We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hole in the Wall” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hole in the Wall

Hole in the Wall
Ranked #71 of 205 Restaurants in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Barbecue, Pub, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Roswell, New Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hole in the Wall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

We just returned from Roatan, We ate at Hole in the Wall twice, Cheeseburger and fries was great. Sunday Buffet was good , The staff and manager are all great! A wonderful place to hang out, and ICE cold cokes and beer.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Terri018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    65
    23
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“thanks for the good time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

great atmosphere, friendly people make sure you take a t shirt or hat to hang on wall.
went for the sunday buffet was all fresh and wonderful thanks again

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kmojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“a different experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

A small restaurant where you can eat lobster and hamburgers... The staff there is so nice!! Its a different experience... A thing to see!!! You can do this excursion with a mangroves visit very nice!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mef2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPERIAL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Must Go see, do and eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Turn off the main road at Jonesville to the right and head down the hill to a parking lot by the water. There is a small store and other people in the area who will summons up the free boat ride to Hole in the Wall restaurant.
This is not your typical Mom and Pop restaurant, you have to have a feeling of adventure and want to get away from it all. Other reviews below were probably from some "city dwellers" and were not of an open mind. I've been to Hole in the Wall twice from Cruise Boats and have even planted a geocache there. December 26th will be the 3rd time I've traveled to this place. We plan on having lunch there and a few drinks.
Suggestions: Riding scooters anywhere around Roatan can be dangerous due to the crime rate. Get a cab or as we do - Bodden Tours who are very affordable and provide the security you need.. (You can google them) Once at Hole in the Wall, buy your driver a lunch/drink to keep him happy!
Have fun getting away from it all, no formal attire needed here.
Bob

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BBD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Have a beer but don't eat!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We went to this restaurant 6 years ago and had a decent meal, and the place had just the right combo of quirkiness and beautiful setting. We decided to go there again, even though our boat driver suggested (several times) that we might want to think twice about eating there. Definitely should have listened, because the food was absolutely terrible (the lobster was similar to fish flavored chewing gum), overcooked, and service was slow. I heard that the original owner had passed away several years ago, and that must account for the change. The setting is still lovely, but I would suggest having a beer there and then taking the advice of your guide as to where to eat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nursetommey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hole in the Wall also viewed

 

Been to Hole in the Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing