We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Marlin

Blue Marlin
Ranked #48 of 205 Restaurants in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Caribbean, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Putting the excellent view, location, staff , and amazing food aside the Blue Marlin is one of the cleanest establishments in West End. To dine with the option of a clean bathroom is rare in West End particularity later in the evening and when I find one its a keeper. The furnishings are comfy cozy. The food is a fare price and yummy. The owners operators seem to find the perfect blend between professionalism and friendless. We luv going there for the beautiful sunsets or a nice midday snack and we have visited on many a evening to be entertained by amazing local musicians. And then there is karaoke night this is a blast the bar is filled with laughter and pure fun. Ya we return to Roatan annually and the Blue Marlin is always on our agenda. ♥♥♥ Check it out you will not have any regrets.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yellowknife99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    64
    22
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Great Gathering Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

Blue Marlin is a great place to meet old friends and make new ones. Dinners are excellent! Staff is friendly and professional - bar service is the best! Edmund, Mo, Robert and Linda go out of their way to satisfy the customers....they even made Thanksgiving dinner! Thursday night is karaoke night with some really great singers! Definitely the place to be in West End!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alife57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“GoodTimes await at the Blue Marlin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

My reviews begin with the disclaimer that I live an work here in Roatan. I've done so for over six years. It's important for tourist to know what places are fun, clean, service oriented, and safe.

Working at one of the local dive shops we tend to go out with friends for sunsets and drinks on a regular basis. Even back in the day, when the now Blue Marlin was called the Purple Turtle, it use to be quite the busy little hole in the wall. Today it no longer has the same look or feel of the turtle. The owners renovated just about, if not everything and it looks fantastic. It has a big wrap around bar where service is usually quite prompt. They do get pretty busy which means you might have to wait a minute, but it's worth it. There is a big deck in the back with several tables overlooking the water. They provide an excellent spot to watch live music and the karaoke folks doing their thing. The Blue Marlin has clean working bathrooms which is kinda of a big deal to have in these parts. There is also a lounge area or what we call the "VIP" area tucked around the corner big enough for about 10 or so people. Their food is fair priced and delicious. In terms of the crowd the place attracts, you'll see divers, non-diving tourist, ex-pats, locals, island professionals from 18yrs old on up. They've actually figured out a way to get all walks together, mingling, drinking and enjoying what Ed would probably agree with, GoodTimes.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marcoa211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“GREAT EATS / GREAT TIMES in the West End”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

We've been visiting the Blue Marlin since they opened. Food is always great and plentiful. Bar scene gets busy but that's because everyone loves the atmosphere. On the water with great views. Karaoke night (Thusdays) gets rocking with a lot of great competition. Save me a seat!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sully111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Impeccable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

Unfortunately we had dinner here the night before we left Roatan. I say "unfortunately" because our dinner was so good that had we known, we would have eaten here more often during our two-week vacation. The lobster was absolutely divine, and the margarita was the tightest one that I have ever had - so crisp that it set a standard for me.

Also, this was the one of the few restaurants in Roatan where I dined that truly deserved the prices that they charged. (And, in my opinion, it is not an expensive restaurant.)

Interestingly enough, we were there on would could and should have been an off night - the restaurant had to close early for what turned out to be Tropical Storm Harvey. However, the food and the service were impeccable. I look forward to eating there again and highly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Marlin also viewed

 
West End, Roatan
Roatan, Bay Islands
 

Been to Blue Marlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing