We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GreAt day on the water”
Review of Radical Adventures

Radical Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: "Free Radical" our 48’ Catamaran is located on the East End of Roatan, the uncrowded, less visited end of the island. If you want an adventure snorkeling, diving, fishing and sailing in pristine waters, we do it all. Our professional crew guides you in the water snorkeling then serve you cold drinks while on board. We fire up our ships BBQ grill & load it up with Chicken & Shrimp Kabobs. Our chicken is boneless breasts cut into chunks & skewered along with onions & green peppers.Our shrimp is straight from the Local Shrimp Boats & couldn't be any fresher. Fresh Caesar Salad, & Honduran style rice round out the meal.Yum! We offer 1/2 day Cruise Ship Sail & Snorkel Excursions & full day East End Snorkel & Sail Day. The Yacht is very clean and offers 4 private washrooms. Daysail capacity is 30 guests. Private and custom charters can be arranged. Don’t miss the best part of Roatan!
Turner valley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“GreAt day on the water”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Had another wonderful day of sailing and snorkelling with Ed and Julie on their beautiful sail boat. The food and drinks were great and we would do it again in a heartbeat. This has been our second trip with them and plan to do it again when we are back on the island. The only downside of this trip is getting to their boat but still we'll worth the money

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    11
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Couldn't offer better time!!!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

It was suggested by friends that when we arrived on Roatan, we (about 14 of us) should all go on a catamaran tour. Immediately my spidey senses started tingling. My past experience with dreaded "three hour tours" has been limited to fishing in a panga-panga, captained by someone that couldn't sail around a bathtub, catching nothing more than bait, and a sunburn. Then my bride and I were introduced to Ed and Julie of Radical Catamaran Adventures. What an example to others of what an afternoon sailing on the Caribbean should be!!! If you haven't figured it out by now, they blew us away!!! From he moment we set foot on their ship, we were treated like family. Royal Family to boot!!! Cold beverages, which just didn't seem to stop coming, fresh baked peanut butter cookies (who does that on a sailboat?), gourmet lunch, snacks, snorkelling, local knowledge of the area, friendly, knowledgeable crew, and no shortage of sun and surf. If you want to get out of the "canned all inclusive excursions" then Radical is a must. Do I recommend it? YES!! Will I do it again? YES!! You won't be disappointed. Thanks Ed and Julie and crew for a great afternoon!!!

Warren & Faye
Alberta, Canada

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Warren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Non cruise ship coordinated excursion -”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We have been on 4 cruises during our lifetime. After our first cruise we began to step out and use non cruise line coordinated excursions. With some good reasearch (tripadvisor for example) and doing your homework - we have yet to have anything less than an excellent experience. In fact, we routinely have much smaller groups, see the same things that the cruise excursions do and get a much more personalized experience.

Radical Catamaran Adventures was no exception.

Regarding the food, the snorkeling and in general the boat - see others comments for more detail.

Coming off a crusie ship with unlimited mass produced food - the food on the boat was a welcome change - much more flavourful and with substantial local influence.

Snorekling - I've dived and snorkeled for over 30 years. The reef we snorkeled was world class. The crew pointed out fish and crustaceans for the novice snorkelers.

The boat - was immaculate - well kept and obviously not operated with a "tour bus" mentality where hundreds of people are run across the deck.

The overall experience had a very personal touch, makeing us feel likes friends and guests and not income producing tourists. Our excursion had 8 people - even though the boat could take up to 35. We had room to walk about, lay about, enjoy the overall experience.

I would suggest the this excursion/tour to anyone who is not afraid to step out of the comfort zone of being on cruise line sponsored excursions - you won't be disappointed.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank gnac-ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A great way to spend a day on a boat”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We spent a day on the Free Radical. Even though it was a dreary and rainy day, we had a great time. We snorkeled at two different spots, with some great guides from the boat in the water.

The food was incredible -- it just kept coming over and over. From the muffins just out of the oven when we arrived on the boat, to the continual making of Pina Coladas, to the delicious salsa and lunch, we ate better than at any other place on the island.

My only complaint -- and it is a small one -- is that I don't think we ever made it to the Old Port Royal area that is advertised on their website for the full day tour. Maybe it was because of the weather, but we didn't do the mangrove tour and didn't have the third snorkeling stop.

All that said, we had a great time, and would definitely consider doing it again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank begs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boulder co
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Enjoyable day”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The boat, owners, staff, and food were all excellent. The chef was wonderful and very sweet. We were on the boat all day, stopping at 2 places to snorkel. I had trouble with my personal snorkel gear, and the guide in the water with us helped me out, even trading his own gear for my failing gear. He took my camera and dived to take some good pics for me. I would have been happier if we had gone to one more snorkeling place, as we spent quite a bit of time at anchor. Drinks were included, and alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks were liberally supplied. I felt that in some ways it was more of a party boat than a serious snorkeling experience, but the problems with my gear may have contributed to that conclusion. We also went out after a major storm, which resulted in a lot of suspicious stuff in the water and somewhat limited visibility, which certainly can't be blamed on the owners. The staff helped friends with limited mobility into the water where they had a blast snorkeling.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank traveling_foodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Radical Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Radical Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing