We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Eco lodge not to be missed!”
Review of Upachaya Eco-Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Upachaya Eco-Lodge
Ranked #2 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Eco lodge not to be missed!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed just over a week at Upachaya and absolutely loved the location. Great place to get away and be at peace with yourself and nature. Barb is an excellent host and tour guide of all the flora and wildlife on the grounds. I highly recommend the snorkeling tour as well. Al was a super guide pointing out all the exotic sea life.
The rooms were all unique with very nice decor and cleanliness.
Although I didn't have the opportunity to enjoy one of Barb's yoga classes I did take advantage of the Mangrove center and took my yoga mat out one morning to do my own routine in her peaceful sanctuary. The pool is a great place to lounge and suntan with a good book.
At night the pier is a great spot for stargazing but take a torch down so you don't need the pathway lights on.
I'm looking forward to signing up for a retreat at Upachaya very soon!
Thanks for an enjoyable getaway!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jiramae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
52
19
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

After reading the reviews on trip advisor I called to book a snorkelling trip. All that was available was kayaking, something my husband and I did not feel comfortable with. Barb put on another excursion for the 4 of us and it was amazing. Starting with Marco our driver, he was very talkative, and answered our questions about the island. When we arrived we were graciously welcomed by Barb. Alejandro and Mario took us snorkelling and it was fantastic!! Alejandro came in the water with us, showed us tons of fish, eels, octopus, a barracuda, conch, sea urchin. And the highlight, we followed 3 giant rays around, it was incredible! We returned to have a wonderful lunch, hosted by Barb. She told us about Upachaya, it is a very lovely place. When we return to Roatan we would definitely stay there!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyK107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Hello, I took a group of women to a 7 day retreat to Roatan and we stayed at Upachaya. Each room also had air conditioning for those who tend to get warmer. The staff was lovely, warm and gracious. The meals were well thought out, fresh, beautifully prepared and organic or fresh, locally grown ingredients. Upachaya also has a lovely pool with water fall an deck to enjoy. The weather was not too warm but the mosquitos are everywhere. That was the only down side to Roatan. Make sure you take good repellants that work. Upachaya gives good service, beautiful location, friendly staff and excellent yummy meals...gluten-free or whatever your preference is.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are bright, colorful and comfortable. Staying on the ground floor was what I enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drimsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is definitely for those who wish to get away from it all. After the initial shock of being unplugged I thoroughly embraced the experience. Barbara, the owner and lady of the lodge goes beyond the call of duty providing some of the best meals I have had on Roatan including her wonderful company. Also she is an excellent yoga teacher. Do try the kundalini yoga class held on Monday and Friday mornings - an invigorating way to start the day! Currently Upachaya lodge is an undiscovered gem - this will not last for long...!? I hope to return for her forthcoming detox retreat in the fall. Thank you Barbara for treating me like a friend and for what was an uplifting experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed comfortable opening out onto a porch with a wonderful view of the indigenous fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliza W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Based on very positive Trip Advisor reviews, my wife and I booked a kayak/snorkel tour with Upachaya for the day our Holland America cruise ship docked at Isla Roatan, February 28, 2013. We add our voices to the excellent reviews on which we relied.

Barbara and her staff provided a friendly, well-managed and safe small-group experience, for significantly less than we would have had to pay for a Holland America sponsored kayak/snorkel tour. The Upachaya facility is underutilized for such a wonderful value; my wife and I were the only kayak/snorkel tour participants, so we had only a group of four: the two of us and two guides. As word gets out, I hope many more will choose to take advantage of this fabulous facility.

Although we did not stay overnight on this trip, we will choose Upachaya's clean, comfortable bed/breakfast facility if we ever plan to stay on Isla Roatan for a few days.

Yes, the ride from the cruise terminal takes you past a garbage dump. So what? If you do not wish to see "real" life in a Central American community, stay in the "Disneyland-like" cruise terminal compound and shop for local trinkets from merchants who are charged high rents by the cruise lines. For me, the drive across the island through the real community was fascinating. If you desire good value in a peaceful, friendly experience in an interesting and beautiful facility, look no further.

Ralph Pond

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Wisconsin, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is the most amazing place on the island. All the staff makes you feel at home and really want you to have the best time. The lodge is very secluded away from noise and the busy streets. You can lay by the beautiful pool or go on some snorkeling tours which are also amazing. The food is out of this world! Trust me we tried number of restaurants and they didn't even come close to the food here. I highly recommend this outstanding facility!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I wanted to surprise my mother with an awesome day trip. I called Barbara up and mentioned that this was a special day because it had been a long time since I've seen her. We arranged a snorkel kayak trip which was the highlight of her visit. The resort is absolutely beautiful, it is a true retreat. The whole place was hand built. The guides were very friendly, on the kayak & snorkel trip we saw lots of wild life, and were provided with water to keep us hydrated. After the tour, there was an all natural meal with a nice selection of vegetarian friendly plates ready for us. Overall, this is a must do when visiting Roatan. On a side note; the owner gave us a fun board game about living in Roatan. Two thumbs and a big-toe up!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roatan hotels
7.4 mi away
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in First Bight
342 reviews
3.2 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
603 reviews
4.5 mi away
Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
7.2 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
5.4 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upachaya Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upachaya Eco-Lodge

Property: Upachaya Eco-Lodge
Address: Man O' War Harbour, Roatan IB3100, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Upachaya Eco-Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upachaya Eco-Lodge and Wellness Resort offers both All Inclusive and Bed & Breakfast accommodations catering to most dietary concerns and needs, i.E.: Gluten-free, vegetarian, vegan, dairy free, grain free, etc. Hidden away on Roatan's undiscovered north shore Upachaya sits on Man O' War Harbor in a quiet, tranquil garden setting away from the busy tourist areas. Yoga, spa treatments, snorkeling, paddleboarding and kayaking are available. Clean, modern, comfortable rooms with ceiling fans, A/C, coffee makers, and refrigerators, await you. Take advantage of Upachaya's wellness resort events focused on alternative healing modalities designed to improve the total you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Upachaya Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Upachaya Eco-Lodge Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing