was a fun relaxing day. The included bbq seafood lunch was great. And sitting on swings at the swim up bars is fun. Great people of Roatan are so friendly and fun.
2. We did the dolphin encounter. I was impressed with the care of the dolphins . This is not a (show) , it's meeting them as they live. Way better.

In summary, I don't know how we could top this resort. We would go back for sure :)

Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Tinamariemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews