We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lionfish fingers with an awesome view.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Marlin

Blue Marlin
Ranked #51 of 205 Restaurants in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Caribbean, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
772 reviews
460 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Great Lionfish fingers with an awesome view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I came here after a dive because one of my dive masters said that they had excellent Lionfish fingers. I sat down and had a few local beers and chatted it up with the very beautiful bar maid, Andrea. I ordered the Lionfish fingers and a chicken burger. I wished I would have known that you get six big fingers because that was enough to fill me up. I went ahead and forced down the chicken burger as well, but left the fries. The Lionfish fingers are awesomely delicious. I will have to go back for more of these. The chicken burger was tasty as well, but not as much as the Lionfish. The view of the ocean while sitting at the bar is spectacular. I sat around for several hours chatting with fellow travelers. The place started to fill up in the early evening and I had a great time. I will stop in the next time I am on the island.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    64
    22
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Night life”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Nice bar/ disco to try in West End. It closed a little early though. The drinks were good and decently priced.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeryville, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Banging!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Big booming disco banging bar! This is where the party is at most nights! Bar staff get a bit streessed with the big party crowd sometimes. Music is loud. small dancefloor.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice view.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

It is the place to be in the evening.
The place is popular with tourists and stays open later than most other establishments.
Drink prices are on par with the other establishments in West End. Service was prompt but not friendly.

You definitely will not local island flavor here, though - it is more of a "cruise ship" crowd atmosphere. But that seems to be the trend in West End, where most of the bars and restaurants are now owned by Americans and other foreigners.
I found it disconcerting when I tried to order a beer in spanish and the bar tender could not understand me. We are still in Honduras, after all.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank delaceiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Nice and relaxing by day, pure fun night.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Blue Marlin is a super way to spend an afternoon. The food and drink are tasty and reasonably priced and the wait staff is sweet and attentive. Edmond is a gem, but most importantly he is honest and kind hearted. The Blue Marlin can feel like two establishments in one. On one side of the restaurant is the bar that looks over the street in West End. Great place to ppl watch and learn about the island whilst having a cocktail. The other side is ocean view where an amazing sunset awaits you daily. At night the Blue Marlin is the place to be for live music, karaoke, and lively conversation.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank diveutila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Marlin also viewed

 
Roatan, Bay Islands
West End, Roatan
 

Been to Blue Marlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing