We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahh, SeaGroveRetreat!”
Review of Seagrove Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seagrove Retreat
Ranked #23 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Roatan
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ahh, SeaGroveRetreat!”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Thanks Paul and Julie for an exciting yet relaxing two weeks in wonderland! We stayed in the boathouse right over the water and enjoyed the heck out of that deck. Who says you can't catch your dinner from that balcony? We caught enough fish for plenty of ceviche and even more to share. We made (almost) daily kayak trips to Jonesville through the mangroves and snorkeled the various reaches of the bay including the old sunken ship. Junior does such a wonderful job taking care of the grounds. It felt like a botanical garden with quite a variety of flowers and trees. Thanks, too, to Franklin for his excellent touring services both on land and in the water. He really knows how to move that boat through the waves. We're looking to return again before too long.

Room Tip: The boathouse bedroom was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julzebop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Pleasant, SC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Wow!! Our family had the pleasure of staying in this little piece of paradise recently on a family vacation. We rented the entire estate and had plenty of room to be together and plenty of space to escape if needed. Junior, the caretaker and Franklin the property manager, "concierge" were most helpful in every way. They went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and they tended to our every need. The views from the main house and the boathouse are amazing. We really enjoyed snorkeling at the reef and exploring the canals, which carved their way through the mangroves, all easily accessed by kayaks from the boathouse. Paddle boarding and hand line fishing from the dock were both awesome new experiences. The island was a wonderful place to explore, both the east and west ends, but mostly meeting many locals made the vacation authentic.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, SC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

My family and I spent a week at Seagrove Retreat and could not have had a better experience. Paul and Julie were excellent at answering our many questions and helping us to know what to expect on our arrival. Junior the caretaker and Franklin the property manager met us at the airport. Because there were nine of us, they brought another family member to ride in the second car and show us to the grocery store. When we arrived at the house, we were delighted with the house and the property. The views are spectacular, the setting is very private and has everything you could want for an enjoyable vacation. My husband and I enjoyed the very private upstairs master suite complete with its own private screened porch. Our two eldest children with their spouses stayed in the first floor bedrooms each with its own bath. The main part of the house is not air conditioned, but because of the design and wide porches, takes advantage of the ocean breezes. The bedrooms are air conditioned and we were cool and comfortable. Our two single sons and grown grandson shared the boat house and loved it. We took advantage of the boat, kayaks and snorkeling gear to explore the nearby reefs. Franklin and Junior kept close tabs on us and were happy to escort us to different parts of the island or take us snorkeling or to a private beach. Paul had suggested a cook, Eleena that we used six nights, She was an amazing cook, bought all of the food for the evening meals and was very affordable. We could not have had a more enjoyable vacation. If you are looking for a tranquil, safe and lovely spot for your vacation, Seagrove Retreat is the place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetpea29902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Other commenters have done a good job with descriptions, I'll just give a list version of pros and cons.

Pros:
Right on the water.
Greats snorkeling is a 5 minute paddle away.
"East End Divers" is just around the peninsula for SCUBA divers.
Very clean and open layout with wraparound porch with great views of the bay.
Nicely groomed landscape.
Pool for cooling off and talking around.
Closer to less explored and developed East side of island.
2 Queen, 1 King and a Sleeper Sofa in main house.

Cons:
Recommend an SUV for getting in and out of retreat.
House and boathouse are accessed by taking steep stairs down the hillside.
40+ minutes from the more touristy West side of the island.

Relaxed Eating Experiences:
Kals by Parrot Tree Resort on main road.
Marble hill Farms (closes at 7:30) on way to east side
Paya Bay resort

Scuba:
East Side Divers
Reef Gliders (great food too)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SethBlanchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Seagrove Retreat was luxurious and relaxing. To get there you wind through lush mountains with awe-inspiring views of the sea below. Upon arrival, you are greeted by a house nestled into a hillside, well terraced and landscaped, overlooking a turquoise bay edged by a colorful reef wall that stretches into the deep depths. The accommodations are well appointed, open, and the art-filled walls blend into the outside seascape. The main house rooms have beautiful wooden furniture and baths with beautiful tile. The kitchen is well equipped, stainless and inspires one to cook the catch from the bay below. A wrap around porch grants you the opportunity to see beauty from every perspective and to enjoy the constant breeze. From the porches, you overlook a sparkling pool and deck that bounds with tropical flowers. Further down still, sits the boat house and a large dock gives you shade in between diving, snorkeling and boating & a perfect perching place to star gaze in the evenings. Don your gear right off of the dock and begin your underwater adventure. Or take a kayak, and weave through the mangrove-fringed river. Stop along neighboring coves and dine or drink at the pastel-colored and charming restaurants/bars that are sprinkled about the area.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time with Paul and Julia (and Junior, a local Father who keeps Seagrove looking picturesque). They are wonderful people - caring and a joy to be around. They provide a great resource for surrounding activities, such as booking private diving with a local to visit numerous reefs great for the beginner and advanced alike.

We would definitely love to go back soon!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank buoy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2009

We spent a week at Seagrove Retreat on the East End at the end of June. http://www.seagroveretreat.com We flew in from Atlanta and Robert, an expat familiar with the workings of the island and the house, picked us up in the house's own GMC pickup truck with room for five. He drove us back to the "compund" (which consists of a garage, a three bedroom house with swimming pool and a totally separate boathouse with a single bedroom) where we met Junior who is the "watchman" who lives onsite and keeps a lookout on the house and who made sure to help us get comfortable and acted as our island guide to find the grocery stores and great beaches. Seagrove is on the water and sits in a beautiful, quiet bay. There is plenty of snorkeling equipment and kayaks for four. We actually snorkeled throughout the bay and swam out to the reefs at the bay entrance which was the best snorkeling we experienced on the whole island (our own little secret!). We also fished from the dock and the kayaks and there is plenty of action. Paul and Julie who own the home and an inn in Beaufort, SC were very helpful in getting us comfortable with the setup and explaining how everything worked at the house so there were no surprises. The house is awesome. There were four of us and we stayed in the main house, cooked dinner every night in the great kitchen with stainless appliances (we bought food at the grocery stores which are comparable to America's in their offerings which surprised me, but we also had fresh fish and lobster brought to our dock several times from local fisherman which we also bought) and sat on the wraparound porch to eat every night. There were several power outages which is common on the island, but there's a generator which Junior turned on for us to keep the lights on. One day Junior called Clyde for us who came to pick us up and take us over to Hole in the Wall which was a cool 20 minute boat ride. We had a huge lunch buffet of filet mignon and lobster...you have to try it. The house has direct tv and a wireless internet connection so we could keep in touch via email (cell phones can be made to work as well). Bottom line is that this is a great, safe place for a family or group of friends (like we were) to stay for a week or more. We will be back as soon as possible!

Helpful?
2 Thank lilandyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roatan hotels
0.0 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in First Bight
344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas
0.0 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
0.0 mi away
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
#5 of 5 in French Harbour
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagrove Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagrove Retreat

Property: Seagrove Retreat
Address: Roatan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Seagrove Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seagrove Retreat Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing