We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveler rating
105
51
4
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
51
4
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseco diversrope swingwest endhot waterfront porchdirect waterlounge chairshawksbill turtlestrong wifithin wallsgreat snorkelingquiet at nightair conditioninglobsterpeace and quietprivate beachmini fridge
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 168 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2018 via mobile

For clarity, we didn't have a room here. But we planned on snorkeling in the bay, and then getting drinks at th resort bar to be paying customers.

They very curtly kicked us out, even though we weren't causing any problems, and they gave us no option of going to the bar to get food and/or drinks. Don't go here if you want to meet friends or make new ones on the island, or if you don't like providing money to owners whose panties are in a bunch

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with friends
Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2018

This resort was the BEST! It is a cute rustic and serene environment. The convenience to everything was great. The staff was just plain AMAZING! They did well beyond what was expected! You can snorkel the reef right in front of your cabin...about 20 feet away. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrys1432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2018

Excellent spot to relax for a single or a couple. I was solo travelling but really loved the peace and quiet at night. The main drag is no more than 5-minutes away and totally safe to walk alone at night and you can hit any bar or restaurant there.
Half Moon also offers great access to outstanding snorkeling and a fresh water shower to rinse off. Staff were fabulous!
All in all great value.

Room Tip: My room had AC and an overhead fan which was great
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hilary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

Half Moon Resort is about an 8 minute walk from the rowdy action on West End Road, but offers peace and quiet when you want to retreat and relax. It's located right on the Bay off a small, safe, dead-end side road.

There is a multilevel deck that sits just before the water - great for sunrises, sunsets, or just enjoying some breakfast in serenity.

There are stairs leading into the water for you to swim, rope-swing off an old anchored boat, or snorkel. The Resort provides gear if you don't have any, and Eco Divers (a pro dive shop on premise) is just steps away if you want to get scuba certified, do some dives, or go snorkeling further out via boat. They were very legit and accommodating.

In terms of snorkeling, I must mention my friend/guide/Half Moon Resort employee Marvin: he is the Turtle Whisperer. If he offers to take you out for a snorkel, accept it. You won't regret it. The first trip (again, right off the stairs right near the deck) we saw 2 green turtles and a whole gauntlet of interesting fish within 10 minutes. A few minutes later, we were swimming with an abnormally curious, critically endangered Hawksbill turtle. This one hung out with us for awhile. Moray, groupers, snake eels, barracuda, and other species all followed. It was excellent.

The management and staff were helpful, accommodating, and genuinely friendly. They run a family business with a tight-knit group, and it shows (in a very positive way). I read the negative reviews and find it very hard to believe that Rene, a very articulate, pleasant, and educated man would try to intimidate anyone into purchasing lobster (or any items, for that matter). On the contrary, I saw him and other management/staff interacting with some difficult guests with a high level of customer service and grace. Everyone from housekeeping to waitstaff was great - not a bad thing to say.

They offer solid air conditioning in very nice rooms and free water to guests. This is a big deal for me. Roatán is hot. There charges for some things, but they are presented to you clearly prior to agreement. If you are a guest, there is a charge for a mini fridge. You can accept or decline. If you aren't a guest, there are hours and charges clearly posted for use of chairs. If you don't like it, don't..rent..the..chairs?

I only have 2 points of criticism for this place: get better pillows, and review prices on the lunch menu. Breakfast is on point, but some lunch items feel too high.

I'll definitely be returning - and bringing others with me.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled solo
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017

Bungalows with AC and hot water right on a private beach with great snorkeling and access to a rope swing boat! The staff is incredibly friendly, and our room was cleaned daily. It is a short walk to the nightlife in West End, but far enough away for peace and quiet. Very serene. We are so glad we stayed here. Thanks Renee and Co.!!

~ Bryan, Los Angeles

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank amithedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews