We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Roatan, a crusie destination?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mahogany Beach

Mahogany Beach
Ranked #9 of 75 things to do in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Roatan, a crusie destination?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

So we stopped here on a Carnival cruise... the water was pretty, the beach relaxing, but not much else. Now we had planned this as a beach day, and it rained, but thats no ones fault. It just seemed that if you didn't plan something through the cruise line there wasn't much to do. In no way was this a bad stop for us, but it was our least memorable. Do what you can and plan ahead. I wish we had made more of our Island adventure here.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    281
    115
    44
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Day in Mahogany Bay..!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Mahogany Bay in Roatan is a private island owned by Carnival Cruises. You may spend the day here or there are other excursion options. To get over to the beach quicker take the chairlift and gret some great pictures too. The beach always crowded but it’s not hard to find a chair under some nice palm trees. The beach are is awesome and the water is clear and calm, one of the MOST beautiful beaches I have ever seen. No a lot of snorkeling, you need to take an excursion for that, maybe some fishes by the piers. The restrooms are very clean as well as the surrounding spaces. We ate at Sharkeys and the food was incredible!! The ceviche was soooo fresh as were the shrimps in the shrimp cocktail. The drinks are huge and the prices reasonable. Many fun areas for great pictures before you go back to the ship. I would recommend this stop over taking an excursion at this port. We had a ton o fun!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank RominNaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Visited there on a Carnival Cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Third port of 7 day cruise with Carnival. This island is owned by Carnival and breathtaking. The whole island can be viewed from the chairlift that carries you down to the beach where you can get off in the sand and play in the water or stay on and see the rest of the island. There are lounge chairs on sand near beach under coconut trees. There are bar waiters who walk by ad take your drink orders. There are paddle boats, water tricycles and kayak's for rent. The chairlift cost only $12 for unlimited rides. There are some shops with tshirts and souvenirs for sale.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank Christy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Carnival new port”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Carnivals 65 million dollar campus... Docked and private area the keep the locals out kind of unfair but understood.. From the duty free shops to the chair lifts its set up nicely many choice of things to do fom fat Tuesday's to paying $1.00 for the country stamp in your passport. This place was clean enough to eat off the sidewalk.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank jjay1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Overall enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Mostly clean in tourist area but like all islands there are the slums. Looked at retirement property and we were surprised at how cheap it is to live there. For a beachfront 2 bedroom condo you only pay between 330,000 and 400,000 and living is estimated at approximately 54/day. Can't beat that, if you can live in the heat. The water is beautiful and worth getting used to the heat.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JAREDSGAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahogany Beach also viewed

 
Roatan, Bay Islands
 

Been to Mahogany Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing