We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place”
Review of Upachaya Eco-Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Upachaya Eco-Lodge
Ranked #2 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Roatan, Bay Islands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very special place”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

A friend invited me to come with her for an overnight at Upachaya. What a wonderful experience we had. Barbara is a very accomodating host, making sure we were comfortable and happy. The serenity of the place was just what I needed. No television or wi-fi access, and that was just fine with me. A beautiful pool with swim-up bar was where we spent several happy hours, cooling off. The room was very comfortable, spacious and clean. The ceiling fan was enough for us though Barbara is currently having air-conditioning installed in each room.
Barbara prepared a delicious dinner and breakfast for us; healthy cooking (until a decadent dessert!)
The Kundalini yoga class Barbara had just for us was great; rejuvenating me totally.

While I'd love to keep this gem a secret, it is only fair to promote it so Barbara has great success with her dream to offer Upachaya for all to experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
51
19
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I went with a friend of mine to have a little getaway at Upachaya. Barb is a warm, welcoming host, and the property is beautiful: well-manicured ground, lovely pool. Our room was clean, the beds comfortable, and the bathroom was gorgeous. It only had a ceiling fan for cooling, but Barb said she'll be adding a/c within the next couple months. We had dinner there, which was delicious. In the morning, we attended one of Barb's yoga classes, which take place in a thatched-roof, screened pavilion. The class was super-relaxing, and our stay overall was great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hostelMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka Lakes, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Surreal is the only word I can think of to describe the feeling of peacefulness and utmost relaxation that occurs upon stepping on the property of Upachaya. Surrounded by lush vegetation and the hypnotizing calls of a variety of wildlife including parrots, one is mesmerized by the natural beauty of this magical place. We have experienced several aspects of Upachaya, from Kundalini yoga classes to the kayak/snorkel tour, all are beyond our highest expectations.
Travelling from our home in Canada we choose to live on a different island for 5 months each winter. Roatan has spoken to us as an island to which we would return and Upachaya has played an integral part in this decision. The owners, Barb and Duane are warm, friendly, attentive, honest people who care about your happiness, wellness and the well being of the environment. Hats off to both Barb and Duane for creating this tranquil, extraordinary retreat.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2012

This was one of our favorite excursions ever. We were able to kayak and snorkel with a very small group of people, and the guides were wonderful. We went kayaking along the mangroves, and saw all kinds of fish and coral reefs. Upachaya is a very beautful place; the food was great and the owners were very informative. We learned a lot about the local trees and fruit. I would go back again today if I had the chance.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirobles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We booked a snorkel trip with Upachaya and it was GREAT! We followed the directions provided on how to meet with the driver, Mahogany Bay makes it difficult to exit the compound- but the instructions were clear and it's totally worthwhile to do so. Anyway, we were picked up and taken to the Upachaya property. We really enjoyed getting to see the "real" Roatan on our way to the property. The property is well kept and there are beautiful views! We boarded the boat and set out for our excursion. The other parties in our group varied in swimming ability- from strong swimmers to weak swimmers/children- however our guides handled the different abilities wonderfully. I also want to add that it was a small group- and they take great care to keep the groups small and personalized when you book. The guides were knowledgeable about the sea life, and pointed out many very neat things we might have otherwise missed. Bring your water camera- they'll help you to get some great shots! Between our two snorkel locations we had some refreshments and enjoyed the beauty of Roatan from the sea. When we returned to Upachaya we were welcomed with a homemade lunch spread. Every single thing was delicious! The food was all very light and healthful which great- it totally hit the spot was! We spent the lunch chatting with the other parties and owners of Upachaya; it was interesting to hear their experience of moving from the US to Roatan. I have to admit I was nervous about doing an independent excursion, because I didn't want to be "left behind" by the cruise ship- but they got us back in plenty of time! On the return journey to Mahogany Bay, the driver gave us an impromptu tour of Coxen Hole. We were both glad we left the Mahogany Bay compound as when we returned we had time to walk around a bit-- it was such a canned version of what the cruise companies want you to see (and spend your money on). The Upachaya Snorkel Excursion was a good value, and I would HIGHLY recommend it, you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We were so glad that we booked the snorkelling trip at Upachaya. We followed the directions sent to us and soon found Marco who was waiting to take us to Upachaya. It's a lovely property (made me think of the Swiss Family Robinson).
After a short walk to the quay, we were off on our trip. Al, our captain and JJ, first mate took us to our first snorkel site. We saw amazing coral (better than we saw at The Great Barrier Reef) and plenty of fish including a very large sting-ray.
The second site was also very good but we were unlucky enough to be caught in a very heavy downpour which meant that the water wasn't clear enough to see through but..hey-ho.. such is life and it didn't spoil our day. I did feel very sorry for the little family who were trying to fish during the storm though!
We were lucky enough to be joined on our trip by Barb and Duane and two of their friends, all very friendly. The meal on return to Upachaya was delicious as was the monkey la-la.
If you're thinking of snorkelling on Isla Roatan, please use this company. You won't regret it and you'll be back at the ship in plenty of time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHARDLADY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We arrived with NCL and booked a Snorkeltrip with Upachaya. The Service was outstanding, Marco picked us up from the Pier and drove us to this beautyful Upachaya Eco-Lodge. The best Snorkel expirence we ever had, just beautyful! The Owners are very friendly, you just feel welcome! Barbara, provided the best homemade Food and a jummy "Monkey La La". For us for sure we come back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CS1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roatan hotels
4.1 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
3.2 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
7.5 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
7.2 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
4.5 mi away
Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upachaya Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upachaya Eco-Lodge

Property: Upachaya Eco-Lodge
Address: Man O' War Harbour, Roatan IB3100, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Upachaya Eco-Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upachaya Eco-Lodge and Wellness Resort offers both All Inclusive and Bed & Breakfast accommodations catering to most dietary concerns and needs, i.E.: Gluten-free, vegetarian, vegan, dairy free, grain free, etc. Hidden away on Roatan's undiscovered north shore Upachaya sits on Man O' War Harbor in a quiet, tranquil garden setting away from the busy tourist areas. Yoga, spa treatments, snorkeling, paddleboarding and kayaking are available. Clean, modern, comfortable rooms with ceiling fans, A/C, coffee makers, and refrigerators, await you. Take advantage of Upachaya's wellness resort events focused on alternative healing modalities designed to improve the total you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your Upachaya Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Upachaya Eco-Lodge Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing