We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truly Enchanting Getaway”
Review of Upachaya Eco-Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Upachaya Eco-Lodge
Ranked #2 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Upachaya is a gem tucked into a quiet corner of the island of Roatan. It is quite easy to appreciate the care and intentionality that has gone into creating this lovely hotel and spa. I have never spent time in a more wholesome, reviving place. The hotel is located in the midst of a lush, green picturesque landscape. Guests are greeted by the beautiful native ecosystems of the island. On the walk out to the dock, which leads to a pristine bay of the Caribbean, guests find themselves in the middle of mangroves and native animals unique only to the island. Upachaya offers the incredible opportunity to explore one of the most beautiful coral reefs on the island conveniently located only a canoe ride away from shores of Upachaya. Snorkeling there you can see a steep drop-off cliff giving you an incredible look into the depths of the colorful wildlife that exists just beyond the shoreline. After a day exploring the reef, the meditaiton and yoga room is a perfect place to enjoy some quieter moments or be led by the owner of the hotel herself in some full mind and body yoga. All the food is wonderfully fresh, healthy and tasty! If you are looking for a little more activity, the more touristy part of the island is only a little ride into town, which the hotel provides. There you will find all the food, drinks and nightlife you could ever want, but at the end of the night come back to the quiet tranquility of Upachaya.

I could not recommend visiting Upachaya more highly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liana08_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Upachaya Eco-Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 142 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

I visited Upachaya on January 2nd with my husband, teenage daughter, our friends, and their teenage daughter. We booked one half day of snorkeling. We came prepared with biodegradable, reef-safe insect repellant and sunscreen. Marquito met us at the cruise pier holding up a sign. After a brief walk to a nice van, we set out to the resort. The ride was about 25 minutes. Marquito alerted us we'd be driving past the town dump which is located on the side-road to the resort. ( Not an issue -by the way. Upachaya is well past it)
We arrived at the resort and set out following Marquito down many flights of stairs past a gorgeus little pristine swimming pool to a set of natural looking buildings: equipment shed, bathrooms,a large thatched-roof palapa, and a cute little one person bar window. Barbara has a nice garden all around with horticultural notes. We were fitted with good equipment by our PADI Certified Dive Master and captain Al. We all set out down a wood trail through the mangroves to a solid dock and boat. Al snorkeled with us while his assistant expertly handled the boat. Al took tons of pictures with our friend daughter's camera, helped us see an incredible amount of coral, fish, lobsters, eels, starfish, etc., and made sure our equipment was working just right for us. We had two 'dives' and Al jumped in impromtu with the kids when a large ray swam by. Al was tremendous fun all while being professional! What a genuinely friendly great guy! After snorkeling Barbara had a beautiful lunch waiting for us in the studio.
In short- this experience was first-rate!!! Every person at Upachaya from the driver to the owner Barbara was a pure delight! Thank you guys! We hope to come back! BJB.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Bj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Barbara had such a beautiful place tucked in a small bay that led out to some great snorkeling. My girlfriend and traveled there from a cruise ship the week after thanksgiving and was amazed at what Barbara had done with her little slice of paradise.
Once we got of the ship we had to find her driver, that was located outside the gates of the ship terminal,( very import to know ) and he drove us about 15-20 minutes to Upachaya. We were a bit worried by the path we took to get there. Not scary but you definetly see what is not shown in the tour guide booklets. We've had the privilege to travel much of the Caribbean, so we're used to that but I was a bit shocked by the route we took. Once we got there I totally dismissed the drive there. She had built a beautiful oasis on a hillside that went down to a cove filled with mangroves. As she walked down to bottom of the hill she would stop occasionaly and share with us some of the local flora and local the uses of plants and trees. Her staff was very polite and friendly. We were the only two of the group who opted to kayak out to the reef and glad we did. We paddled through the mangroves and out into the ocean where we experienced some great snorkeling. Lots of sea life everywhere especially at the drop off.
When we returned she and her staff had a meal prepared for us, local dishes made by a local woman. I'm still growing, so finished all of what was left. It was good to me.
Hope you enjoy
And also know that when you return you will have time to walk around the town. It's not a big town but a few shops along the strip. Be aware that someone will start walking with you and be "your" guide. Most of whom we saw were respectful and friendly with asking only a few dollars by the time you go back to the ship. If you don't want them around or if another person tries to intrude be clear when you say " NO THANK YOU". They should just walk away. But having a guide was beneficial and fun to have around.
Also, the BBQ iquana has a lot of bones in it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We slept 4 nights in this ecolodge... The owner is just wonderful, and the place is nice... Food is extremely good... We would recommend this place fully... You don't have the beach in front of the hotel, but it's just so restfull to be away from these big touristic hotels... In Upachaya you feel at home and that's so great! Thanks Barb!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I went on a snorkeling excursion at Upachaya on Dec. 13 while in port on the Carnival Legend. Al, our guide and dive master, is a certified skuba instructor and was so patient and helpful with each of the seven members of our group, even those of us who were not swimmers. He took us away from the boat to interesting and fantastically beautiful areas of reef, where we were blown away by the gorgeous, colorful coral and tons of different fish. Then he took us to an area full of hugh sea stars, and brought some up for us to hold, and even took our cameras and photographed us. Afterwards we had a delicious and healthy lunch with Barbara, the owner, and she showed us around her property, pointing out all the tropical plants and flowers. Her lodge looks like a great place to spend some time on Roatan.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandj35747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Barb took care of me like family. I stayed there for 2 nights and had the meals and was blown away by the variety and the taste. The building is in great condition and built to US codes and it shows, my room had AC, a ceiling van and a very comfortable bed! The entire area is wonderful, I even took part in my very first Yoga class with Barb and it was awesome. I spent most of my day sitting by the pool reading a book in this very quiet location. If transportation is needed around the island a very safe and on-time service is used by Barb and they were great to me. I can't say anything bad about this place- it is rare to find a place like this and I'm glad I got to stay and experience it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was our 2nd time here off a cruise ship and we brought friends who also loved the snorkeling. Although it rained a bit, we all still had a fantastic time. Barbara provides a great excursion and Al was a perfect boat captain and dive master.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
Thank TXDrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roatan hotels
3.2 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
610 reviews
5.5 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
598 reviews
7.2 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#3 of 14 in West Bay
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in First Bight
346 reviews
7.5 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
4.1 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upachaya Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upachaya Eco-Lodge

Address: Man O' War Harbour, Roatan IB3100, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Roatan
Price Range: $122 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Upachaya Eco-Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upachaya Eco-Lodge and Wellness Resort offers both All Inclusive and Bed & Breakfast accommodations catering to most dietary concerns and needs, i.E.: Gluten-free, vegetarian, vegan, dairy free, grain free, etc. Hidden away on Roatan's undiscovered north shore Upachaya sits on Man O' War Harbor in a quiet, tranquil garden setting away from the busy tourist areas. Yoga, spa treatments, snorkeling, paddleboarding and kayaking are available. Clean, modern, comfortable rooms with ceiling fans, A/C, coffee makers, and refrigerators, await you. Take advantage of Upachaya's wellness resort events focused on alternative healing modalities designed to improve the total you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Upachaya Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Upachaya Eco-Lodge Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing