We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Half Moon Resort
Nearby Hotels
Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas(French Harbour)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Bay Lodge and Spa(West Bay)(Great Value!)
$140
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Foster's West Bay(West Bay)(Great Value!)
$109
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$630
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort(West Bay)(Great Value!)
$226
$197
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach House(West End)
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$716
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradise Beach Hotel(West Bay)(Great Value!)
$152
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
102
51
4
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
51
4
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseco diversrope swingwest endhot waterfishfront porchshort walkdirect waterlounge chairshawksbill turtlestrong wifithin wallsopen air restaurantyour doorstepbring your bug spraydive shopgreat snorkeling
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 164 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Can't comment on resort, however had lunch at Half Moon restaurant. Lovely location, nice food and service

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I booked my room at Half Moon Bay Resort on a tip from a fellow traveler and was not disappointed. Upon arriving at Half Moon Resort, I was warmly welcomed by two lovely ladies at reception who were cheerful and genuinely seemed like they were happy to see me. After checking-in, I moved onto my bungalow right on the water. The bungalows are literally 25 feet from the clear blue water of half moon bay and snorkeling. The bungalows are not a 4 or 5 star quality, but they have comfortable, newer beds, great AC, and are very clean.

After checking out my room, I went back to the front desk and asked about snorkeling... to my great surprise, they said, "do you want to borrow snorkel gear for free?" I mean how great is that! This place used to have a dive shop, but decided to focus its attention on the hotel and food (good choice because they were wayyyy better than the hotel/dive shop combos around the island), but still had equipment for all guests to use to snorkel the bay.

All in all, I spend 5 wonderful days on Roatan and would highly, highly recommend this hotel if you are staying on a budget, but still want something nice. I mean, this is the best deal on the island for 50 bucks a night. If you are a vacation TV watcher, be warned, there are no TV's in the room, but hell, why would you be watching TV when you can snorkel for hours in the bay for free!! The only reason I do not give Half Moon Bay Resort a Five rating is because I reserve 5's for places that are spectacular.... but on that note, you generally have to pay a whole lot more money for that so... stay here instead! Oh yeah, the food is fantastic at the restaurant attached to the hotel too! Much better than I had elsewhere on the island.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Nice place, secluded yet still close to the main attractions. We stayed here for a week and had a really good time. They have there own watertop restaurant and bar, the dock is close and you can come on a boat or in a car. The rooms are really comfy with up to 3 beds and a cold airconditioner. The staff is really nice. Mr Zeron a native of the Honduras coast has been there for more than 20 years now. His kids Rene and Matilde help him manage it. the place has kept its quality and service for quite some time now!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goldberg1575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

A laid back place to stay, excellent location for swimming and snorkelling and close to the activities of West End. Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicols_Altrincham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed here, and I have to say, it's a lot cheaper than many other options we looked at. Also the location is great, you are right on the beach where you can go in for snorkeling. This is also the downside, since lot of cruiseship tourists get to this location. The staff can make extra money by renting out snorkeling material, food and drinks, and beds to these temp guests, and therewith they forget their normal guests sometimes. Rooms were a bit outdated, but clean and the little houses are a couple of steps away from the water. Also it was a good spot to walk to the other beaches and to enjoy the sunset. So we enjoyed ourself, but not the best we've been to.

Room Tip: try to stay a bit further from the entrance, so you don't have the cruiseship guests in front of your room.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NielsenShira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews