We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Pirates of the Caribbean Canopy Tour
Ranked #35 of 214 Tours in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Spring Hill, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Not your cruise ship package tour....you pass thru the gates from the cruise ship terminal and are picked up by a driver taking you there. There were 2 guides with us who were very helpful. The Extreme Zip line has 8 or 10 lines that criss-cross between 2 mountains. Inexpensive for this type of adventure, and quite an andrenaline rush! The guides assisted and went before and after us, making sure we were safe. The office had clean restrooms and really cute monkeys you could bond with. Expect to rough it, not for the faint of heart....a little primitive, but lots of fun, and good people running it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    57
    14
    5
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Go for the fun--not for the thrill of it!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My family of 5 zipped on the Pirates of the Caribbean Extreme, Extreme zipline during our port stop off the Carnival Legend in August. The Extreme, Extreme zipline zips the rider from mountain top to mountain top. Although this zipline only has 8 zips, we chose it because it has the highest (328) and longest lines (1,980 feet) in all the Americans! Doesn't that sound thrilling?

When we arrived, besides seeing a few monkeys, we did not see any other visitors there. We paid for the excursion and were quickly harnessed up.

Next we climbed aboard an open-air safari type truck with our guides Dwayne and Iron. We drove a short distance to a mountain top. It appeared as if we were on the highest point in the middle of the island, as from this vantage point, we could see the ocean on both sides of us.

The boys enjoyed hanging upside down while zipping and it was almost like a roller coaster ride when the guides would pull up and down on the lines creating a nice bouncy ride for us! Lots of fun!

As we zipped from line to line we slowly made our descent down—and all the while we never saw anyone else!

We completed all 8 lines in under one hour. The Pirates of the Caribbean Extreme, Extreme zipline was safe and easy. There is no need to worry about breaking as this zipline does not zip the rider that fast and you end up slowing down naturally by gravity. Although the lines where high, and although my harness kept turning me around which caused me to ride the zip backwards--I did not find it scary. Since you do not pick up a lot of speed, it is not that thrilling of a zip--but overall it still offers the rider a great fly!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank cz63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All I can say is AWESOME”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

If you haven't been zip lining, i would deffinately recommend you doing it here. I chose them for the reason that they have the tallest and longest lines in north and south america. The guides were awesome, fun and so helpful. My father can't walk long distances because of back problems, but these gentleman did everything they could to help load his motorized chair in their bus and make him feel safe at all times. The family had a complete blast and it was just too beautiful!!!! Loved it!!
Kristin Peterson

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kristin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas, United States
1 review
“AWWWESOME!!!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Ok so to start out, getting there was kind of scary. You have to walk a bit from the cruise ship to get to where they pick you up and walk through a bunch of people hounding you to go with them. DON'T!!! You will have to pay for their transportation on top of the cost of the tour. Wait to see the Pirates sign and go with them. We had to wait for them to come back after they left to take another group. It was kind of nerve racking because we kept getting told that these people worked for the company. Good thing we didn't go with them. It's kind of a long drive to get to the location and although the van is air conditioned, it's old. Our guide Junior kept us entertained with info about the island the whole way. He was extremely friendly and he only makes tip money. The company does not pay him so make sure to take care of your guide and he will take care of you! We got to the location and they had some monkeys hanging out which was kind of cool to see. There is a big sign that says don't touch the monkeys but as long as you have someone that works there with you, they will let you touch them. We get all harnessed up and take a jeep type vehicle to the top of the hill where we begin. We did the Extremely Extreme so the first zip was the longest one. I have been zip lining before so I knew what to expect but the people that were with me didn't and one of them was really nervous. Our guides were awesome about calming her nerves. It was soooo much fun and we got to learn about the plants and trees along the way (like how they make wine and drinks out of thefruits from them). At our last zip they had a photographer taking pictures of us coming down. It only cost $15 per couple to get a CD of all the images. WELL WORTH IT!!! I hate pictures but ours came out great! Afterwards our guide took us to this beach resort which we could pay another $10 and stay there for a few hours (Our choice how long we wanted to stay). They had all kinds of activities to do there but of course we only did the drinking. The drinks were yummy and reasonable. Also they were mainly booze so it only took a couple and we were stumbling! LOL! Finally they brought us back to the port (on time which was a big concern since we didn't book through the cruise ship). It was a great overall experience and we are still talking about it a week later!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Awesome Fun - but not if you are afraid of heights”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was our first time at ziplining – taking an afternoon off from diving at CoCoView. Pirates is located within walking distance of CoCoView & Fantasy Island resorts. As we were the only customer when we did the course, we were in & out in a hour. It takes a certain gutsiness to throw yourself off the edge for the first time, but once you do it, it is addictive.

Minuses – one of our 2 guides spoke NO English. Good thing I speak passable Spanish or we would have been in trouble. Guides also hint a lot about tips. But it is great on-land fun. Recommended.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyLu_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pirates of the Caribbean Canopy Tour also viewed

 
Roatan, Bay Islands
 

Been to Pirates of the Caribbean Canopy Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing