We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal, best atmosphere, best sunset on all of Roatan”

La Sirena de Camp Bay
Ranked #17 of 213 Restaurants in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner
Waxhaw, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal, best atmosphere, best sunset on all of Roatan”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

My husband and three children made the long, but gorgeous trip to this restaurant. Yes, it is a shack over the water, but it is one of the most unique dining experiences you will ever have. We were the only people there and the husband and wife team were so friendly and welcoming. We even enjoyed playing with their dogs. This is such a unique place on the island, surrounded by only a few houses and a tiny village, if you can even call it that. The water is gorgeous! We times it just right to watch one of the most beautiful sunsets on the entire island. We had lobster, lion fish, ceviche, shrimp, and it was all excellent. We also had key lime pie that was excellent and the kids loved the coconut candy. Well worth the drive. It is not exactly "cheap" to eat here when comparing it to Honduras prices, but well worth the money!! Still less expensive than a seafood meal in the states.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grovemmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    57
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macedonia, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Rent a Kayak!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I did NOT eat here, however I was visiting this side of the island to snorkel. Myself and my boyfriend came across this gem, and decided to rent a Kayak. The rental was $10 USD if you're just renting OR $5 USD if you ate at their establishment. The employees were courteous, and helpful by assisting with us getting the Kayak in the sea. Snorkeling out on this side of the island can be difficult, if you're not use to a strong current. I'd suggest you check the tides prior to kayaking or snorkeling out at this location. The scenery was breathtaking here!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alana890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive East.”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Some of the best food on the island comes out of this tiny shack over the water. A great place to watch the sunset and drink a rum punch or two. The lobster with garlic mashed potatoes is always very good, real comfort food. My husband has never ordered anything else! The lionfish fingers are great too. And the ceviche is delicious as well. We can't wait to return to Roatan and to La Sirena. What a great place!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mlucky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"The Best"”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This time we had chosen La Sirena to have our Anniversary with the whole family. We couldn't had a better idea. They came from different places and everybody was delighted and very happy with the service and the food. We spend all day there enjoying rum punches and their other great goodies. They prepare a large table for the group and we had our dinner. Lobster, their famous mash potatoes and veggies and the delicious key-lime pie. We are all looking forward for the next celebration to repeat this memorable experience. If you want to go just for the food or special occasions we definitely recommend reservations.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sofia012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nearly a must do”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Atmosphere (truly original), Darlene the bartender/waitress/hostess and sweetest woman on the island all topped off with fantastic food... a real treat...

Yes.. the road (8-10 miles of unkept dirt) makes you wonder if it is going to be worth it. It truly is.
The actual building appears to be the tiniest hut ever built at the end of a dock turned out to be a great spot for 8 in our group and several others.

Seriously... you will enjoy this place but do tey to make reservations...

Helpful?
Thank CharlieD1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sirena de Camp Bay also viewed

 

Been to La Sirena de Camp Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing