We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Snorkeling topped off with a Beautiful Sunset” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Upachaya

Upachaya
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: SCHEDULE YOUR TOUR FROM JULY 22nd TO SEPTEMBER 30th AND RECEIVE A 15% DISCOUNT ON ALL TOURS IF YOU MENTION YOU FOUND US ON TRIP ADVISOR. Get away from the crowds and discover Roatan's undeveloped north shore. Just minutes away from both cruise ship terminals. Upachaya offers small, personal tours. Our experienced snorkel guides will show you the hidden wonders of our fabulous reef system and for those on kayaks and paddleboards you will also experience the mangrove tunnels. Transportation, a meal with beverage and snorkel equipment are provided, as well as a Roatan Marine Park Day Pass. Pontoon Snorkel tour for those wanting more comfort - $78.00 Kayak and Snorkel tour for those a bit more adventurous - $78.00 Stand Up Paddleboard tour new and great fun - $68.00 All tours are approximately 4 1/2 hours in length from the time we pick you up until we return you. All guests are provided a short botanical tour of our gardens. Contrary to some of the pictures from reviewers on this site, we ask guests DO NOT TOUCH THE MARINE LIFE. YOUR FINGER OILS COULD KILL IT, OR YOU COULD GET STUNG. WE RESPECT ALL MARINE LIFE AND ASK YOU TO VIEW IT ONLY.
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Snorkeling topped off with a Beautiful Sunset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2009

I came to Roatan for a week in March 2009 and wanted to go snorkeling while I was there. A friend recommended Upachaya Snorkel Tour. I met Dwain and Barbara who run the tour I felt right at home. They are very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. They took us out to a ship wreck on the reef and it was incredible. We saw a large eel in one of the reefs. The fish were so colorful and the variety was incredible. The coral was stunning. At the second location we could just dive the shallow reef or go swim over to a deep natural channel that had a deep wall of reef. We swam over the the reef along the deep channel and it was spectacular. We swam back to the boat discovering the shallow water reef all along the way. We had food and drinks including beer and wine on the boat during the whole trip. At the end of the day we watched the sunset over the ocean from the boat. It was an amazing afternoon of fun with friendly fun people who knew the area. I highly recommend this tour if you ever wanted to scuba dive but you aren't certified. You see a great deal of reef life without the need for scuba tanks.

Helpful?
1 Thank wilddadq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    27
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Wa
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The highlight of my week on Roatan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2009

I recently spent a week on Roatan doing several activities, one of them was the Upachaya Snorkel Tour. What a blast! The best feature for me was snorkeling along the top of a vertical wall of coral which is part of a natural cut in the reef , it drops off into the deep blue and the sides are covered with coral. This is the kind of thing only divers typically get to see but in this spot they take you to it is just a few feet below the surface. They took us to two snorkel locations, both have numerous coral heads in four to ten feet of water to swim around in with more new coral than I have seen in other places. The fish were not as skittish as elsewhere either. One site has a shipwreck that you can snorkel around and the other has the previously mentioned wall you can see if you are adventurous. They served lunch as well with beer and sodas. The entire setting is beautiful and away from the typical crowds on the island. It gave me the feel of what it may have been like a hundred years ago. Of course their comfortable pontoon boat would have been out of place then but it was much better than cruising in a typical power boat. I will definitely come back to this tour again!

Helpful?
3 Thank skibumfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful snorkel and site-seeing trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2009

Jan. 25, 2009 Upachaya Snorkel Tour: reviewed by Linda & Fred Adam

We took the snorkel trip we had heard about that went out to a ship wreck thru pristine clear waters with views of the tropical island that one does not normally get to see. We started at a dock surrounded by mangroves. On the walk to the dock, we saw tropical landscaping with many of the trees/plants labeled with Barbara answering our many questions. .
The boat was comfortable with a cover over one section and plenty of drinks and appetizers provided, especially after you left the water and the hunger hit! At times, you could see the fish alongside, racing the boat as we went slowly thru the clear waters around the mangroves. Within a short time, we were out of the mangroves in gorgeous, open water with visible coral or reef as we headed towards our destination. The boat captain, Duane, pointed out houses, resorts and several lovely beaches along the way that were nestled in the palm trees. After we got to the ship wreck, we could see the reef line not far away, and snorkeled in shallow waters around beautiful coral heads with soft and hard coral on the way to the ship wreck; you could snorkel all around the wreck in approximately 4 to 6 feet of water and/or go to deeper sites and look for rays in the seagrass. If desired, you could swim closer to the reef, depending upon the wave action (very minimal). It was a great, relaxing snorkel trip; and if you didn't care to snorkel, the trip itself was enjoyable and unique with lots to see. This was unlike a snorkel trip just going out in open waters in some of the more crowded areas of Roatan. We highly recommend this tour!

Helpful?
4 Thank reefwaterlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great snorkle experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2009

Yesterday, I went on a snorkel tour with a group of friends. The snorkeling was incredible. The tour is operated by Upachaya Wellness Resort which is owned by Duane and Barb, a couple who moved to Roatan from the Seattle area. They operate in a safe, secluded area inside the reef near Palmetto Bay Plantation (where an episode of "Temptation Island" was filmed). The tour included a ride out to the reef on a comfortable and spacious pontoon boat, drinks, and snacks. Although I am an experienced scuba diver, the area we visited was perfect for even novice snorkelers. The site has a very old shipwreck sticking up out of the crystal clear water which is less than 10 feet deep with almost no current. I will visit Upachaya again.

Ralph Break

Helpful?
4 Thank breakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best snorkeling on Roatan!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

We have snorkeled and dove in quite a few places on Roatan, mostly in the West Bay/West End areas. We had the opportunity to try the Upachaya snorkel tour, and it was fantastic.
You first make your way down the hill and across a boardwalk tastefully positioned through the mangroves. We were lucky to see some interesting bright red crabs scuttling through the mangrove roots.
The dock is very nice, out over the water with an upper level for an even better view of the water. Getting into and out of the boat was very easy.
Their pontoon boat is extremely stable and comfortable, with cushioned seats and plenty of storage. Even though it was a bit choppy that day, the boat rode smoothly and effortlessly.
The trip includes two snorkel sites, with a trip through a mangrove canal in between for those who want to see more of the island's ecology. One of the snorkel spots was near a wreck, which we were told is a freighter that shipwrecked on the reef over 100 years ago. We were delighted to see beautiful hard and soft corals and a plentiful variety of Roatan's resident fish, including a young eel.
On our boat ride, we were also treated to a show of small jacks and needlefish jumping out of the water.
The trip is excellent, the boat ride peaceful and smooth, and the owners are some of the friendliest people you will ever meet. They truly cared about our experience and went out of their way to ensure that we enjoyed ourselves. We will definitely make plans to snorkel with Upachaya again!

Helpful?
3 Thank DiverLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Upachaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing