We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Half Moon Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Half Moon Resort
Ranked #28 of 42 Hotels in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Citrus Heights
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Half Moon Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My daughter and I had a very pleasant stay at Half Moon Resort. It isn't fancy, but very comfortable and clean. There was great snorkeling right outside our front door. Each room has a hammock out front where you can relax and look out over the water. I would sit out there early in the morning with my book and often would see an iguana stroll on by. The tropical plants and birds all around were quite beautiful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Example: My daughter dropped her driver's license at the airport, and we didn't discover it missing until later. The young woman at Half Moon contacted the airport for us. A janitor at the airport found it, and a cab driver who was coming back that way brought it to the resort. Obviously, we immediately had a great first impression not only Half Moon resort, but the people of Roatan in general. We were never disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jfisher2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    44
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
65
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Can't comment on resort, however had lunch at Half Moon restaurant. Lovely location, nice food and service

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I booked my room at Half Moon Bay Resort on a tip from a fellow traveler and was not disappointed. Upon arriving at Half Moon Resort, I was warmly welcomed by two lovely ladies at reception who were cheerful and genuinely seemed like they were happy to see me. After checking-in, I moved onto my bungalow right on the water. The bungalows are literally 25 feet from the clear blue water of half moon bay and snorkeling. The bungalows are not a 4 or 5 star quality, but they have comfortable, newer beds, great AC, and are very clean.

After checking out my room, I went back to the front desk and asked about snorkeling... to my great surprise, they said, "do you want to borrow snorkel gear for free?" I mean how great is that! This place used to have a dive shop, but decided to focus its attention on the hotel and food (good choice because they were wayyyy better than the hotel/dive shop combos around the island), but still had equipment for all guests to use to snorkel the bay.

All in all, I spend 5 wonderful days on Roatan and would highly, highly recommend this hotel if you are staying on a budget, but still want something nice. I mean, this is the best deal on the island for 50 bucks a night. If you are a vacation TV watcher, be warned, there are no TV's in the room, but hell, why would you be watching TV when you can snorkel for hours in the bay for free!! The only reason I do not give Half Moon Bay Resort a Five rating is because I reserve 5's for places that are spectacular.... but on that note, you generally have to pay a whole lot more money for that so... stay here instead! Oh yeah, the food is fantastic at the restaurant attached to the hotel too! Much better than I had elsewhere on the island.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Nice place, secluded yet still close to the main attractions. We stayed here for a week and had a really good time. They have there own watertop restaurant and bar, the dock is close and you can come on a boat or in a car. The rooms are really comfy with up to 3 beds and a cold airconditioner. The staff is really nice. Mr Zeron a native of the Honduras coast has been there for more than 20 years now. His kids Rene and Matilde help him manage it. the place has kept its quality and service for quite some time now!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldberg1575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

A laid back place to stay, excellent location for swimming and snorkelling and close to the activities of West End. Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicols_Altrincham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed here, and I have to say, it's a lot cheaper than many other options we looked at. Also the location is great, you are right on the beach where you can go in for snorkeling. This is also the downside, since lot of cruiseship tourists get to this location. The staff can make extra money by renting out snorkeling material, food and drinks, and beds to these temp guests, and therewith they forget their normal guests sometimes. Rooms were a bit outdated, but clean and the little houses are a couple of steps away from the water. Also it was a good spot to walk to the other beaches and to enjoy the sunset. So we enjoyed ourself, but not the best we've been to.

Room Tip: try to stay a bit further from the entrance, so you don't have the cruiseship guests in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NielsenShira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

If you enjoy snorkeling, then I recommend staying here. There's a small area to lay in the sun but there is no sandy beach, only fossilized coral. From your porch, it's a short walk to the stairs down to a short pier, where you can snorkel and see the reef without having to drive and without a lot of tourists. The accommodations are rustic, so if your standards are the Marriott or Hilton, this probably won't be what you're looking for. The cabins have clean sheets, A/C and bathrooms. There's no TV or wi-fi within the rooms, which is great for disconnecting from society and enjoy the view. Occasionally, it was hard to get warm water in the shower, which we soon learned, is pretty much an issue in most of central America. Besides, super hot showers are overrated when your skin has been baked by the sun. The staff was super friendly and helped arrange tours and fishing trips. The resort also has a full service kitchen, which was pretty good food. And, it's within walking distance to town to sample other cuisine and do some shopping. On cruise boat days, there sometimes are tour groups that swing into the resort. It's only for a few hours and it never interrupted our day or our swimming. Overall, thumbs up for location, price and friendliness of the staff.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view, closer to the beach. Room 4 and 5 are pretty good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MidNiteSunAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roatan hotels
0.6 mi away
Sueno Del Mar Resort
Sueno Del Mar Resort
#7 of 9 in West End
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
5.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villagio Verde
Villagio Verde
#6 of 9 in West End
4.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 9 in West End
5.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mariposa Lodge
Mariposa Lodge
#5 of 9 in West End
4.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Splash Inn Dive Resort
Splash Inn Dive Resort
#2 of 9 in West End
4.5 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Resort

Property: Half Moon Resort
Address: Half Moon Bay, West End, Roatan 34101, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Roatan
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Half Moon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon Hotel Roatan
Half Moon Resort Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing