We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveler rating
112
12
2
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
12
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the crow's nest tropical island divers jam tasting east end of the island a small dining table minutes driving distance balconies overlooking the sea tree house unforgettable week dive master off the beaten path relaxing holiday rented a car hidden paradise the main house breakfasts were great ceviche
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 130 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Just back from Roatan, my wife & I dove 5 days with `TID` & thoroughly enjoyed our experience.
Highlight was the day at Morat Wall & Pigeon Cay.
Also did my Rescue Diver open water referral there with instructor Nico Cesaroni who was one of the best we have come across & we have `blown bubbles` in many different places.
Manager Marek & the staff made us most welcome.
Again many thanks, Phil & Patti.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TorontoPjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We went with friends who have a place on the island to meet up with other retired people who live around the island at the restaurant here at MF. The food was good bar type food, filling, but not fine dining. It hit the spot and the beer was cold, which was fine with us. The farm is beautiful and the casitas look as if they would be peaceful places to retire to.
The day we were there was a Wednesday which is when the locals come and there was live music at 1:30 in the afternoon. Very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Born_to_go61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed at MHF's for our honeymoon and loved every aspect this place had to offer. We stayed at one of the beautiful treehouses over looking the ocean. VERY rustic, and clean that offers an open air shower! If you are ok with maybe a few bugs every now and then we recommend staying at the treehouse. This is perfect for someone that likes to venture off and enjoys the rustic feel of accommodations and being surrounded by nature. We spent the better part of the week kayaking, touring east end, snorkeling, and of course relaxing. The last couple days of our trip we got certified by Marek, the instructor, and went diving. Marek was an excellent instructor, who provided us the best of the best in quality training.
Jana was also an excellent host, she made fantastic Honduras style breakfast every morning and took care of every other need that would arise. We ate dinner every night at the famous Crows Nest located on the property. Let's just say you will not be disappointed on whatever you choose for your meal option. All in all you will have a trip of a life time if choose to stay there. Jana and Marek treated us like family and made the experience that much more enjoyable!

Room Tip: "Bring repellent!" "Ask about Virgin Beach and La Sirena" ;)
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Marble Hill Farms was an amazing find in Roatan. Having been to Roatan several times in previous years, we were looking specifically for a place to stay away from the crowds and "tourist" areas for this trip. Months of research led us to choose MHF, and WOW are we so very pleased that we did. It was like being dropped in the midst of a tropical paradise with the greatest staff and natural surroundings anyone could ask for.

First, I must say that we are outdoor/nature people. This is not a place for someone who is looking for the all-inclusive resort experience. The casita we stayed in (#3, one bedroom) was right near the shore with a lovely view and very comfortable - rustic, but had two roomy (hot) showers, a comfy bed and living room area. The kitchenette was sufficient for our needs - but we are used to camp and boat cooking with limited space and appliances. Marek even brought us our own little kettle grill so we could cook outside, which was above and beyond and very sweet!

The Place: We were welcomed at the airport by Marek, our host, who shared a lot of information about the island as we drove the hour to MHF. We asked a lot of questions, and he cheerfully filled us in on the area and what to expect. We stopped at Eldon's in French Harbour for supplies and continued to MHF. We pulled in, and what a gorgeous setting :) You truly feel secluded (in a GOOD way) and the smiles and welcoming of all the staff made us feel immediately at home.

Jana, the second half of the fantastic management team, welcomed us at the main house. All was in order, and they set us up in our casita, which as I said was just perfect and more than we had hoped for. Jana, by the way, was prompt and very helpful in communicating with us before the trip by email. She even handled our reservations while she herself was on vacation!!! Above and beyond, as was the norm for all things we experienced and Marble Hill. :)

Food: The restaurant (The Crow's Nest) was not only a lovely setting, but had excellent food and great staff. Good drinks, very healthy portions and absolutely delicious fresh everything! We even had lionfish and conch seviche the last night that was simply out of this world! Don't forget to taste the homemade jams, jellies, hot sauce and salsa they make on premises. Not to be missed along with fresh squeezed guava juice. YUMMY!

Staff: We had the luxury of being the only guests here for the majority of our stay. The staff, however, was always available and so very pleasant from Marek and Jana, to the maid Lily (who even cleaned the barbecue grill!!! again above and beyond!) to the smiling and courteous security guards. Edward, the boat pilot and dive instructor, was charming and very competent. We always felt safe and well taken care of.

Amenities: As I said, we chose MHF for it's location away from the touristy areas of Roatan. Our trip was to relax and enjoy the reef, snorkel and soak up the island beauty. We couldn't have chosen a more perfect spot for this. We enjoyed taking coffee or a drink down to the double decker dock located just a brief walk from our casita where an unobstructed view of the reef, the moon, sunrise or sunset was always available. Tropical Island Divers is the dive shop run by MHF, and we were fortunate indeed to have Marek as a guide on several dive excursions including our favorite to Pigeon Cay. Marek would take the divers down and advised us where the best snorkel areas were (he said we were the luckiest snorkelers...we saw lionfish, puffers, a sharp-tailed snake eel and tons of beautiful coral and reef fish). Marek was a really knowledgeable and fun guide, and knew right where to go and when so it wasn't crowded with other dive boats. We had use of a sea kayak which we paddled all over the area - there are many things to explore and see if you are interested in nature as we are.

We miss Jana and Marek's little slice of paradise, and encourage you to experience it for yourself. If you are looking for a tranquil, safe, home away from home in Roatan, this is the spot. We can't wait to go back SOON and are still eating delicious tropical jams and hot sauce we brought back wishing we were still sitting on the dock listening to the ocean and spotting little fish in the clear blue water and listening to the mockingbirds sing good morning.

Final note: Joe has been to Roatan several times, and this was my first trip. We visited West Bay one day during the week and that was where he had stayed in previous years. I can't tell you how GLAD I am that we did NOT stay in that tourist mess. Marble Hill Farms is the ONLY place we will stay in years to come.

We went in December right before the Christmas rush. It did rain for a bit almost every day, but nothing that deterred us from any outdoor activities. Weather was perfect - 85 during the day, 70s with a breeze at night.

Room Tip: Casita #3 was closest to the water, very romantic and plenty of space. Perfect for a couple. Very quiet, great view, screen porch overlooking the water.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We didn't stay at Marble Hill (we stayed at Lost Moose Lodge) -- but Martina at Lost Moose recommended that we dive with Marek at Tropical Island Divers, and we're delighted we did. We felt very safe, and he made a big effort to take us to dive sites that were way off the beaten path. Plus -- he's a super nice guy, and really puts you at ease. I'd love to dive with him again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank silverspringlaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews