We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Seafood and Ambience!”
Review of Gio's Restaurant

Gio's Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 212 Restaurants in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $38
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Opened since December 7, 1994, Gio's Restaurant has been serving islanders and tourists with an excellent combination of local seafood and italian cuisine. Gio's Restaurant was awarded the title of one of the Top 30 Touristic Marvels of Honduras for pioneering a dish focused on the Spiny Caribbean King Crab (Mithrax Spinosissimus). The taste and tenderness of the crab is unparalleled and a real treat for Roatan newcomers. Indigenous to the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef System, the Spiny King Crab brings a unique taste to Honduran cuisine for all visitors to enjoy. Roatan serves as both the Honduran touristic capital and the hub for seafood exportation. Gio's takes advantage of the ample supply of local seafood to craft their well-known dishes.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
147 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great Seafood and Ambience!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Out of all the restaurants that I dined at on Roatan, this was by far my favorite...

From the time we walked in for a late dinner of grilled lobster and pasta, we were treated very nicely by the staff. The lobster tail was fresh and cooked the way I like it. This is the only restaurant that didn't feel so touristy and yet didn't skimp on service.

I fell in love with the atmosphere from the moment we set foot in it - the wood floors and high ceilings - it felt like I was entering someone's beautiful island home!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    118
    42
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyattsville
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The King Crab House - feast for two”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Order Gio's crab, lobster and shrimp plate special designed to be shared if you're interested in a fresh seafood feast for two. We were served so much in fresh crustaceans that we almost felt apologetic toward the critters that must have been caught just hours before.

If you like butter with your seafood, order extra immediately as we found what comes automatically was insufficient, and the wait for extra butter resulted in a major cool-down of our dinner.

Enjoy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BnB_Digs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
168 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great seafood and they take plastic”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Taken here by our private tour guide and ate king crab, lobster, shrimp with potato and salad that was enough for 2 for $39. They take which was hard to find in roatan. Great service and seating right on the ocean. I would return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nyormirror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Oregon, Oregon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Greastest seafood ever!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you want sea food, Gios is the place to go on Roatan. Get the lobster tail and king grab combo plate- its as fresh as if you just caught it. Its about $20 a plate but for the amount of food you get it is really reasonable. You will have to crack the crab with a mallet, but hey, thats half the fun! It's messy but worth it. Great outside seating, great view on the water, clean inside and out and great ambiance. All I can say is yummmmmy!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jolen6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West End, Honduras
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best seafood specialised seafood in town”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

if your are looking for a seafood restaurant this is your place. Gio's serves very good seafood all year around. they've been in the process of remodelling the restaurants and updating the decoration, which was out of date, but they have done a very good job. The menu is still the same as it was 5 years ago, with the addition of a couple of plates. Make sure you ask for the grilled vegetables instead of the steamed ones, it gives a great complement to any seafood you order.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gio's Restaurant also viewed

 
West Bay, Roatan
 

Been to Gio's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing